Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - April
The Beauty Vault - April
Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 3.5/5
Did it do what it said it would? 3.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 3.4/5

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara Review

Overall rating:
3.5/5

Maybelline Great Lash Mascara conditions while it thickens lashes with no clumps or globs.

RRP $19.95

Availability:  leading Supermarkets, Pharmacies and Department stores.

Website: www.maybelline.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
3rd April, 2018 at 9:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Old faithful

I love this mascara. It is my all time favourite. I try others (usually maybelline or L'Oréal) but always go back to this one. For the price you can't go wrong. If I do stray from this it's usually because I want a different look or colour.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd January, 2018 at 11:25 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A true classic

Wonderful product I can rely on to give me what I want. This was one of my first mascaras and it was great. Small brush gives you lots of control over curl and coating every lash. Small enough to use on lower lashes.

Tips: Wipe off excess product and work the product gently from the root to tip of lashes. Curl back with wand at the tips and hold for a few seconds for a light curl.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
21st January, 2018 at 10:15 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Dries fast

Good colour, extends lashes nicely I really like the brush shape it makes it a lot easier to apply great for beginners or someone with an unsteady hand

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
16th December, 2017 at 11:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Classic!

This has always been a great trustworthy mascara! I remember using this as a teen and absolutely loving it! It defines your lashes well and is easy to apply, what a winner!

Tips: N/A

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.3/5
11th December, 2017 at 9:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Oh no!

I have seen this mascara in so many friends make up bags over the years and decided to give it a try. Pretty disappointed really. I wanted to like it but found absolutely no redeeming qualities beyond the cheery packaging. The bristle wand is standard but felt a little shorter than the average wand. The mascara went on fairly easily and unfortunately came off just as fast. Twice I had to remove smudges under my eyes during the day which I honestly haven’t needed to do in years. It didn’t offer much in the way of volumising or lengthening and I didn’t continue to use it long enough to see if it started to clump. (Most mascaras don’t clump the first few times you use them, when they are all fresh, and this one didn’t either.) I don’t know why it kept running on me but the second and third time I used it, I found the same thing happened and eventually gave it to my teenage neice. There are so many fantastic mascaras on the market these days and I found this product lacking in comparison and somewhat dated sadly.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
29th August, 2017 at 11:28 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Cult Favourite

I feel like back in the day this was everyone's go to mascara, it was really a cult favourite. It really depends what sort of look you're after as to whether this is suitable for you.

If you're looking for a nice, natural mascara that will darken your lashes and make them look a little fuller, then this is for you. But if you want a more dramatic look, with massive bigger, longer lashes then maybe try something else.

This is good for every day work sort of situation but i'd use something different for a nigh out. It gives a nice, natural darkened lash look but does not add a lot of volume.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
1.0/5
21st August, 2017 at 10:05 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not that great at all

My Mum has always told me that this was the best mascara. I have very sparse and short eyelashes and this mascara does literally nothing that I want to get out of a mascara. The wand is bristles, and I prefer a comb-like wand to really get my lashes individually. It also clumps and seems to be quite temperature sensitive in that respect, and I also have a hard time getting this one on my eyelids in my attempts to get each lash coated.

Tips: Might be nice for some, but not for me. Would only use again in a desperate, no other option situation.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
18th July, 2017 at 7:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It used to be a fave, but I've found better

Until very recently, this was the only mascara I would use and I had used it for several years. However, recently, I started to get frustrated with the way it "dropped" (made dark patches under and above my eyes). I found myself having to remember to wipe under my eyes throughout the day or I looked like a panda!

I decided to try some other mascaras to see if this was a universal problem. Turns out it isn't. I still love this mascara for it's lengthening and plumping - it really coats my lashes well and makes them stand out. If they could fix the dropping, I'd go back to this one.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
10th July, 2017 at 9:31 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great Lashley Mascara

Excellent for an everyday mascara. Doesn't make them particularly long but darkens nicely and makes lashesmore visible. Small brush makes application easy and precise. One to keep in the handbag. Excellent value for money.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
30th May, 2017 at 8:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
cheap and cheerful

It's cheap and cheerful, only $12 at my local New world and if I'm caught short I'll buy it. I find it it a bit clumpy and can take a while to get it on evenly in the morning but when it's on it looks great. Added bonus is it's easy to get off, it's a reliable affordable staple.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

No...but now I want to!!

view results

Review of the Day
thirtywinks
The Perfect Balm for Dry Weather
I'd always been a petroleum jelly user but it could never save my lips from the dry weather… more »