Candy Girl
Candy Girl
Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.1/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.0/5

Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick Review

Overall rating:
3.2/5

Revlon Colourstay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick is a one-step, food-proof lipcolor with a patented ColorStay™ technology that lasts up to 24 hours. Revlon Colourstay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick does not fade of feather even after meals. Available in 20 full-coverage, soft satin shades, inlcuding 4 new shades.

RRP $32.95

Availability: available at Farmers, leading pharmacies and department stores

Website: www.revlon.co.nz/

« back

Found In

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
1.0/5
30th March, 2015 at 9:08 pm
Review Expert
Koyah
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick

I am not a fan of these . I bought one from Postie Plus about a year ago for about $12 , and was disappointed and felt I had wasted my money and could of got something much better for cheaper.

The formula was very sticky , I hated the feeling on my lips. The colour in the bottle was a gorgeous deep red however when I wore it it was very faint , so not very pigmented.

This isn't something I would try again or recommend

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
7th January, 2015 at 10:19 am
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Revlon Colorstay - Not For Me

I am a massive lip product junkie so when I saw this at 50% off at my local pharmacy I quickly grabbed it.

The packaging was pretty stock standard for a lipgloss/liquid lipstick a clear tube with black lid nothing particularly special but this isn’t a criteria for me really. It has a small applicator tip at the end which is great for a bit more of a precise line (especially good with a super stay type of lipstick).

I got this in buffest beige – I’m still on a quest to try and find my perfect nude and was hoping this just might be it.

I made sure before I applied this that I prepped and primed my lips (exfoliated and applied a Nivea lip balm before application). Taking the applicator out it sounded like a really heavy gluey type of gloss but I was surprised that it glided on smoothly and when applying the applicator made it easy to get within your lip line.

Unfortunately though this is about where my good times ended with this. It did have a slight fragrance and to me it reminded me a bit of my nana just something that smells like an older lady might use it. I found this to be extremely streaky, it was very hard to get an even coverage it always seemed to look patchy. If you tried to even it up it was like you rubbed off product from somewhere else on your lip. It was far to glittery and shimmery of a formula for me I do like more of a wet look lipstick but this was more glitter than moisture.

I let this dry before doing anything else and it seemed to take a long time to dry it was like glue streaky tacky uneven glue.

I left this on for about 2 hours before I decided to take it off, it felt terrible on my lips a mixture of dry (like when you have a facemask on and you need to get it off immediately) and gluey and a bit flaky!.

Most of it had disappeared off my lips anyway and looked terrible. It was very easy to remove with a wet cloth it had absolutely no staying power on me.

I am super glad that I got this on sale as I would have been really disappointed to spend $33.00 on this terrible lip product. I definitely won’t be trying any more of these or recommending them to any of my friends.

The hunt for my holy grail nude continues.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
16th July, 2014 at 8:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
love hate relationship

Love the colours, hate the formula! I have 6 of these, all a disappointment. It feels funny on your lips and it fades on my top lip only! really flaky and rubbery when on. Such a shame for such colours!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
2nd July, 2014 at 1:11 pm
Review Apprentice
kellieyuki
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
What is this

Seriously, I'm so glad I got it for a really cheap price otherwise I would have just wasted my money. It's very clumpy and hard to apply on my lips, and it feels like glue. It fades really easy as well. Very disappointing product.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
7th May, 2014 at 8:45 am
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Yuck!

First Impressions : Pretty stock standard revlon packaging. Nothing special. Colour visible through the glass which is always handy.

Product : I bought "Platinum Petal" which is a shimmery looking peachy pink.

Application : First thing I noticed was the weird sound the applicator made when removed from the bottle... super gluggy. Putting that aside I applied and the instant it hit my lips I wanted to wipe it off. It tastes foul... Leaves an awful lingering old lady smell in your mouth. I left it on for about half an hour in which 80% of it had disappeared (it had no staying power at all). It literally was just a sticky mess sliding around my lips. So unimpressed. In terms of colour it's a nice shade but it was just patchy and streaky.

Final Thoughts : If I wasn't such a hoarder I would throw this one away. I might try and give it to a friend to try, who knows maybe it's just me that doesn't get along with this formula. I would certainly never ever buy this again.

Tips: This was a disaster purchase for me so proceed with caution especially if you don't like strong smelling/tasting lip products.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
25th April, 2014 at 3:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Its like glue on the lips

The packaging of this is really nice and simple and i like the brush applicator as well. I just don't like the formula

This liquid lipstick is so opaque that it can be a negative thing because it dries fast but yet still feel so sticky. Its a really weird consistency. Its long lasting BUT as soon as you eat or drink it starts peeling off in not a good feeling, it doesn't gracefully fade from the lips

It was so patchy and i had that feeling when you apply mud masque on your face and then when it dries and you smile it cracks. Thats what it feels like with this lipstick on. The colour is not even that unique for me to feel like its okay to put up with a bad consistency.

Wont be purchasing this again

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
9th March, 2014 at 10:45 am
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great lip base

I've always struggled to find a lipstick that lasts more than 2 or 3 hours on my lips, but this is the closest I've found to 'lasting' colour. I use this as a base coast on my lips in the morning and it just seems to sink in and seal onto my lips nicely. I follow with a coat of lip balm (as the Revlon liquid lipstick leaves your lip quite dry), then just add a top coat of regular lipstick as I head out the door. This gives my lips colour for up to 5 hours, which is a new record for me so I do recommend it, but more as a base coat rather than a stand alone product.

Tips: Use as a base coat, then add tinted balm or lipstick over the top.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th February, 2014 at 12:29 am
1 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Revlon ColorStay Ultimate Liquid Lipstick

I really like these liquid lipsticks. I am not a huge lipstick wearer as I dislike having to reapply over and over during the day. I find these really easy to apply and find they last for hours. They are definitely my go to lipstick if I'm going out to dinner as they last really well with eating and drinking and don't leave lipstick marks on glasses or move around on the lips. They can feel a little dry after you have applied them as they set on the lips well making them long lasting but not a moisturising lip colour. I like to apply a lip gloss over top once its dried to make it feel more natural and prevent it looking dry. I also like to make sure my lips are nice a moisturised and flake free before applying these by using a lip scrub to remove any dry flakes and applying a moisturising lip balm a while before reaching for this lippy.

Tips: Exfoliate your lips with a lip scrub to get them as smooth as possible to ensure the lippy wears evenly and doesn't cling to dry areas.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
12th February, 2014 at 1:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hit and miss

I have one of these and to be honest they are not my favourite. it can be a hit and miss at times. Feels light weight on my lips but just not something i would wear everyday.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
2nd February, 2014 at 4:10 am
0 members found this review useful
report this review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good staying power, but flakey

This lippy stays on for hours, but will begin to flake if you haven't prepped your lips properly. It's difficult to take off at the end of the day but I see this as a plus - meaning it won't come off at every sip of water. The texture was bizarre to me. It went on like a gloss but quickly dried to an almost paint-like finish and felt dry and uncomfortable on the lips. It has a strange dry, sticky feeling after a while which I really did not like.

Tips: Prep your lips before applying by exfoliating and adding a little primer to your lips. A clear gloss over the top will stop the dry sticky feeling from driving you crazy.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Trial Beauty Products Sign Up
72,002 5,151
Nails
Beauty Poll
Do you buy the same brand of lip balm every time?

Do you buy the same brand of lip balm every time?

Nope - I like to try something new

view results

U-Review
Silvene
Rosy Red cheeks & lips
The sheer, subtle hint of colour gave my cheeks a beautiful, slightly flushed look and left my lips… more »
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
Nails