Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer a seemingly innocent honey-hued luminizer that catches everybody’s eye. This highlighter, shadow and shimmer diffuses light so your skin looks softer and younger while adding a subtle glow.

Layer it on your lids for a luxe look, sweep it on your cheeks for a sexy sheen, or use it as an all-over finishing touch before you head out for the night.

Pack Size: 8.5g

RRP: $34.00

Availability: Online retailers

Website: http://www.thebalm.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th July, 2017 at 4:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love the glow I get from this

I am in love with this balm product, I love supporting the balm since they are cruelty free! this highlighter is so great because it is really easy to layer and doesn't give you a "white" patch, it's shimmery and great if you want a subtle look or a glamorous look. the actual colour is quite subtle and really does provide a glow!

I apply with a blush brush and dust or stroke over my cheekbones, I have also been using it to line my under brows and it stays all day!

Tips: use under your brow line to make them pop!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd July, 2017 at 9:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Buildable Glow

This has been my favorite highlighter to date. You have the option of a light dusting for a natural glow or can build it up to be more intense. I prefer this over fully intense highlighters as it is more versatile and customizable to whatever look you're going for. It's not to chunky or glittery which is great and it's a lovely color for my skin tone - not too yellow.

Tips: If you want a more intense highlight, apply some just after using your setting spray, or mist your brush with Fix Plus or similar.

Also available at Unichem Pharmacies i believe

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2017 at 7:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Gleaming!

Mary Lou-Manizer by The Balm has to be one of my all time favourite purchases. I managed to snag this amazing product for only $20 at a warehouse sale (its not fake, I checked first!). This highlight gives the most gorgeous champagne glow perfect for a natural day look or a full glam night look. It can easily be built up by using a soft powder brush to give an intense highlight if needed yet it never looks chunky or gritty. Mary Lou-Manizer is definitely a product every gal should have in their makeup bag!

Tips: Use a big powder brush for a soft glowy look or a small denser brush for an intense glam highlight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th June, 2017 at 5:26 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer - Review

I had been eyeing this gorgeous highlight up for a while at my local pharmacy, and one day I decided to just bite the bullet and buy it and I can say I am NOT disappointed! This is easily one of the best highlighters I have ever purchased.

First off I'll start with the packaging - this comes in a cute little compact, which has a very retro design to it. I personally love the packaging, but it might not be everyone's cup of tea. When you open the compact, there's a handy mirror inside, and the highlighter itself comes in a huge pan. When I first swatched it, I was in love! One swipe for a gorgeous glow with a buttery soft formula. There's not much fallout so you're not wasting any product, but you do still have to be careful not to pick too much product up or else you'll look like the tin man. The colour of this highlight is also gorgeous - a honey golden colour, but not too dark on my pale skin, it would definitely suit me all year round. I do also think this would look gorgeous on tanned/olive skin.

To sum it up, I definitely agree with all the hype surrounding this product. It's an essential - and though it's not the cheapest highlight it certainly rivals some more high-end highlights (such as MAC, JSC etc). The amount of product you get for the price is a huge WIN for me - I've had this for about 3 months and haven't even made a dent. I don't think I'll ever have to repurchase, but I definitely would!

Tips: Use a very light hand, a little goes a VERY long way!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Great review! Sounds amazing

Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th June, 2017 at 2:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
So good

Everyone raves about this, and for good reason! It's a great highlighter on my fair skin and you can build it up to be as illuminating as you like. If you want a really sheer glow you'll have to use a light hand but it's great for those that want to really shine, it's great.

I have this in the Manizer sister 3 pack as I wanted to try all of them and see which shade suited me best. Mary-Lou is really pigmented, and glides on buffs out like a dream. For me it lasts all day and suits my fair-light skin tone much better than any of the other Manizers (Cindy and Betty).

I've had mine for close to a year now and still haven't hit the pan (and it's a smaller pan size!). It certainly lasts a long time.

I would definitely repurchase once I run out! I love this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st May, 2017 at 12:42 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing highlighter!

I had my eye on this highlighter for so long, and when I got it I finally understood what the hype was about. It's extremely pigmented and very versatile, you can use it as a lid shade, a highlighter and even on the lips to make them appear more voluminous.

The only con is that it is quite pricey (depending where you buy it), but if you're lucky you can get it on special on different websites.

I didn't think that I would suit a gold toned highlighter as I am quite fair, but this just looks so beautiful. I recommend this to everyone.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th May, 2017 at 12:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
White gold!

I have this in the manizer sisters trio and this one is definitely the most used one out of them all. Its color isn't that unique but it's the only highlighter I own which has a golden tint to it.

There's a lot of dimension to it when applied and looks sparkly without the chunkiness of glitter. I do have to be careful when applying as it can go from 0 to disco ball pretty quick. I'd recommend swirling the brush on the back of your hand before applying to your cheeks for a more toned down glow.

Throughout the day it lasts well and doesn't turn into that oily shine we all hate. This is really important for me especially in summer so I'm glad this one stays fresh looking all day long.

Tips: Apply highlighter before setting powder for a glow-from-within look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th April, 2017 at 1:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love!

I bought this in a mini set of three that also included the other Manizer's from the balm, because I wanted to try all three and wasn't about to spend lots on products I wasn't sure I'd love.

I fell in love with this hightligher straight away though. It's a super pigmented, shimmery, champagne colour. I have really fair skin and it suits my skin well, and I've also found this suits my skin well when I've faked tanned.

A little goes a long way, just because it's super pigmented. You can create a soft, glowy look with a little of this, or a super highlighted look for parties, which I love. The formula of this is great, not chunky at all.

Will definitely be repurchasing once my mini one runs out, and would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th March, 2017 at 6:29 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very shiny and pigmented

I’ve been using many of theBalm products already and the Mary-Lou Manizer had positive reviews on many blogs and vlogs, so I wanted to test it out. It comes in a compact case with a mirror that’s in cardboard packaging.

I have used either a blush or contour brush to apply it just above my cheek bones. When I first tried it, I didn’t like it because it didn’t suit my medium dark skin tone. The colour was too pigmented that made my oily skin even more shiny. I gave it another shot by applying it lightly and it made a significant difference. I little does go a long way with the Mary-Lou Manizer.

It’s not a highlighter I use on a daily basis, but I use it for parties. Even though the Mary-Lou Manizer is pricey, it’s worth it because the product is long lasting and only a little is needed to use.

Tips: You can use it as an eye shadow too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st February, 2017 at 11:26 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Best Highlighter Ever!

I absolutely love this highlighter, it's a nice champagne colour that would compliment so many skin tones. Firstly, the packaging is adorable which comes in a sturdy compact which includes a mirror. I can use this highlighter on an every day basis if used with a light hand but I can also make it more intense for dramatic makeup looks by using more product on my brush. I have had the same product for the last year and a half and it looks like ive hardly used it! I highly recommend this to others and will continue to repurchase it when I run out (seems like it could last a lifetime haha)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
What is the main reason you use a body lotion?

What is the main reason you use a body lotion?

I use my body lotion for other reasons

view results

Review of the Day
SandieNZ
My new fave
I received the serum as part of a review panel for the entire range. I have a crazy amount of hair - it's not… more »