Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

102,923reviews
7,655products

Trial and review NZ's best beauty products for free.

Register Now
Summer Repair
Summer Repair
Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 2.9/5

Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick Review

Overall rating:
3.1/5

Revlon Colourstay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick is a one-step, food-proof lipcolor with a patented ColorStay™ technology that lasts up to 24 hours. Revlon Colourstay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick does not fade of feather even after meals. Available in 20 full-coverage, soft satin shades, inlcuding 4 new shades.

RRP $32.95

Availability: available at Farmers, leading pharmacies and department stores

Website: www.revlon.co.nz/

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.7/5
14th September, 2015 at 9:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not great

I will start with the only positive I can, there is a nice range of colours, but that is the only thing I can come up with. It is a long tube with a twist top. The applicator is sponge like and holds a good amount of product. The product itself is quite thin and goes on unevenly and patchy. The staying power of this is almost beyond belief, so you better be accurate when applying or else you are pretty much stuck with your mistake for ages. It is so hard to remove, you actually have to try really hard and your lips can get a bit sore.

ly

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
20th July, 2015 at 1:33 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Revlon colour stat liquid lipstick

I purchased this from postie plus in their clearance sale for a couple of dollars so I figured if it was a total fail i havent lost much at all.

It wasnt a fail at all, I really liked this product!! I purchased this to wear to my cousins wedding and i had to many comments on my lip colour. I purchased the colour ultimate orchid which is a light pink.

The consistancy is quite runny but that doesnt matter at all as when useing the applicator to apply you only get a small amount out at a time. I thought the smell was quite different but it wasnt too bad that it would put me off useing again.

It lasted well for the whole 11hrs that I was at the wedding and i only re applyed once . I found that it did feel a little sticky just after applying but once i licked my lips once it was fine plus it didnt have a yucky taste to it so that is always a bonus with products that you put on your lips

One downfall was it was EXTREAMLY hard to remove, it was likeit was stuck onto my lips with glue. I used my normal make up remover wipes and it just didnt cut it. I ended up having to use soap and a cloth and really scrubbing my lips until it came off which was quite sore. unfortuantly i didnt pack much make up removing products i thought my wipes would be enough

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
23rd June, 2015 at 6:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Wanting To Cry Because It's So Bad

I bought the shade Buffest Beige for about $12 at a half price sale at a pharmacy, hoping it would be a beautiful nude liquid lippy. The shade is GORGEOUS and I was so excited to use it. It was a massive fail.

I put it on and it looked like it went on nicely from afar. However, it was patchy, not very pigmented and it had CHUNKS OF VISIBLE GOLD GLITTER IN IT. What the HECK?! It made my lips look super flaky and gross and I actually wanted to cry because I wanted it to work so bad. It wasn't worth the price, and $32? Uh no thank you.

Oh it also smells really bad.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
30th March, 2015 at 9:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick

I am not a fan of these . I bought one from Postie Plus about a year ago for about $12 , and was disappointed and felt I had wasted my money and could of got something much better for cheaper.

The formula was very sticky , I hated the feeling on my lips. The colour in the bottle was a gorgeous deep red however when I wore it it was very faint , so not very pigmented.

This isn't something I would try again or recommend

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
7th May, 2014 at 8:45 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Yuck!

First Impressions : Pretty stock standard revlon packaging. Nothing special. Colour visible through the glass which is always handy.

Product : I bought "Platinum Petal" which is a shimmery looking peachy pink.

Application : First thing I noticed was the weird sound the applicator made when removed from the bottle... super gluggy. Putting that aside I applied and the instant it hit my lips I wanted to wipe it off. It tastes foul... Leaves an awful lingering old lady smell in your mouth. I left it on for about half an hour in which 80% of it had disappeared (it had no staying power at all). It literally was just a sticky mess sliding around my lips. So unimpressed. In terms of colour it's a nice shade but it was just patchy and streaky.

Final Thoughts : If I wasn't such a hoarder I would throw this one away. I might try and give it to a friend to try, who knows maybe it's just me that doesn't get along with this formula. I would certainly never ever buy this again.

Tips: This was a disaster purchase for me so proceed with caution especially if you don't like strong smelling/tasting lip products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
9th March, 2014 at 10:45 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great lip base

I've always struggled to find a lipstick that lasts more than 2 or 3 hours on my lips, but this is the closest I've found to 'lasting' colour. I use this as a base coast on my lips in the morning and it just seems to sink in and seal onto my lips nicely. I follow with a coat of lip balm (as the Revlon liquid lipstick leaves your lip quite dry), then just add a top coat of regular lipstick as I head out the door. This gives my lips colour for up to 5 hours, which is a new record for me so I do recommend it, but more as a base coat rather than a stand alone product.

Tips: Use as a base coat, then add tinted balm or lipstick over the top.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th February, 2014 at 1:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hit and miss

I have one of these and to be honest they are not my favourite. it can be a hit and miss at times. Feels light weight on my lips but just not something i would wear everyday.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.7/5
4th December, 2013 at 5:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Big Fail, Revlon.

Wore the 'Stellar Sunrise' of this today for the first time in long time and now remember why it's still full. It's just plain unpleasant to wear. Super sticky and dry at the same time. Almost feels like you've applied glue to your lips. I wouldn't necessarily call this a one-step liquid lipstick as I imagine the only tolerable way to wear it would be if you applied a top coat of gloss or balm. The claims of being long lasting I believe are valid because to take this off was a mission in itself and I only had it on for a short time before it drove me crazy! I usually love Revlon products but this was just a hit and miss for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
25th September, 2013 at 9:17 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pretty

I have this lip gloss in a dark pink/red. I quite like it but its quite dark on my lips and it gets quite sticky. It does stay on your lips for a long time so it is a lip gloss to year out to dinner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th September, 2013 at 3:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great colour, but very dry.

It stays on your lips for hours! This is what i used for my school ball just recently.. And the only down side is that it dries your lips out so much! But the colour does stain your lips so is quite handy,

Tips: Wait until it is completely dry, then put your own lipgloss or something on to stop that horrible dry lip feeling.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No