Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Essence Matt Bronzing Powder Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.5/5

Essence Matt Bronzing Powder Review

Overall rating:
4.6/5

Essence Matt Bronzing Powder for a sun-kissed, natural complexion! the large bronzing powder conjures-up an irresistible natural-looking tan on your face and neckline and has a great mattifying effect at the same time!

RRP: $7.90

Availability: Farmers and Selected Retailers

Website: http://www.essence.eu/nz/

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
21st July, 2017 at 4:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great bronzer

Heard really good things about this bronzer, so decided to pick it up. Super accessible from Farmers and so affordable! It blends so beautiully and looks very natural. Overall great buy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th November, 2016 at 9:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best beginner bronzer

I popped into Farmers quite a while back and was looking at the Essence stand. The bronzer caught my eye since, admittedly, the packaging is huge. Since it was cheap I bought it without much thought. Am I glad this was the first one I ever got!

It's not so heavily pigmented that it'd go nuts on your skin but at the same time, gives some subtle dimension to your face and is easily buildable and blendable. Even if you have never used bronzer before, by the time you hit pan on it you'd have figured it out perfectly.

The coconut scent did bother me at first but now when I open the pan, I can't help but get a whiff of it before I used it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th June, 2016 at 8:30 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good bronzer for a good price

I was basically looking for a bronzer fairly cheaply as I had run out and was in town, so popped into Farmers and the lady at the counter suggested the Essence as it is made in NZ and looks good and well priced.

The packaging was fairly typical of a bronzer in cake style, plastic see through container where you pop the lid to use. The colour was nice (I think from memory a couple of shades to choose from) - I prefer a mid range colour, more a medium bronze and this was about right.

I put it on with a largish brush to give good coverage - it was a good consistency, I brushed the brush over and I always give it a little tap or blow on it to remove excess. It brushed on well and didn't tend to leave streaks.

For the price it's a really good bronzer and I would purchase it again as I liked it, it worked well and the colour was nice.

Tips: Like any bronzer always tap the brush before applying to the face

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th May, 2016 at 2:43 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best smelling bronzer ever

This is one of my favourite summer bronzers ever, it's a nice warm shade without being too orange, it's light enough for people with fair skin but it's pigmented enough to show up on darker skin tones. It's super blendable and it has the most amazing scent. It smells like the beach, like coconut and pineapple and sunblock and I love it. The pan is huge which means it's going to last ages and you can also use it as an all over body bronzer. The only downsides are the packaging being quite cheap, but that's minor and something I can look past. And also the fact that it's quite powdery, but again, it's something I can look past

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
3rd May, 2016 at 3:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Colour without the Shine!

I was really really impressed with this product! I use is in place of a pressed powder. It provides lovely matte cover which does not get dewy throughout the day. I find the shade for lighter skin gives me a nice wee glow without being too bronzed, which is good because i'm quite pale. I cannot get over how lovely this product is especially for its very very cheap price. It has a beautiful coconut scent in the packaging which does not transfer to your face, and a lovely smooth texture going onto the skin. It is a relatively large compact but you get a lot of product in the packaging. I went to re-purchase today but they were sold out!

Tips: Don't let the price put you off, the product is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th April, 2016 at 3:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
beautiful texture

this bronzer is pretty good for the price. you get an enormous amount of product. the texture of the powder is almost creamy as it is so finely milled. the colour is a tad orangey in the pan but actually really nice once on the skin. overall a great bronzer for a great price.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th March, 2016 at 2:29 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love Love Love

A friend of mine recommended this product to me, id never heard of the brand, but went in with her and had a look. I normally steer away from bronzer as i have really fair skin and i often look orangey when wearing bronzer, not this one tho, i bought the lighter colour and it looks amazing, goes on smoothly and makes my skin look great with a healthy glow. The price is amazing, as it is on all the Essence products i ended up buying four products that day for the price i would normally pay for one with my previous brand. Im a total Essence convert and i recommend it to all my friends too.

Tips: Definitely give this product a try dont let the really low price put you off and make you think this product of a lesser standard to more expensive brands, its awesome.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th March, 2016 at 10:46 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Sunny

Essence Matte Bronzing Powders come in two colours; Blonde (for lighter skin) and Brunette (for darker skin). I know I probably should have gone for blonde as I'm quite fair but after comparing the two I accidentally put the wrong one back on the shelf and only noticed my mistake after I'd got home.

So, I ended up with 02 "Sunny" in the Brunettes range for darker skin. I gave it a go and honestly, it looks absolutely fine on my fair skin, as long as its used with a light hand. If it's applied too heavily it can start to look a little muddy.

The bronzer comes in a very basic, large, transparent plastic compact with a flip top lid and a catch that closes with a satisfying "click". The clear plastic allows you to see the cute picture embossed on the top of the bronzer (which is still faintly visible, even after multiple uses). Some of the bronzers come with a palm tree imprint but the one I have is a silhouette of two "fun-loving" ladies.

The first time I opened and used it, I was quite surprised by the smell. Its not overpowering and does disappear after its applied, but the bronzer smells exactly like desiccated coconut! You know, the stuff that you use for baking. Yum!

Because I accidentally purchased the wrong shade, I tend to use it more for contouring and the matte formula blends easily.

I would recommend this product and would definitely consider purchasing another one when this one is finished, although I'd probably get one from the "Blonde" range next time.

Tips: If you've bought the wrong shade and don't like the colour as a bronzer, use it to contour or use it as an eyeshadow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th December, 2015 at 11:33 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
One of the best!

I simply love this bronzer! It is very worth it. It is quite pigmented and easy to blend. I use it as a bronzer and sometimes even to contour. I also love that it is scented! The smell is really pretty.

Tips: When I contour I don't apply as much as I would do with proper contour tones.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
17th September, 2015 at 11:58 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good for cheap!

Part of the reason I don't use this so much is because I got a darker shade (it was all they had) when I should have probably got the lighter shade.

It's easy to blend and has decent pigment but I find it too organey. I like my bronzers to be more cool toned so I can contour with them if I want and don't need a separate product.

Tips: Skip contouring with this product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Do you regularly use a multi-purpose balm?

Hmm, no. What am I missing out on?

view results

Review of the Day
Simones
This is my product OF THE YEAR!
How have I ever lived without this product? HOW? My hair is blonde, and I need to colour… more »