Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

104,678reviews
7,668products

Trial and review NZ's best beauty products for free.

Register Now
Goodness Eye Cream
Goodness Eye Cream
Max Factor Miracle Smooth Primer Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.1/5

Max Factor Miracle Smooth Primer Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

 

The secret ingredient for a smooth skin finish is the Smooth Miracle Primer. Apply before your favourite foundation for an even application.

  • Instantly primes, and smooths the appearance of skin.
  • Creates a smooth layer between moisturiser and foundation.
  • Simple pump action dispenses just the right amount.

RRP: $42.99

Availability: Farmers

Website: http://maxfactor-international.com/

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
19th March, 2017 at 9:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Max Factor Miracle Smooth Primer

Love the packaging and it's super easy to use. You simply pump the product onto your hand and rub it in like a moisturizer. I only needed one pump as a little goes a long way. I found that I needed to leave it to soak in for a while as if you go in with your foundation straight away it can make your foundation streaky and patchy. The primer does what it says for the most part, it leaves your skin feeling smoother and your pores are minimized however it is nothing amazing. I wouldn't repurchase due to the price. I have a few other primers I prefer at the fraction of the price. I will continue using this and will try with other foundations.

Tips: - Only use one pump - Leave for a few minutes to dry

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
19th March, 2017 at 9:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not at its Prime for me

I have never really had luck when it comes to primers. I have been inundated with thick primers that I could scratch off and leave a dent or they are far too thin and more like a overrated moisturiser. Imagine my surprise when I found out I was going to be trialing a primer along with a foundation. Ecstatic is what it was.

The bottle is a white and gold pump variety. I love its simplicity but with class. The gold makes it appear far more high end than it really is. For 30ml at $42.99 I hoped this was a less is more situation because 30ml is tiny when it comes to a full face primer. The bottle has very minimal information which annoys me to no end. It has no directions and only one sentence about what it hopes to offer. Even tho applying a primer shouldn't be rocket science it would be nice to be able to read their take on how it should be used.

The primer itself is white and very thick. I find that it is a bit too thick for my liking. I understand that it needs to smooth and make foundation appear flawless but to feel like I am rubbing cream cheese on my face is very unsavory in my opinion. It is very unpleasant trying to rub it in to my skin to make it disappear and not sit as a film on my skin. The real test is does it give me a smooth base. The first time I used it together with the foundation I didn't wait for it to dry so after a couple of hours had passed my skin was the oiliest it has ever been. I was asked if I had just come from th gym that's how bad it was!!

The next day I waited for the primer to dry and absorb more thoroughly but this put a 5 minute dent in to my very limited morning. This is not a great time management primer to use. After the drying period I applied the foundation and was underwhelmed by how uneven my skin was. I smoothed this primer over my entire face so there is no way it should be uneven. In areas it was patchy and I came to the conclusion that it was where my normal dry patches usually are. I thought it smoothed out skin?! What a crock I thought. I continued to use it teamed with the foundation nonetheless but with the same results. I actually found the foundation sat better without the primer...go figure. In summary I am completely underwhelmed and would never purchase it given the chance. I find that cheaper brands are far more superior in its performance. Don't waste your money.

Tips: Wait for it to dry/absorb before applying foundation to avoid oiliness if you have oil prone skin

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th March, 2017 at 8:46 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Ok but not great

I have been using this foundation underneath the max factor miracle touch foundation. The primer is easy to use and apply. It smoothes over my face easily and evens out the surface. It makes my foundation apply more evenly and last longer throughout the day. I haven't had the chance to try this under other foundations so unfortunately I can't compare what's it's like with other brands.

I usually use primers that have a more waxy texture, whereas this primer has a creamier texture. This primer is white which blends into your skin once applied. This primer also has a bit of shimmer in it so it gives your skin a slight glow.

This primer comes in a tube with a pump. I like the pump as it makes it easy to dispense the product and get the exact amount. I usually use one pump for my full face and apply it with my fingers.

Overall I like this foundation and think it's great but I don't think that it is amazing. For the price of around $40 I can get something cheaper that can do the same thing. I therefore would not purchase this again but I will still continue to use the existing one I have.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
19th March, 2017 at 8:37 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pleasantly Surprised

I've never really been a huge Maxfactor fan if I'm honest but I always like to give every brand another chance.

The first thing I like about their Miracle Smooth Primer is that it comes in a pump bottle, which is a lot more user friendly than having to squeeze it out of a tube. One pump is enough and it goes a long way, you may find you may not need as much, in this case, only pump about half way, this will save you $$$.

I was quite surprised at how white it was, it has the look, consistency and smell of a moisturiser, but thats where the similarities end.

The product claims to smooth your skin, this it does, however is it really a miracle product? Personally I don't think it is as it does the same as other primers I've used in the past, nothing exceptional but it does do the job.

Would I purchase it in the future? For the price of $42.99? No I wouldn't, I think I will stick to my usual E.L.F primer as it is a fraction of the cost for the same effect but I had fun trialling this product, thanks Beauty Review :-)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
19th March, 2017 at 7:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Easy to use and great price

I really loved the Max Factor Miracle Smooth Primer as it was the same size as the foundation I am reviewing which means I should finish them at the same time. You only need to use a small amount of product to get a complete coverage. It glides over your skin and instantly your face feels even and soft to touch. It isn't greasy and has the right texture - not too thin or too thick. My skin can react to products but no problems with this product. I would highly recommend it.

Tips: Don't use too much - less is more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th March, 2017 at 4:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Miracle Primer

I have only just in the past year been using a primer, I can tell everyone now how important it is to own one and use one. It makes a huge difference to the way a foundation sits on your skin.

I love a matte finish when it comes to makeup. But I love a smooth skin tone illusion aswell. One that makes my skin look pore less and flawless.

This primer has such and obscure smell to it. A little chemically, a little almond smelling. It's white in colour and it's on the thicker side in comparison to ones I have used.

I've used this over 2 weeks with the Miracle touch Max Factor Foundation and with a Maybelline foundation and it really does make a difference to the way both foundations have sat on my face and stayed on it.

I use 2 pumps to have enough product to cover my face. I let it sit on my skin for 2 minutes before proceeding with my foundation. The formula is quite a silky texture but almost feels like a powder once dried. With foundation overy the top both sat amazingly and had similar results. My skin was even, it was absolutely flawless and left it looking incredibly natural. The longevity I easily found 8 hours easy. With no patches or no areas where my makeup had shifted.

I really enjoy this primer and will be adding it to my buy again list, however the price is a little steep so only when and if it's on special.

Thank you BR for allowing me to be apart of this trial.

Tips: Use your finger tips to massage it into your skin to get an evendors coverage.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
19th March, 2017 at 3:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Does the job

I received this with the Max Factor foundation review and its not bad, it smells abit like PVA glue when you put it on your face but once you rub it in the smell isn't there. I have very deep "11" lines and quite often even primer doesn't help with the foundation sinking in but this one actually helped bit and blurred them out. I've worn it a few times without foundation and it just give my skin a nice glow and blur. Its not the best primer I've tried but does the job for the price.

Tips: Perfect to wear on its own for a glow and blur of fine lines

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
19th March, 2017 at 2:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Be careful what you pair this with

I tested this primer with a few different foundations, and found it didn't perform equally with all of them.

First I tried it with the Max Factor Miracle Touch Foundation. The primer comes in a plastic pump bottle which is hygienic and easy to use. It's a white colour but disappears into the skin and feels very silky. When first applied it does kind of help minimise the appearance of pores, but unfortunately over time I felt my pores became more visible and there wasn't an impressive difference compared to if I hadn't worn primer.

This primer is silicone-based, which is what makes it feel so smooth, but it means it won't work with every foundation type. My daily foundation is MAC Face and Body, and I (stupidly) decided to see how they work together. As F&B is water-based, this was a bad idea! The foundation swam around on top of the primer, looked streaky and wouldn't absorb into the skin.

Overall I wasn't particularly impressed with this primer—it gave smoothing effects right after application, but didn't deliver any longevity to my base makeup.

Tips: Check what kind of formula your foundation is before you put it on top of this primer!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
18th March, 2017 at 7:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Smooth Miracle Primer

Thanks again to BR, I was selected to trial this primer paired with the Max Factor Luminizer Foundation.

As with the foundation, I was relieved to see this primer was in a bottle with a pumper that had a bottom that pushes the product to the top - no wastage! The bottle is solid plastic, with a sturdy pumper & solid plastic secure lid to top it off. I also like that the bottle is clear which lets you know (without looking at the bottom) how much product you've got left. There was practically no scent to this, but it did slightly remind me of the scent of sunscreen which I had no issues with.

This Smooth Miracle Primer claims to smooth skin texture to provide a smooth and even foundation application - which is primarily the reason I apply primer in the first instance - so to me this name suggests it is/or should be a lot better than other primers. One pump of this is all you need to cover your entire face. The product feels a lot like a moisturiser and glides over your skin like a moisturiser would. However it didn't leave my skin feeling greasy at all, my skin felt smooth and soft. At this point I'd like to point out that my skin type is "dry". With this in mind, I applied foundation after one pump of primer and also applied foundation at another time after using two pumps of primer. Whilst this is a beautiful primer, my foundation applied better after using extra primer as my dry skin absorbed the primer too fast after one pump.

Would I repurchase? For the price and amount of product, and bearing in mind I have dry skin, I wouldn't repurchase this primer. I found no difference in using the primer with other foundations and no difference using the foundation with different primers. To me this all comes down to my dry skin for the primer - I was using more primer than I should so perhaps this should be recommended for "normal" skin.

Tips: One pump is all you need to cover your entire face!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th March, 2017 at 5:49 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Miracle in a bottle

Wow Now I'm a primer girl, i pretty much always use one and while i like to change them regularly and use different ones for different reasons i.e. green ones to tame the red, i found this primer a wee beauty!

Its got a great smooth texture and goes on like a cream, you don't need much just a small pump. Faint smell and the packaging is pretty plain and simple.

I tried it under a couple of foundations and bb creams and i was pleasantly surprised, it does deliver, now for the price you would want it too and i believe it does.

Perfect makeup bag size too :)

Tips: Less is more :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No