Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

OPI Nail Lacquer Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.4/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.5/5

OPI Nail Lacquer Review

Overall rating:
4.5/5

OPI Nail Lacquer - with over 250 shades covering every colour possible, giving long lasting professional colour.

RRP: $24.90

Availability: Available in Farmers, Life Pharmacy, Unichem,certain Amcal and Radius stores, department stores, beauty salons and nail salons.

Website: www.globalbeauty.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th December, 2017 at 12:56 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My my my...OPI

Can not recommend this polish enough! They really do stand by everything they say. The range of colours are amazing, it rolls on silky smooth, no lumps or clumps and the finish is beautiful and shiny every time! #OPILOVER

Tips: Two coats makes the colour super rich!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
24th July, 2017 at 4:45 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
OPI polish

I purchased a bottle as I thought it would be better quality than cheaper brands I have previously used. I found it was nice to apply, and I love some of the colours available, but that was about it. The colour stained my nails despite using a base-coat - fortunately the polish was a translucent orange, so stains were yellow, & not too noticeable. The drying time was standard, but the polished chipped really easily. Overall, I thought it was okay, but I've tried better products for half the price, so I'm not likely to purchase again

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
26th June, 2017 at 11:55 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good selection

I've tried OPI last week, I bought a few clearance items from a drugstore. I like that it's already pigmented with just one layer. My nails didn't turn yellow after I removed it, unlike the other brands.

I think the only downside is, it's not that durable unlike the gel type of nail varnish.

Tips: Apply the base coat before applying your desired color of varnish. Apply the top coat once you've applied the varnish.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
17th June, 2017 at 8:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Incredible Range Of Colours

I used to use this a lot a few years back. There are like 100's of colours and they usually do a lot of limited edition collections. My favourite colours are usually the purples but they have a great range in every shade. It's a well known brand, and I get this polish when getting a mani and pedi. The hardest thing is shade what colour you want to use when all of them are so pretty.

Tips: 2 applications of nail colour if its well pigmented. If it's a sheer colour 3 applications will do the job perfectly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th May, 2017 at 4:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Opi

Great product. Nice finish. Goes on easily and dries quickly. Love the top coat and pale colours. I use it on fingernails and toes. Long lasting. Great price if u get it on special

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
9th March, 2017 at 12:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Get down with OPI...

This is one if the most popular nail polishes on the market. It has a huge range of beautiful colours, I got two at Christmas from farmers for $30 on special. It was so fun choosing the colours. My boyfriend helped can you believe it :-P I guess i had higher expectations because of its popularity then I should have but I was a bit disappointed that It only Lasted a few days before it started to chip, I found it lasts longer if you apply two layers but the colours are so beautiful.

Tips: If you put your nails in icy water they set faster and last longer

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st March, 2017 at 11:42 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A good variety brand

OPI leads the nail world for a reason, they have a consistent formula, endless colour varieties and plenty of finishes, including all their bases, top coats, and nail treatments. Of which I must shamelessly admit I have used quite a few of in different shades, and finishes.

OPI bottles are shaped to be easily held to prevent spilling as you paint your nails, they have a decent sized brush for accurate application but at times my small pinky nail is too thin for the brush but that is a personal thing.

Most of their polishes are opaque with 2 coats, except for their sheen ranges that are designed to be less opaque.

Removes easily with acetone free remover, doesn't drag the colour or fade over the course of a week. Or does it start to chip with a top coat for a good 5-6 days, without a top coat you can get 2-3 days wear if you are hard on your hands.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.3/5
14th October, 2016 at 11:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Decent, although not what it's hyped up to be

OPI is kind of like THE quintessential nail polish brand, and to be honest I don't understand what all the fuss is about.

In the tiers of nail polish quality, it's hardly up there with getting a professional manicure done, and it's higher than the big name make-up brands polish (I'm looking at you, poor quality Maybelline and L'Oreal nail polishes!), but it's not the best. ORLY performs just as well in my opinion.

What I will give OPI is that they have amazing colours. My favourite is a shimmery pink tone, but even that's no unique.

The stay ability is like other brands - lasts me three days, maybe four or five max if I use a top coat and a base coat. Nothing to rave about. Some formulas apply very well, and some are awful, but this is true for most polishes.

Overall, not the best, but not the worst either.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.3/5
12th October, 2016 at 9:52 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Works well

OPI is one of the better brands of nail lacquer that I'll buy. It is a bit pricey if you're not nail-obsessed, but for me just having one or two colours is great. It goes on very well, however I've found that it doesn't last as long on my nails as I'd hoped. But this is something I find with most nail polish.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.0/5
7th October, 2016 at 11:47 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not a huge fan

I'm not a big fan of the OPI range. I dont find it lasts as long on my nails as other brands I have used and I don't find it as easy to use - I always end up making a big mess. The polishes do last longer in the bottles than other brands that tend to dry up which is good, and OPI have a fantastic range of colours. I wish I liked the formula as much as others do, but I just don't :/

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

YES! A million times YES!

view results

Review of the Day
Dii
Garnier BB Cream Nude
I am really pleased that I got the opportunity to put this BB cream to test thanks to the great people… more »