Underneath it all remainder of site
Underneath it all remainder of site
Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.2/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.1/5

Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick Review

Overall rating:
3.3/5

Revlon Colourstay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick is a one-step, food-proof lipcolor with a patented ColorStay™ technology that lasts up to 24 hours. Revlon Colourstay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick does not fade of feather even after meals. Available in 20 full-coverage, soft satin shades, inlcuding 4 new shades.

RRP $32.95

Availability: available at Farmers, leading pharmacies and department stores

Website: www.revlon.co.nz/

« back

Found In

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.3/5
16th July, 2014 at 8:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
love hate relationship

Love the colours, hate the formula! I have 6 of these, all a disappointment. It feels funny on your lips and it fades on my top lip only! really flaky and rubbery when on. Such a shame for such colours!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
2nd July, 2014 at 1:11 pm
Review Apprentice
kellieyuki
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
What is this

Seriously, I'm so glad I got it for a really cheap price otherwise I would have just wasted my money. It's very clumpy and hard to apply on my lips, and it feels like glue. It fades really easy as well. Very disappointing product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
7th May, 2014 at 8:45 am
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Yuck!

First Impressions : Pretty stock standard revlon packaging. Nothing special. Colour visible through the glass which is always handy.

Product : I bought "Platinum Petal" which is a shimmery looking peachy pink.

Application : First thing I noticed was the weird sound the applicator made when removed from the bottle... super gluggy. Putting that aside I applied and the instant it hit my lips I wanted to wipe it off. It tastes foul... Leaves an awful lingering old lady smell in your mouth. I left it on for about half an hour in which 80% of it had disappeared (it had no staying power at all). It literally was just a sticky mess sliding around my lips. So unimpressed. In terms of colour it's a nice shade but it was just patchy and streaky.

Final Thoughts : If I wasn't such a hoarder I would throw this one away. I might try and give it to a friend to try, who knows maybe it's just me that doesn't get along with this formula. I would certainly never ever buy this again.

Tips: This was a disaster purchase for me so proceed with caution especially if you don't like strong smelling/tasting lip products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
25th April, 2014 at 3:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Its like glue on the lips

The packaging of this is really nice and simple and i like the brush applicator as well. I just don't like the formula

This liquid lipstick is so opaque that it can be a negative thing because it dries fast but yet still feel so sticky. Its a really weird consistency. Its long lasting BUT as soon as you eat or drink it starts peeling off in not a good feeling, it doesn't gracefully fade from the lips

It was so patchy and i had that feeling when you apply mud masque on your face and then when it dries and you smile it cracks. Thats what it feels like with this lipstick on. The colour is not even that unique for me to feel like its okay to put up with a bad consistency.

Wont be purchasing this again

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
9th March, 2014 at 10:45 am
Review Expert
kiwidebs
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great lip base

I've always struggled to find a lipstick that lasts more than 2 or 3 hours on my lips, but this is the closest I've found to 'lasting' colour. I use this as a base coast on my lips in the morning and it just seems to sink in and seal onto my lips nicely. I follow with a coat of lip balm (as the Revlon liquid lipstick leaves your lip quite dry), then just add a top coat of regular lipstick as I head out the door. This gives my lips colour for up to 5 hours, which is a new record for me so I do recommend it, but more as a base coat rather than a stand alone product.

Tips: Use as a base coat, then add tinted balm or lipstick over the top.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th February, 2014 at 12:29 am
1 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick

I really like these liquid lipsticks. I am not a huge lipstick wearer as I dislike having to reapply over and over during the day. I find these really easy to apply and find they last for hours. They are definitely my go to lipstick if I'm going out to dinner as they last really well with eating and drinking and don't leave lipstick marks on glasses or move around on the lips. They can feel a little dry after you have applied them as they set on the lips well making them long lasting but not a moisturising lip colour. I like to apply a lip gloss over top once its dried to make it feel more natural and prevent it looking dry. I also like to make sure my lips are nice a moisturised and flake free before applying these by using a lip scrub to remove any dry flakes and applying a moisturising lip balm a while before reaching for this lippy.

Tips: Exfoliate your lips with a lip scrub to get them as smooth as possible to ensure the lippy wears evenly and doesn't cling to dry areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd February, 2014 at 5:17 am
Review Expert
Meryn_Cl
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mwah!

Love this product - I'm into no fuss makeup - it's great that you don't have to keep reapplying this lip colour. The colours are vibrant and have staying power.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th February, 2014 at 1:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hit and miss

I have one of these and to be honest they are not my favourite. it can be a hit and miss at times. Feels light weight on my lips but just not something i would wear everyday.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
2nd February, 2014 at 4:10 am
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good staying power, but flakey

This lippy stays on for hours, but will begin to flake if you haven't prepped your lips properly. It's difficult to take off at the end of the day but I see this as a plus - meaning it won't come off at every sip of water. The texture was bizarre to me. It went on like a gloss but quickly dried to an almost paint-like finish and felt dry and uncomfortable on the lips. It has a strange dry, sticky feeling after a while which I really did not like.

Tips: Prep your lips before applying by exfoliating and adding a little primer to your lips. A clear gloss over the top will stop the dry sticky feeling from driving you crazy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
28th January, 2014 at 7:33 pm
Review Expert
sadieanddelilah
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
colourstay lippy

it goes on nice but does flake and clump. when reapplying it goes a bit sticky. was a pain to take off but on a bright note it was easy to apply due the brush and cant complain when I got it for free with my foundation

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Trial Beauty Products Sign Up
55,455 2,952
Underneath it all remainder of site
Beauty Poll
Have you used a primer with a tint before?

Have you used a primer with a tint before?

No, tell me more!

view results

U-Review
shazatron101
So Green!
I like e.l.f primers. They're the first primers I had ever tried, and after using the normal mineral infused one,… more »
TWITTER
FACEBOOK