Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Balm Bahama Mama Bronzer
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.1/5

The Balm Bahama Mama Bronzer

Overall rating:
4.3/5

The Balm Bahama Mama Bronzer

Finally, a Caribbean getaway in a compact! This matte bronzer creates the look of beautifully tanned skin without any orange undertones for a fresh-off-the-beach glow. Bahama Mama also doubles as the perfect contour powder and matte brown eyeshadow. Yes, this tropical beauty keeps busy!

RRP : $29.00

Availability : Beauty Bliss, Selected Department stores and online

Website : www.thebalm.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
25th September, 2017 at 11:10 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Really nice tan bronzer

This balm Bahama Mama bronzer is a great addition to your makeup kit/collection. The undertone isn't muddy and suits most skin tones aside from the very deep and very fair. It can be a little full on when you apply it as it is rather creamy for a powder product but that just allows you to blend it easily to create the bronzed glow that looks very natural on your skin.

The packaing is amazing and the product itself doesn't have any fragrance to it at all, which means it will be well suited for sensitive skins. It wears for a long period of time and isn't streaky or patchy upon application. My Bahama Mama is coming on for 2 years old now and still performs well and I am no where near reaching pan just yet.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
6th April, 2017 at 9:06 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bahama Mama

I purchased this off of 1day sales (gotta get those deals). It was my first product from The Balm, and I have to say I was a bit hesitant. I had heard mixed reviews so wasn't sure if I would like the product. When I first tried the product, damn I DID NOT realise it was so pigmented... safe to say I used a bit too much. It took a while to get used to this bronzer as my other bronzers are not as dark as this one, once getting used to this bronzer I actually really like it! I do find it a bit harder to blend compared to my other bronzers, but the colour is great, perfect for contouring! I don't think I would reach for this product when I do not have fake tan on, but when I am fake tanned its the perfect colour!

Tips: A little goes a long way! You only need a small amount of the powder :) If you use too much it will end up looking muddy

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th March, 2017 at 5:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A little goes a long way

As someone with a medium dark skin tone with yellow undertones, it's been very difficult for me to find the perfect bronzer to contour with. After reading over some reviews on the internet I came across Bahama Mama. It comes in a compact packaging with a mirror and it’s easy to carry around.

I use theBalm Bahama Mama as a contour and I use a contour brush to apply it. The bronzer is highly pigmented and matte, so a little really does go a long way. I love that it’s not shimmery like most bronzers. I also have yellow undertone and this is perfect for me.

The packaging makes is perfect for travellers as it doesn't crumble in your bag like other compact cases. I recommend using this because it’s long lasting.

Tips: Use it with an angled blush or buffer brush to get the perfect contour on your cheeks bones

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
16th October, 2016 at 11:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Cute and classic

The packaging is very cute and I love that it has a magnetic closure so it stays shut. I also really like that it has a mirror so it's great for travel.

The product itself is good, a nice matte bronzer. It's not orange at all but is quite dark so you're best to only put a little on your brush and work it up to the level of darkness you want. It blends smoothly (not patchy at all) and it works really well as a contour.

Overall a good, non-orange, versatile bronzer!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
29th November, 2015 at 6:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bronzed Babe

First and foremost I must make the obligatory comment on how downright gorgeous the packaging is. I am in love with The Balm's signature 50's styled pinup girls - and the bronzed island babe on Bahama Mama is no exception.

I had originally purchased Bahama Mama to use as a contour but now it's quickly become my ole'faithful day to day bronzer. I am quite fair skinned so never in a million years did I think I would be able to use it as a all over body bronzer without looking odd (it looks very dark in the pan) but a light dusting truly does go along way and gives me a even all over bronze glow. Bahama Mama blends across the skin with ease so any accidental build up / darker patches can be blended out with minimal effort. The formula is nice and light weight too so perfect for summer.

I will be recommending The Balm Bahama Mama to friends wanting a natural looking summer glow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th September, 2015 at 11:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Contour game strong!!

I had heard so many amazing things about this bronzer, and I knew I had to add it to my makeup stash! As a novice in contouring, I feel that this is a great product to learn from. I'm olive-skinned so I've got no problems with using a heavier hand in application. In saying that, I feel like this product would best suit olive to darker skintones.

What I love about it is the fact that it's a true matte brown - no glitter or orange tones whatsoever, so it's very natural and mirrors "real shadows". It's seriously so fantastic! I used to use a matte dark brown eyeshadow for contouring, but I haven't reached for that since I got this bronzer last month. The fact that you also don't need a lot of product on your skin which means you get your money's worth is just the cherry on top.

Tips: if you've got fair skin, make sure not to apply too much as it is easily buildable and blendable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
1st August, 2015 at 12:41 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
the perfect brown bronzer.

I picked this bronzer up at the start of the year online. I'd heard great things about it but when I received it and looked at it The color made me nervous! It's very dark in its pan and I'm quite fair so I didn't think it would work for me. I swatched it, saw how pigmented it is and than proceeded to put it away and forgot about it.

A month or so ago, I decided to actually give it a go. I lightly tapped my brush in and then went ahead in putting it on my face. I was so surprised and happy to see how it blended nice on my face without looking patchy or having a big concentrated patch of color. It doesn't go orange on me or look muddy,it just makes my skin look warm and bronzed. I don't do contouring (cause I suck at it), but this is a warm bronzer so I'm not sure if it would totally work. It is a proper matte finish though. This doesn't quite last all day on me, but that's OK, it lasts most of the day and just fades any evenly.

The packaging is lovely, the balm really do packaging well. This has a gorgeous bronzed lady on it sitting on a beach. It's made out of cardboard, but it's a thick type and doesn't feel flimsy. The inside has a small mirror which would be handy for touch ups. You also get 7 grams of product in this and because it's matte and pigmented, you don't need as much product so it will last for so long. I've used mine heaps and it barely looks touched.

i think this would work on a wide variety of skin colors, probably not super fair but i wear about the 3rd lightest foundation shade. If you want a great matte, not orange bronzer, I would definitely recommend this.

Tips: Be very light handed to start with, it's easy enough to apply more but not much fun to tone down if you've added to much. I use the real techniques big powder brush which easily blends this on my face

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th June, 2015 at 4:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
The balm Bahama mama bronzer

This is my second favourite bronzer,I first placed it on my cheekbones and it was soo dark I had to wash it off,so learnt to use a light hand and small contour brush,very pigmented and easy to apply,the compact comes with a mirror,and is easy to pop into your bag when going out,great product and would last you a very long time,

Tips: You need to add your own brush to the compact,as it does not come with one,

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
11th May, 2015 at 7:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Really Brown

Im fair skin toned and this bronzer is just to dark for me. It's a cooler toned brown and not orangey at all. The packaging is super cute and what sold it to me honestly. I brought this product online but if I had seen it in person I wouldn't have.

Tips: Suited for darker skin tones.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
3rd April, 2015 at 7:34 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hey Mama

Hey Bahama Mama! You came to me in the heat of summer when I was looking my darkest, and brushed my medium-toned skin with your beach bronze glow. Immediately I adored your slimline cardboard compact which was both quirky and practical, with bright Bahama print, magnetic closure and handy dandy mirror.

On first impressions I was worried that you may be too dark for my complexion , but after experimenting with application I discovered a light hand with a kabuki brush swept across my face did the trick! No heavy-handed action here. I loved that you didn't give me an orange cast but instead a matte brown finish that looked natural.

Using a rounded brush you also are the perfect contour for chiselling out my cheekbones, easy to blend and never muddy. In this aspect you have beaten out all the competition!

Such a pretty product, mine was gifted to me for Christmas but I would purchase again in a heartbeat. Bahama Mama will keep me looking holiday-ready year round!

Tips: As a bronzer, apply using a kabuki with a light hand for a natural glow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Hmm, no. What am I missing out on?

view results

Review of the Day
Simones
This is my product OF THE YEAR!
How have I ever lived without this product? HOW? My hair is blonde, and I need to colour… more »