Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

104,702reviews
7,669products

Trial and review NZ's best beauty products for free.

Register Now
Goodness Eye Cream
Goodness Eye Cream
Real Techniques Your Finish/Perfected, Setting Brush Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.7/5

Real Techniques Your Finish/Perfected, Setting Brush Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

Real Techniques Your Finish/Perfected, Setting Brush Review

The key to completing any look with a controlled dusting of powder or highlighter:

  • look pixel-perfect even in harsh light
  • ultra-plush, synthetic bristles are hand-cut and 
    100% cruelty-free
  • extended aluminum handle is light and easy to use

RRP : $12.99

Availability : Selected online retailers

Website : www.realtechniques.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd February, 2017 at 4:40 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
RT - Setting brush

I love this brush for setting concealer, especially under the eyes. It is also great for highlighting..

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th January, 2017 at 11:22 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very versatile brush

I bought this from my local Farmers store for $14 which I thought was a very fair price for one brush. At the time I was on the search for a good setting brush for my translucent powder. That is when this beauty found its way in to my life.

First of all who wouldn't want a hot pink beautiful brush like that?! I know I do. It is out of the ordinary and screams beauty. The brush itself is soft but maintains a sturdy shape to it without being abrasive. It is a rounded shape which allows me to stipple powder on smaller areas like around the eyes and nose.

I wanted to see how else I could use this brush so decided to use it as a blush brush. It worked amazingly. It gives good coverage but without making it look too overdone. I then used it to finish my concealer and wow it's like the blemishes were never there. It gives it the perfect finish without the streaks or brush marks....winning!

I have had it for about three months and wash it religiously every week. So far there has been no fall out and no shedding. I am in love with how versatile this brush is and will continue to find other uses for it as time goes on.

Tips: Try other makeup applications, it's very adaptable.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th November, 2016 at 6:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Such an all round great brush!

I don't know how I did makeup before owning this brush.

Real Techniques is such an awesome brand, all of their brushes are affordable and perform so well.

This little brush is no exception, and while it may be small, it performs amazingly!

I use this to set/bake my under eyes, to apply highlighter and even to blend concealer.

Tips: Perfect for all of your setting/finishing needs!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th October, 2016 at 7:03 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Affordable "nice-to-have"

I used to scoff at this brush every time I saw it online – how can anyone want so little highlight with such a small brush? I bought this from Iherb for about $12.00 and when I first saw the metallic pink brush in my hand and felt how light it was I immediately thought what a waste of money but boy was I wrong!

Even though I don’t use it for highlighting (I like to go big haha) this brush is an affordable “nice-to-have” in your collection, setting the eye area has never been so easy and so precise! I used to set my eye area with a smaller face brush but the precision wasn't there and I’d often have to pick up more product to ensure I got the coverage I needed. The RT brush head is soft and the density is just enough to help pick up and pack on just enough product.

As a highlighting brush I feel that there are better ones out there (Sigma, Anastasia Beverly Hills, MAC etc) that do a better job of providing a smoother finish that brings out the glow as opposed to this brush which packs on the product a bit too much and requires more effort to sheer it out (with another brush). Would I recommend this brush to others? Absolutely especially if you don’t already have a setting brush for the smaller areas of the face.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th October, 2016 at 9:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Multi use brush

After looking for a fan brush for dusting on highlighter I came across a pack that included this setting brush. I think I have only used this brush once for its named purpose! It's just the right size for setting your under eye area. It's a versatile wee brush that I use for highlighting (more then the fan brush) contouring and bronzing. I am a longtime user and lover of the Real Techniques brand, the quality is great,the price point is affordable, and there is a brush for everything! This brush washes up well and dries really well too. If you are looking at buying some make up brushes definitely give Real Techniques a look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
6th October, 2016 at 4:40 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
real techniques brush

I love these brushes and have the set of face brushes by real techniques, I use this one to place contour just under my cheekbones in the hollow ,and it blends out well. I have also used this brush to place power highlight under my eyes ,especially great if I am dusting on Ben bye banana powder..the brushes was well ,with no sheading of bristles ,if you buy any of the real techniques brushes they will last you a long time,the quality is fantastic.

Tips: Great to use for highlight,dusting powder on your face,contour .

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th September, 2016 at 9:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
RT doin' it right

RT brushes are so great, this one is great for setting around the eye area. i use it every single day it is a fantastic brush.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th June, 2016 at 8:40 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
my handy lil highlighter brush

I impulse bought this at Priceline in Sydney, partly because it's hot pink and partly because i liked the idea of a brush sized between powder and shadow brushes to try with highlighter. I'd also just picked up an Hourglass Ambient powder, and I have this 'new highlighter = new brush' habit :D I'd also heard a lot about Real Techniques brushes, and figured it was as good a time as any to dip my toes in the RT water.

Now, I can't speak for the other Real Techniques brushes, but i LOVE this one.

The long, super lightweight aluminium (?) brush handle, with a silicone (?) grip is really easy to hold, angle and use. The brush is rounded, but still tapered, meaning that I can pick up and distribute my highlighter easily and evenly.

I tend to swirl this in my highlighter, then dot and tap it onto my face rather than actually brush it - this is a tip I picked up in Sephora, where they said that if you swipe too hard when brushing you're just taking off your base.

This brush gives me an easy highlight, and it's nice looking, wasn't too expensive, and washes up beautifully. I'm tempted to explore the rest of the range!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
7th January, 2016 at 10:05 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Handy Dandy

I loved this brush for setting my concealer under my eyes and sometimes setting my whole face if I wanted to be a bit gentler and precise. It's also a great brush for contouring as its not too big and if you put too much product on with this brush you can use a bigger one to buff it out.

I say 'loved' because I lost it when my handbag was stolen and forgot how much I loved it until right now writing this review. I think I will have to go an repurchase tomorrow.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
5th September, 2015 at 6:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Part of the Gang

This brush is a bit of an underdog in my Real Techniques collection. I have had it for years, yet I will forget about it for months, leaving it to gather dust in my pretty brush holder. This brush is not an essential. I don't need it on a daily basis, someone new to makeup wouldn't need it, and I'm certainly not telling you to rush out and buy it. But it is a lovely little fellow, who performs beautifully when made use of.

As the name suggests, this brush is designed for smaller, finer areas of the face where you are likely to apply thin, powdery products. This includes setting power under the eyes or on any smaller spots that you get oily and highlighter to the cheekbones, upper lip etc. I personally use this brush for both of these, usually with products such as the ELF undereye setting powder or Stila Kitten. I don't use it for striking, shimmery highlighters such as The Balm Mary Lou-Manizer, as it can 'dump' product onto the skin so is better in smaller areas with more forgiving products.

Like the rest of the range, this brush is very high quality. It has been used and washed many times over a 4 year period, and still looks brand new. I have never noticed ANY shedding and the handle is sturdy. Would I repurchase? If I lost this brush, no I would not repurchase it. However, it lasts so well that as long as it isn't misplaced, it will remain in my brush collection for a long time.

Tips: This brush is a bonus if you pick it up in a set with other brushes that you are wanting.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No