Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Maybelline Superstay 24hr Full Coverage Foundation Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.3/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Maybelline Superstay 24hr Full Coverage Foundation Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

Saturated colour pigments provide an ultra-transforming effect in this long-lasting foundation.

The lightweight yet high-impact coverage glides onto the skin for a flawless finish that lasts all day. Available in 16 shades

Pack Size: 30ml

RRP: $33.99

Availability: Farmers, Pharmacies, The Warehouse, Kmart & supermarkets nationwide.

Website: www.Maybelline.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
3rd May, 2018 at 5:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline foundation is made in France

This is a great budget foundation it's made on France and it's as good as some of the top of the line foundations. It has great pigment it lasts all day, it's a flawless finish and very natural. I applied it with a flat sponge and it went on really well and quick. I have combination skin so I like matte finish foundations and this is a great matte shine free finish, I purchased 28 soft beige it's perfect for neutral skin tones It's great for summer when your in the heat and swimming a lot it just lasts through everything. I think it would be great in winter as well when all the heaters are on it would still look great after a few hours of sitting on front of the fire and wouldn't melt off. It's also transfer resistant waterproof kind of anything proof, you could probably wear it to boot camp and come out flawless. Don't get the first maybelline 24 hour foundation as it's not as good as this one, this one is much better coverage and more natural. Farmers has great specials on maybelline

Tips: Apply with a sponge for even, easy, quick application

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th March, 2018 at 1:01 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
YES,YES,YES!LOVE: Shade-03 True Ivory

(My skin type-combination) This product is beautiful! It blends beautifully and drys down to a smooth soft finish, it's also transfer proof. It smooths over poses and doesn't settle into fine lines. A good selection of shades. For me I would say this is a "Medium" to "Full" Coverage. It is buildable and it sits perfectly on the skin. Definitely a Super Stay foundation. They did a good job with this product.

Tips: Use a dense flat top brush to apply the foundation, I found it gives me fuller coverage unlike using your fingers or a damped beauty blender.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
13th March, 2018 at 2:13 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My Silky Foundation Friend

I selected the fawn - 040 when i participated in the survey and since the images were not clear i dont think i selected the right one for my skin. But when the foundation sets it feel silky and matte. The coverage is simply amazing. The colour however did not suit my skin.

But if i had the right colour i bet this would be one of the better drugstore foundations i have used. I have combination skin with some acne so was wowed by the level of coverage i got from a little amount of the product.

The bottle is square with a white lid and the best part of the packaging is it has a pump, and it reminds me of maybelline fit me foundation

The price for $33.99 in the foundation world is very reasonable and would definitely recommend this to friends and family. In fact i would happily give this away to a friend so that someone else can enjoy this.

I used my fingers to apply the product and even with a simple application the coverage was very impressive. I kept it on for a good 6 hours and found that with my oily skin in some parts the foundation appeared to thin or become lighter. I did not touch up the foundation.

Tips: Add a drop of oil to the product before use gives you a lovely glowy look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.7/5
3rd March, 2018 at 9:41 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pros and cons

The consistency of this product is beautiful. It's silky smooth and thin, but provides medium coverage with just one layer. I wasn't able to get an even finish using my fingers, so used my beauty blender which worked well.

The product looked good upon application, but settled into pores after a couple of hours. I tested it with and without primer and powder and had the same result each time. It lasts all day.

I found it quite hard to remove compared to my usual foundations. I needed an oil-based cleanser to remove it.

Tips: Use a damp sponge to apply for the prettiest finish

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.0/5
2nd March, 2018 at 10:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very Smart

I received this as part of the BR trial which I am thankful for as this was the first time I have tried a foundation product. Unfortunately I picked the wrong shade (Nude Beige) from the swatch, it was far too light. But I will put that down to newbie experience.

Packaging was glass so you could easily see the shade of the foundation. Had a white top lid, very smart looking. The pump also distributed a nice amount of product, only took 2 pumps to do my face. Consistency was quite liquidy. Does smell like "cosmetics" but no distinct scent.

I found this surprisingly easy to blend, I used a damp beauty blender and the end result looked really nice. It felt very lightweight which I found surprising for a foundation product. Had it been the right shade I feel like this would be a good foundation option for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
1st March, 2018 at 8:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Certainly a full coverage matt foundation!

If you really like a heavy coverage foundation then this is probably a good option. I haven't used many and so this was quite a new experience for me.

When I put it on I admit it did feel really heavy and matt compared to what I'm used to. Any sunspots and freckles I had were certainly covered and it was just very matt. With a full face on though it did look pretty good as my skin looked so even but you could definitely tell I was done up...not a running to the supermarket on a Saturday morning look but great for work or a night out.

The first hour or so I really did feel like I was wearing make-up but as the day progressed it got a lot more comfortable. I'd put a primer on before as I always do but the make up fairies always steal my make up in the day and so by the middle of the day this one was looking awesome. Great even coverage but not too heavy.

No weird smells with this product but the packaging is a bit 'meh'. The white lid has already started to get stained with the product.

Tips: I might mix this with a lighter foundation to see if I can get staying power but a bit less matt.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st March, 2018 at 8:26 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Superstay 24hr Foundation

I was super excited to be offered a place on this trial team. I have not used a Maybelline foundation before so was keen to see if I would love it or leave it.

It comes in a glass bottle, yay love that. Initially, I thought it was a screw top so after trying to screw it off and breaking some of the plastic lid off (oops) I figured out it was a pull up job *rolls eyes*. I chose the shade 30 Sand which was a bit more of an educated guess going by my other foundation. The colour is pretty spot on, maybe a touch light but certainly good enough for me to wear every day. It's a very light formula and you don't need to use a huge amount, maybe a large pea (is that a bean??) size.

Application: The first day, I applied it straight with no primer and the finish was not the best, it sat in my pores and by the time I got home from work, it was looking a little patchy. The next day I used a primer and a foundation brush and it went on super smooth, no pore issues since. Its stickability is great so when I brushed my teeth before heading out the door, I didn't wipe half of it off on my towel like I do with my current product (big win). It has lasted well throughout the day and still looks pretty darn good in the evening even if underneath it all I’m knackered.

Value for money: I think the value is ok? At $33.99 RRP it is up there price wise so I would probably wait till it came on special before I bought it again, which I think I will.

A nice, easy to apply formula that goes on smoothly when using a brush.

Tips: Make sure you blend at the corners of your face well or you will end up with a tide mark (oopsy)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

It sounds good bronjenks! great to know it didn't wipe off with the towel in the morning.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
28th February, 2018 at 10:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Superstaying Power

Thank you for allowing my to try Maybelline's Superstay 24hr Full Coverage Foundation. I don't usually wear a foundation, as I can never find the right colour match. I was very surprised by how well the colour I tried worked with my skin. It was maybe a shade lighter than I need, but will be perfect in winter. The glass pump bottle made it easy to dispense small amounts of a creamy (mid-consistency) foundation that was easy to apply, and blended well (using finger tips). I always worry that foundation will end up looking very caked, so I was pleased to see how well this covered with just a small amount of product, giving a natural look. I found it lasted fairly well during the day, but came off on tissues (hay fever!). Night-time, it needed cleansing wipes followed by a wash/scrub to remove, and despite this I still ended up with residue on my towel. Superstaying power! Price-wise, this is very economical. I'll continue to use this for special occasions when I want to look more "made-up", and while I'd be happy to recommend it to friends, I'm not sure it has converted me to an everyday foundation wearer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
1.7/5
28th February, 2018 at 10:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Big promises, disappointing results

Well, I was super excited to be added to this trial. After all, I am a mother and a full coverage foundation with 24-hour coverage sounds like a dream come true especially with the little amount of time on your hands. I used both application tools a foundation brush and sponge and the results were the same. If you are thinking you will be able to get away with using concealer to cover breakouts (especially around those delicate times) you will not get away with it. While it did even out my skin tone it certainly didn't cover the spots like the full coverage you would expect to receive. I was also disappointed with the "superstay foundation" I found by the end of the day more spots were visible than the start, and then my partner asked what I had brushed up against to my horror I found my foundation was sitting on my shoulder, it must have happened when I did a quick rub to satisfy an itch with juggling a toddler, keys, nappy bag, purse you know how it goes (how embarrassing as I had no idea how long it was on there for!). It is safe to say the things this foundation says in its headline it doesnt stand up to the test but I like to leave with some positives so here they are. I did not have a break out of acne so it certainly did not clog my pores. It did feel light on the face, it was not heavy at all. The application was easy as it was blended well not to thick or too runny.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th February, 2018 at 7:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazed

Actually love this product, I'm glad I didn't go darker but this is 1 I would need to wear in winter just so it doesn't look lighter on my face. I found with my elf primer and then this on top I could build it up a bit not that I needed to but to try it out really. Seems to cover the red blemishes on my face which was great to see.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

erm...no. I know, I know. I'm bad. I know it.

view results

Review of the Day
petinar
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Regime
I was so excited to try all three of the components in the Revitalift regime at once to… more »