Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Max Factor Miracle Smooth Primer Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.1/5

Max Factor Miracle Smooth Primer Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

 

The secret ingredient for a smooth skin finish is the Smooth Miracle Primer. Apply before your favourite foundation for an even application.

  • Instantly primes, and smooths the appearance of skin.
  • Creates a smooth layer between moisturiser and foundation.
  • Simple pump action dispenses just the right amount.

RRP: $42.99

Availability: Farmers

Website: http://maxfactor-international.com/

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
11th June, 2017 at 12:28 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Soft and smooth

This primer smelt amazing, just like good skincare! It was great how soft and smooth it left my skin and I was quite impressed with how smooth my skin was after taking my makeup off. I only needed 1-2 pumps for my whole face, it was light and easy to apply. The only drawback was that I felt it didn't help minimize my pores, it felt like my foundation sunk into them and made them more noticeable on my checks. My skin did feel great though and after 4 hours my makeup still looked nice and hadn't moved, except for the cheek area sinking into my pores. My foundation went on easily with a beauty blender, blending was simple and fast. I do feel like this is a bit expensive for the standard 30mls, if it had minimized my pores then I would definitely be repurchasing as the way my skin felt was so nice. The packaging with the gold was simple but nice and loved the pump!

Tips: If you have problems with pores, use a separate pore minimizing primer on those areas before using this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
10th June, 2017 at 11:34 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MF Miracle Smooth Primer

Getting accepted on the Max Factor trial was gleefully accepted by me when it arrived. Getting to try a primer at the same time as a foundation, I felt a little spoilt.

The gold band, clear cylinder with pump matched the MF Ageless Elixir Miracle package. The pump gives a nice clean delivery of product that is enough to cover my face and there is a small plastic cover that covers the pump that holds on tightly while still easy to remove, good for travelling with it. Easy to see how much is left.

One pump of this white liquid is enough to cover my face, normally applied using fingers. This is on the thicker side of liquids reminding me of the Goodness day moisturizer but made with silicone. I thought that this smelt like a combination of almond and little floral, not a deal breaker for me but it could be for the perfume sensitive. It did make the foundation look good as it did smooth out my skin within reason, it didn't hide things like redness but it helped the foundation as it didn't let my foundation move. I did try a bb cream over the top one day and I thought it worked better with a MF Ageless Elixir at that point.

While it is a nice primer I think I may still keep looking, I know my preference of silicone over water based but I would like one that illuminates, covers redness and evens skin texture all at once.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th June, 2017 at 7:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Creamy texture

I was lucky enough to be chosen to trial this product. The primer comes in a light-weight, smooth and tubular bottle with gold accents on the label. The product is dispensed by a white pump nozzle which is covered by a clear plastic cap. The nozzle dispenses a small amount in one pump, which is sufficient for about a third of your face.

On my first use of this primer I was surprised because it feels quite different to other primers I have used. This is because the others had felt like silicon, whereas this one has the feel and texture of a cream. My other primers, when applied to my skin, had felt like I was putting a film over my skin. Max Factor's primer feels like it is part of the skin instead.

The primer massages well into the skin, and has a very faint scent. I was able to apply foundation over the top of it right away, and the foundation stayed in place once it was applied.

After using this primer my makeup stayed in place all day, including the extra thick makeup areas where I had to cover blemishes. I felt that my makeup moved less with this primer than it did with the other primers I have used. However, I did use this in conjunction with a makeup setting spray, but the same goes for the other primers I have used.

Altogether, I think this primer works very well. It did not irritate my skin, and I think it is worth the difference in price between it and the lower price point primers I have been previously using.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th June, 2017 at 3:04 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Max Factor Miracle Smooth Primer

I love this primer the best one I have used. Its so easy to apply. smooths out all my imperfections. My skins feels amazing. A little bit goes a long way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th June, 2017 at 2:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smoothing Miracle all true

Primer comes in a 30ml self dispensing pottle, that distributes what appears to be alot however taking a bit of time to apply (including down around chin) it gave me the ideal amount. For me self dispensing is great for hygiene.

I always found primers to be a bit of a mystery. I am old school and back in my day wearing a great moisturiser was all that was needed (& available). Now that I am mid 40’s there is a world of product. I was thrilled to try this Max Factor product.

I am not usually easily impressed but have to say this primer is amazing!! It smells great and without a doubt made my foundation radiant & much smoother& flawless. I noticed before applying it my skin has a beautiful radiance about it (so would consider just using some powder over the primer on those “no makeup days”).

I’ve been using it with the Max Factor Ageless Elixir Miracle Foundation & hand in hand these two are a match made in heaven. Leaving the primer to settle for a few minutes the foundation glided on without any trouble, I find blending was easier than usual.

In winter if I don’t keep up with intense moisturizing my skin can dry out very quickly, this product has covered and instantly corrected this (what a dream!!), my foundation lasted all day with only very minimal touch-up required later in the afternoon (so a good 7 hrs wear time). First day wearing I had someone ask me what I do to keep my skin looking so nice, could be just coincidence but I like to think not  I was told that my complexion looked so natural & not at all caked in foundation, the kind of feedback anyone wants.

All in all this is the best primer I have ever tried, worth a mention that I had no reaction at all, no breakouts (which I can get at times trying new products). One happy primer here and is mid range price but in my opinion well worth (if anything good value for $ especially at 30ml).

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th June, 2017 at 8:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Silky Smooth primer

I was over the moon to be selected for this trial. In the last two years I have started using primers. I can see the difference with my make up since using a primer. My skin type is dry and ageing is happening . Finding the right primer can be tricky for me.

This bottle has the max factor labelling. I like these pump bottles designed like this because it makes getting the product out easy and clean. The consistency of this primer is soft creamy . I can't detect a scent with this .

I find applying this primer easy. It feels like a silk layer on my skin. I tried wearing this on its own and it felt lovely on my skin. Absorbs easily on my skin and feels non greasy . I tried wearing this under the max factor foundation and it gave it long wearing and smooth lightweight feel to the foundation.

Out of all the primers I have tried to date this one is the best. It feels comfortable to wear. It could easily last me a few months making it worth its value for money. It is pricy but I would definitely purchase it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
19th March, 2017 at 9:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Max Factor Miracle Smooth Primer

Love the packaging and it's super easy to use. You simply pump the product onto your hand and rub it in like a moisturizer. I only needed one pump as a little goes a long way. I found that I needed to leave it to soak in for a while as if you go in with your foundation straight away it can make your foundation streaky and patchy. The primer does what it says for the most part, it leaves your skin feeling smoother and your pores are minimized however it is nothing amazing. I wouldn't repurchase due to the price. I have a few other primers I prefer at the fraction of the price. I will continue using this and will try with other foundations.

Tips: - Only use one pump - Leave for a few minutes to dry

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
19th March, 2017 at 9:10 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not at its Prime for me

I have never really had luck when it comes to primers. I have been inundated with thick primers that I could scratch off and leave a dent or they are far too thin and more like a overrated moisturiser. Imagine my surprise when I found out I was going to be trialing a primer along with a foundation. Ecstatic is what it was.

The bottle is a white and gold pump variety. I love its simplicity but with class. The gold makes it appear far more high end than it really is. For 30ml at $42.99 I hoped this was a less is more situation because 30ml is tiny when it comes to a full face primer. The bottle has very minimal information which annoys me to no end. It has no directions and only one sentence about what it hopes to offer. Even tho applying a primer shouldn't be rocket science it would be nice to be able to read their take on how it should be used.

The primer itself is white and very thick. I find that it is a bit too thick for my liking. I understand that it needs to smooth and make foundation appear flawless but to feel like I am rubbing cream cheese on my face is very unsavory in my opinion. It is very unpleasant trying to rub it in to my skin to make it disappear and not sit as a film on my skin. The real test is does it give me a smooth base. The first time I used it together with the foundation I didn't wait for it to dry so after a couple of hours had passed my skin was the oiliest it has ever been. I was asked if I had just come from th gym that's how bad it was!!

The next day I waited for the primer to dry and absorb more thoroughly but this put a 5 minute dent in to my very limited morning. This is not a great time management primer to use. After the drying period I applied the foundation and was underwhelmed by how uneven my skin was. I smoothed this primer over my entire face so there is no way it should be uneven. In areas it was patchy and I came to the conclusion that it was where my normal dry patches usually are. I thought it smoothed out skin?! What a crock I thought. I continued to use it teamed with the foundation nonetheless but with the same results. I actually found the foundation sat better without the primer...go figure. In summary I am completely underwhelmed and would never purchase it given the chance. I find that cheaper brands are far more superior in its performance. Don't waste your money.

Tips: Wait for it to dry/absorb before applying foundation to avoid oiliness if you have oil prone skin

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th March, 2017 at 8:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ok but not great

I have been using this foundation underneath the max factor miracle touch foundation. The primer is easy to use and apply. It smoothes over my face easily and evens out the surface. It makes my foundation apply more evenly and last longer throughout the day. I haven't had the chance to try this under other foundations so unfortunately I can't compare what's it's like with other brands.

I usually use primers that have a more waxy texture, whereas this primer has a creamier texture. This primer is white which blends into your skin once applied. This primer also has a bit of shimmer in it so it gives your skin a slight glow.

This primer comes in a tube with a pump. I like the pump as it makes it easy to dispense the product and get the exact amount. I usually use one pump for my full face and apply it with my fingers.

Overall I like this foundation and think it's great but I don't think that it is amazing. For the price of around $40 I can get something cheaper that can do the same thing. I therefore would not purchase this again but I will still continue to use the existing one I have.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
19th March, 2017 at 8:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pleasantly Surprised

I've never really been a huge Maxfactor fan if I'm honest but I always like to give every brand another chance.

The first thing I like about their Miracle Smooth Primer is that it comes in a pump bottle, which is a lot more user friendly than having to squeeze it out of a tube. One pump is enough and it goes a long way, you may find you may not need as much, in this case, only pump about half way, this will save you $$$.

I was quite surprised at how white it was, it has the look, consistency and smell of a moisturiser, but thats where the similarities end.

The product claims to smooth your skin, this it does, however is it really a miracle product? Personally I don't think it is as it does the same as other primers I've used in the past, nothing exceptional but it does do the job.

Would I purchase it in the future? For the price of $42.99? No I wouldn't, I think I will stick to my usual E.L.F primer as it is a fraction of the cost for the same effect but I had fun trialling this product, thanks Beauty Review :-)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

Just When You Thought You'd Mastered The Wing

No... just wait, it'll crash and burn.

view results

Review of the Day
Lenore
L'Oréal pure clay detox regime
I really enjoyed using the cleaner and mask as a new regime. I used the cleanser nightly… more »