Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Real Techniques Your Base/Flawless, Expert Face Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.9/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.9/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.9/5

Real Techniques Your Base/Flawless, Expert Face Brushes Review

Overall rating:
4.9/5

Ultra firm and broad for application and blending of cream or liquid foundation:

  • look pixel-perfect even in harsh light
  • ultra-plush, synthetic bristles are hand-cut and
    100% cruelty-free
  • self-standing for easy storage
  • extended aluminum handle is light and easy to use

RRP: $10.00

Availability: Online

Website: http://realtechniques.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th September, 2017 at 1:06 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Awesome!

I've used this brush for a long time now with various liquid foundations and it always does the job. It has an amazing price point, quality and look which is why this over many high end ones is probably my go to. When applying your foundation you just need to make sure you either have a clean brush to buff out afterwards or use this brush as it can become streaky with some foundations

Tips: If your like me and use quite heavy duty foundations e.g Double Wear you need to make sure you regularly clean this brush or it becomes IMPOSSIBLE to clean!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th July, 2017 at 1:26 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
As good as high end

I've used this for liquid, stick and powder foundations. It does it all, I like it best for liquid and sticks. It buffs out to a flawless finish as good as a high end brush of similar style. It's very dense and short which in my opinion, gives the best finish when buffing out. The best part is the price, it's much more affordable than high end brushes, and genuinely does just as good a job. While it's not a necessity for me, I do like the thick handle, it has a flat base so you can stand it up as well if you needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th July, 2017 at 12:14 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Absolutely Amazing!

I first got this brush as I went through a phase of using stick cream foundation. I was struggling to find a brush that would apply cream foundation well - kabuki, stippling, beauty blender... None of these did the trick and I ended up using my fingers. So when I found out about this brush, I decided to give this a go, and boy, was it a good decision!

This brush blends cream foundation like a dream, without absorbing excessive product and leaving streaks. I love how dense and soft the bristles are, and how this brush has a flat base so it can stand on its own. I wished all makeup brushes were like that! When I was travelling, I packed minimal makeup products that included a cream foundation stick and a cream blush stick. I would use one side of the brush for foundation, and the other side for blush. I would then spray on a brush cleanser after, wipe off the excess product, and let it dry overnight.

I have used this brush for over a year, and haven't had any shedding despite regular washing. It's definitely one of my favourite makeup brushes and its the only brush I would use for applying cream foundation.

Tips: Brush outwards from the centre of the face and light strokes, then buff the product in for a flawless finish.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd July, 2017 at 5:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing!

I swear this brush is so good. It does exactly what its described to do! It feels so super soft to touch and it's so easy to use when applying foundation on your face. I highly recommend buying this especially if you are new to make up because you really can't go wrong. You will have an amazing experience. I have had it for a few months now and it's still in one piece, the hair doesn't shed and it's super easy to wash.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th June, 2017 at 3:06 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great face brush

This brush is an awesome addition to anyones set. It's really soft and has lasted me very well throughout the last year. It's been washed regularly and has had minimal shedding.

I use this brush mostly for applying my liquid foundation. It does soak up a bit of product (as you would expect with any brush) but it applies my foundation so nicely and leaves my skin looking flawless.

I have also used it for powder in the past and it's great for applying product evenly without looking cakey.

It truly does leave your skin looking airbrushed. Love this brush! It's a go to in my everyday makeup routine.

Tips: Wash regularly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd March, 2017 at 2:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great for all makeup lovers

My personal stash and professional kit are littered with a variety of Real Technique brushes as they are affordable, reliable and give the perfect finish.

The base flawless brush does just that gives you a flawless application of finishing powders such as setting or bronzing for a delicate soft glow. It has a domed head that lets you put the powder exactly where you want but fluff to be able to softly blend it.

The bristles are soft and I have had no trouble when it comes to washing and drying these guys, with probably 6 in my possession none have yet to shred or fall out on me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
6th November, 2016 at 3:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Go to Foundation Brush

I use this brush every day to apply my liquid foundation. It blends and buffs out the foundation really evenly and leaves a really nice finish. I have had this brush for almost a year and it still works good as when it was new! Definitely would recommend to anyone needing a good foundation brush.

Tips: Make to sure to wash regularly!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th September, 2016 at 8:59 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
yes!

this was my first rt brush, and it got me addicted to rt brushes. It felt so nice on my skin, wasnt harsh. easy to help blend. this brush is fantastic

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th August, 2016 at 1:33 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
RT Expert Face - My Current Most Used Face Brush

Okay prior to discovering Real Techniques Brushes, I really liked a really expensive Dior foundation. It was one of those situations where I went to the Dior counter and had them match me up and I loved the foundation. I have a hard time finding my shade and Dior had a shade that was a really good match for me. I did notice the really nice brush the girl used at the counter to apply the foundation it gave me a really nice coverage and it was seemless and the brush was so soft. When I asked how much it was I found out it was about $90. I really liked the foundation and so although the brush would definitely compliment the foundation, I couldn't afford both at the time but I did seriously consider saving up for it. I didn't have any face brushes at the time except one blush brush. I decided I needed to get a foundation brush, but $90 on the Full Coverage Foundation Brush from Dior was out of my budget unless I saved up for weeks. Via this site I heard about Real Techniques Brushes, I decided to give this brand a try before splurging on a Dior brush. With all the great reviews on the Expert Face brush I figured I had to get it. Long story short, years later I still haven't bought that expensive Dior brush. The Expert Face gives me a nice smooth finish. It is very easy to blend my foundation in and give me a very good finish that's almost completely free of brush strokes. The bristles are soft and I haven't had any problems with them shedding. This is probably my most used foundation brush. While I don't get as much coverage using this brush as I would the Flawless Foundation brush, I find I can add and blend in a bit more foundation in areas that I need it. I also have used this brush for applying blush and face powder, at times I didn't want to dirty another brush or didn't have another clean brush to use instead. I highly recommend this brush. I can't think of any cons, the finish is fantastic, the bristles aren't scratchy, I've had no problems with shedding and after years of using it works and looks as good as the day I bought it. It also stands up nicely on my dresser which is great for after I've used it, as I only like to put away my brushes when they've been cleaned and are dry. I love this brush so much I may even buy a second one.

Tips: If you are thinking of purchasing a foundation brush and think you have to spend a lot look no further this is an excellent brush for the price. The only con I can think of is if you want more coverage from your foundation then I would recommend the Flawless Foundation brush by the same brand. But even if you want a bit more coverage in some areas you could improvise and sort of apply a bit more in those areas and then blend it. The taklon bristles in this brush make it great for liquid, cream or powder foundation. Though this brush is best for foundation you can use it to apply blusher as well especially cream blusher. The brush is labeled if you are concerned about the label rubbing off over time you can paint over it with clear nailpolish or a top coat.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th June, 2016 at 8:06 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Creates perfection

I brought this brush last month and my foundation has never looked better. I had been after a good foundation brush for a while but was unsure of spending $30 on a brush. I finally bit the bullet and shelled out and I am so glad I did! I use it to buff on my foundation and the dense, soft bristles do such a beautiful job. The handle has a rubberised finish which makes it super easy to get a good grip. It has had zero bristles fall out and I find that after cleaning it, it is just as good as new.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here
Review of the Day
blondefairy74
Love my 'new' nails!!
I was keen to try these product as my nails are brittle and split easily, and my cuticles are often… more »