Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Moisture Mist Translucent Pressed Powder - Bronze Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.9/5

Moisture Mist Translucent Pressed Bronze Powder Review

Overall rating:
4.0/5

Moisture Mist Translucent Pressed Powder - Bronze Powder in a handy compact with mirror and sponge.

  • Perfect for touch ups
  • Use alone or with foundation
  • Suitable for all skin types
  • Available in 2 shades and a bronzer

RRP: $34.00

Availability: Selected pharmacies, Farmers and Online

Website: http://moisturemist.co.nz/product/

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
21st February, 2015 at 7:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Face Browning

I am in love with this bronzer! It not only has a soft feel to the powder but with my oily skin it still lets me face breathe. The shade of the bronzer was alittle dark for my skin tone, so I decided to use it in a way that was abit different, I have skin on my face that needs that extra bit of coverage so before applying my foundation, I would apply the bronzer and then cover with foundation and the results were amazing. Highly recommend this as the perfect way to hide that uneven skin tone.

Tips: I would not use the applicator that it came with as I feel it tends to hold onto it abit more than it should. I used the ZA brush and it worked perfectly together.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th February, 2015 at 10:22 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Moisture Mist Translucent Pressed Powder - Bronze

I was a bit funny about trying this product as I've never really tried anything like this before, and as I have fair skin with lots of freckles I was a bit anxious as cake powders like this make my skin look very fake with a caked on look.... I tried it on one leg first, and after quite a few layers it seems to be doing a good job, it didnt make my leg look any browner which is what I was hoping for but it def made my leg look smoother, unfortunatly though it still make my skin look 'fake' almost like I was looking down at a manaquins leg! I will keep using this product, perhaps just on my legs but once it runs out I really doubt I'll be buying more, especially at the price!!!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
16th February, 2015 at 2:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fantastic!

i loved this product! I was expecting the old MM Shisedo pressed powder. It was nothing like I remembered. It was soft, silky, and the shimmery finish is Devine. I also tried this on my legs and it gave them a lovely smooth look. Love it! I'd definitely recommend it. The price is about what I expected it to be as MM has always been slightly higher in price, but I dont mind paying a bit more for something that I like and that suits my skin.

Tips: I personally dont like the sponge it comes with as it seems to stay on the sponge, i used a brush instead, this seemes to give a lighter coverage and you had more control on how much you used by layering to your requirements

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th February, 2015 at 9:23 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good Bronzer

This product did what it said it would. The great thing about it is you can build up the colour to however dark you like which is great if you want some colour on your legs for a night out. The only downside is the glitter in it, for me if I'm wearing it during the day on my face I don't like the glitter in it. Apart from that the product is simple to use and looks really good on.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th February, 2015 at 8:31 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Bronzed and sparkly

I was lucky enough to trial this product for BR. I'm going to be honest, I haven't used moisture mist in years, so I was excited to try this. Packaging is standard MM packaging. A gorgeous red compact with a decent size mirror. The bronzer itself. Where do I start. At first look, it's a gorgeous browny colour, light, with gold sparkles, but not too much that it's disco fever at the beach. I first swatched it to see the pigment, and it was very buttery/smooth. A lot of colour payoff for bronzer which I was happy with. Now, first day I used this I made the mistake of swirling my za kabuki brush and applying to my face..... Wowsers!!!!!! It had awesome payoff but looked funny as I'd obviously used to much product. The next time I used it I just tapped my brush into it, and applied. This time it looked a lot more natural, and sun kissed. Over the past week, I've worn it nearly everyday. With different foundations, no foundation, and even as a chest bronzer (not recommended as it turned orange there and wore off on my top). I really loved the natural sun kissed glow it gave me, and I could get away without using blush or having a full face done. And for the sparkles..,.. Well they just make this so much better!!! All in all, I really like this product. And I will keep using it. I have also decided that it could possibly be a smaller size dupe of natio Sunkissed bronzer. But smaller, as I said.

Would I suggest this to others, yes! Especially if they like the summer glow.

Tips: Use a light hand, and don't use for contouring.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
13th February, 2015 at 8:03 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not right for me

The packaging of this product is great - and I had high expectations since it is such a great brand.

The sponge applicator that comes with the bronzer is useless - definitely recommend a brush instead - although you do waste a bit of product this way as well.

The colour would work better on those with slightly darker skin to begin with. I am pretty fair and this was a bit orange for me. Good as a blusher though.

The product itself is a nice soft powder - will definitely be giving their regular translucent powder a try :)

Tips: Use a brush instead of the sponge that comes with the powder. Build little by little - less is more!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.0/5
13th February, 2015 at 5:12 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I felt like my gran

When it comes to the packaging of this product I fear I already got off to a less than impressed start. Don't get me wrong - it was practical and easy to get into but why did I suddenly feel like my gran. The memories came flooding back - from the colour of the compact to the look of the sponge to the smell of the powder - all reminded me of the compact that my gran would whip out her bag and use. I could feel myself becoming that little old lady. I was not a fan - there was nothing modern about the smell or look of this product.

But on I pressed - sure that the product would be better. Firstly I'm sorry that I didn't get to try this product in spring because I would have liked to try it on untanned skin to see if it would make a good body bronzer. Unfortunately all I could really try it on was my face over my makeup.

Wowzers, it went on a bit heavy handed no matter how much I tried. The included sponge was impossible to collect just a bit and even the lightest dusting turned my face brown. I did try the Za Kabuki Brush I had been sent to review and that did work much better than the sponge but I still felt like I spent more time trying to remove product than apply it. I have used bronzers before and prefer ones you have to layer on and build up.

The only way I could really use this product was over a foundation I had that was a little light for me so that the bronzing evened out. By this stage I had completely abandoned the sponge and was only using the Za Kabuki Brush I had just received to review which was significantly easier to use.

I don't think I will be revisiting this product on a regular basis or recommending this to a friend. I might put it away for next spring when my body needs a nice tinting.

Tips: Go really easy on the application and don't use the included sponge, a brush works much better. Probably best used on medium skin.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th February, 2015 at 10:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good for use as a contour or bronzer

The Moisture Mist Powder I tried came in the shade bronze. It’s a nice sturdy little compact, which has a large mirror inside the size of the compact lid, and also a little round sponge, (that I wouldn’t bother using). I would instead use a kabuki brush, or a contour brush, or an angled blush brush to apply it.

At first I thought the shade might be a little too dark for me, but looks can be deceiving! If you apply it lightly you can build it up to the colour you are after.

I have tried applying it to my face, neck and shoulders, but you could also apply it to your arms and legs I would think. The colour does hold well throughout the day. I apply it after applying my bb cream or foundation.

When you look at the bronzer if does come across as shimmery in the compact, but once blended in the glitter disappears and just leaves your face looking nicely tanned. It does blend in easily.

I have used this as both a bronzer and a contour and I just love it. Will definitely be repurchasing this and would recommend it to anyone after a bronzer.

Tips: Use another brush to apply it, rather than the little sponge included in the compact, as it will blend nicer on your face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
12th February, 2015 at 11:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Disco Ball

I normally wear a bronzer during the summer as a face contour/blush and a little round my forehead and neck. I have pretty fair skin and tend to stay out of the sun mostly so I go for a pretty light bronze colour. I found this product a little on the orange side for me although the depth of colour was quite good for my skin colour (not too dark).

However I wouldn't use this on a regular or daily basis purely because I felt it was SO glittery - there was a lot of sparkle in it which was way too much for me.

I also didn't love the smell of it (weird for a powder I didn't expect a smell).

Tips: Perhaps best left for night time when you need a bit of sparkle in your bronzer!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
12th February, 2015 at 8:57 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A total mix of thoughts

I was lucky enough to be selected to trial this product (thanks BR).

The first thing I noticed was the packaging. I know a lot of people like the traditional look of the Moisture Mist packaging but I found the red plastic compact a bit outdated and dowdy looking.

However it is sturdy and closes security (with a little button) so the product is well protected. It is a little bulky however, not a slim lined compact.

It comes with an applicator sponge which applies patchy and is then difficult to blend. I will keep the sponge in there though as I imagine it would help protect the product.

Once I opened it up the smell instantly hit me… It’s a very nana-like smell, kind of like old makeup – definitely not my favourite smell.

The powder is soft, smooth and buttery feeling. It has small golden flecks which are subtle, not chunky, and give a glow to the skin. Because the formula is soft and powdery it is easy to get too much product on your brush and go overboard (which in my excitement I did the first time haha).

The colour is a med bronze so I would say more ideal for those with med skin… maybe not as suitable for very fair or very dark skin tones?

The bronze shade has more of a yellow/orange base than a brown base.

It gives a warm, sun kissed look to your skin and is an all over nice bronzer, but the smell and packaging would put me off purchasing it unfortunately.

Tips: Don't use the sponge, its awful to apply the product ...but keep it in the compact as I think it would help protect the powder.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here
Review of the Day
blondefairy74
Love my 'new' nails!!
I was keen to try these product as my nails are brittle and split easily, and my cuticles are often… more »