Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer a seemingly innocent honey-hued luminizer that catches everybody’s eye. This highlighter, shadow and shimmer diffuses light so your skin looks softer and younger while adding a subtle glow.

Layer it on your lids for a luxe look, sweep it on your cheeks for a sexy sheen, or use it as an all-over finishing touch before you head out for the night.

Pack Size: 8.5g

RRP: $34.00

Availability: Online retailers

Website: http://www.thebalm.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th September, 2017 at 6:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful gleam and for all occasions!

This is one of the most buttery and pigmented highlighters I have ever used. It is a creamy shade, almost like the Mac pigment in Vanilla. When swatched, it is an intense shine that can be toned down with a light hand. It is a smooth highlight with barely or no glitter at all.

I usually use the gentlest tap of an angled brush and blend it onto my cheekbones for a subtle highlight but it can be built up depending how much of a highlight you want. It's one of those products that will last you forever, since you need so little. Sometimes I also use it as eyeshadow.

The packaging is also really cute and retro. The compact has a mirror and it feels sturdy and strong when opening and closing. I will repurchase if I ever run out.

Tips: 1. Use a very light hand for subtle looks.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
4th September, 2017 at 10:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
SHHH, don't tell.

Is it just me, or is this product kind of over-hyped? I feel embarrassed speaking out and saying so. Yes, this product is nice but I very easily find dupes or WAY cheaper brands that perform to this level yet no one seems to notice. When I first used this highlighter I joined the band wagon and gushed over the glow that it produced. But as time goes on and highlighter becomes a centripetal focus in the beauty world I start to see flaws within this product. It seems to emphasise pores I didn't even know I had on my cheekbones...Wah. And the sheen seems rather chunky, but it's not life or death so I'll stop complaining. I've enjoyed this product, but am keen to move on and experience something a bit more 'eye-catching'.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th July, 2017 at 4:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love the glow I get from this

I am in love with this balm product, I love supporting the balm since they are cruelty free! this highlighter is so great because it is really easy to layer and doesn't give you a "white" patch, it's shimmery and great if you want a subtle look or a glamorous look. the actual colour is quite subtle and really does provide a glow!

I apply with a blush brush and dust or stroke over my cheekbones, I have also been using it to line my under brows and it stays all day!

Tips: use under your brow line to make them pop!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
3rd July, 2017 at 9:54 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Buildable Glow

This has been my favorite highlighter to date. You have the option of a light dusting for a natural glow or can build it up to be more intense. I prefer this over fully intense highlighters as it is more versatile and customizable to whatever look you're going for. It's not to chunky or glittery which is great and it's a lovely color for my skin tone - not too yellow.

Tips: If you want a more intense highlight, apply some just after using your setting spray, or mist your brush with Fix Plus or similar.

Also available at Unichem Pharmacies i believe

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st July, 2017 at 7:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Gleaming!

Mary Lou-Manizer by The Balm has to be one of my all time favourite purchases. I managed to snag this amazing product for only $20 at a warehouse sale (its not fake, I checked first!). This highlight gives the most gorgeous champagne glow perfect for a natural day look or a full glam night look. It can easily be built up by using a soft powder brush to give an intense highlight if needed yet it never looks chunky or gritty. Mary Lou-Manizer is definitely a product every gal should have in their makeup bag!

Tips: Use a big powder brush for a soft glowy look or a small denser brush for an intense glam highlight.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th June, 2017 at 5:26 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The Balm Mary-Lou Manizer - Review

I had been eyeing this gorgeous highlight up for a while at my local pharmacy, and one day I decided to just bite the bullet and buy it and I can say I am NOT disappointed! This is easily one of the best highlighters I have ever purchased.

First off I'll start with the packaging - this comes in a cute little compact, which has a very retro design to it. I personally love the packaging, but it might not be everyone's cup of tea. When you open the compact, there's a handy mirror inside, and the highlighter itself comes in a huge pan. When I first swatched it, I was in love! One swipe for a gorgeous glow with a buttery soft formula. There's not much fallout so you're not wasting any product, but you do still have to be careful not to pick too much product up or else you'll look like the tin man. The colour of this highlight is also gorgeous - a honey golden colour, but not too dark on my pale skin, it would definitely suit me all year round. I do also think this would look gorgeous on tanned/olive skin.

To sum it up, I definitely agree with all the hype surrounding this product. It's an essential - and though it's not the cheapest highlight it certainly rivals some more high-end highlights (such as MAC, JSC etc). The amount of product you get for the price is a huge WIN for me - I've had this for about 3 months and haven't even made a dent. I don't think I'll ever have to repurchase, but I definitely would!

Tips: Use a very light hand, a little goes a VERY long way!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Great review! Sounds amazing

Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th June, 2017 at 2:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
So good

Everyone raves about this, and for good reason! It's a great highlighter on my fair skin and you can build it up to be as illuminating as you like. If you want a really sheer glow you'll have to use a light hand but it's great for those that want to really shine, it's great.

I have this in the Manizer sister 3 pack as I wanted to try all of them and see which shade suited me best. Mary-Lou is really pigmented, and glides on buffs out like a dream. For me it lasts all day and suits my fair-light skin tone much better than any of the other Manizers (Cindy and Betty).

I've had mine for close to a year now and still haven't hit the pan (and it's a smaller pan size!). It certainly lasts a long time.

I would definitely repurchase once I run out! I love this.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
31st May, 2017 at 12:42 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing highlighter!

I had my eye on this highlighter for so long, and when I got it I finally understood what the hype was about. It's extremely pigmented and very versatile, you can use it as a lid shade, a highlighter and even on the lips to make them appear more voluminous.

The only con is that it is quite pricey (depending where you buy it), but if you're lucky you can get it on special on different websites.

I didn't think that I would suit a gold toned highlighter as I am quite fair, but this just looks so beautiful. I recommend this to everyone.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th May, 2017 at 12:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
White gold!

I have this in the manizer sisters trio and this one is definitely the most used one out of them all. Its color isn't that unique but it's the only highlighter I own which has a golden tint to it.

There's a lot of dimension to it when applied and looks sparkly without the chunkiness of glitter. I do have to be careful when applying as it can go from 0 to disco ball pretty quick. I'd recommend swirling the brush on the back of your hand before applying to your cheeks for a more toned down glow.

Throughout the day it lasts well and doesn't turn into that oily shine we all hate. This is really important for me especially in summer so I'm glad this one stays fresh looking all day long.

Tips: Apply highlighter before setting powder for a glow-from-within look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th April, 2017 at 1:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love!

I bought this in a mini set of three that also included the other Manizer's from the balm, because I wanted to try all three and wasn't about to spend lots on products I wasn't sure I'd love.

I fell in love with this hightligher straight away though. It's a super pigmented, shimmery, champagne colour. I have really fair skin and it suits my skin well, and I've also found this suits my skin well when I've faked tanned.

A little goes a long way, just because it's super pigmented. You can create a soft, glowy look with a little of this, or a super highlighted look for parties, which I love. The formula of this is great, not chunky at all.

Will definitely be repurchasing once my mini one runs out, and would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

No... just wait, it'll crash and burn.

view results

Review of the Day
Lenore
L'Oréal pure clay detox regime
I really enjoyed using the cleaner and mask as a new regime. I used the cleanser nightly… more »