Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - April
The Beauty Vault - April
Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Pans Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Pans Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Pans Review

Named after the velvety, warm skin of a peach, and the soft subtle sands on a beach, this addition to our collection is sure to be one you will love. This soft, delicate, matte peach color is perfect for summer. Use alone for a soft wash of color that is perfect for a day in the sun, or team it up with a dark shade for a dramatic look that is sure to turn heads.  It also happens to be a great blending color to soften any harsh lines.

RRP : $7.99

Availability : Selected online retailers

Website : www.makeupgeek.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th October, 2017 at 11:37 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Simply the Best

After seeing many reviews about Make Up Geek I finally got a small bundle last year. I got the winter bundle that had a mixture of foils shimmers and mattes. I highly recommend getting a small bundle like this that way you could try all the different textured eye shadows.

Each individual pans are magnetic. The formula of these matte shadows are smooth blendable with minimal fall out. The shimmer pans are pigmented and creamy.

I can easily transition each matte shade on my eye. I can wear these eye shadows all day without fade. The shimmers pop . I get numerous compliments about my eye shadows saying they look wonderful.

Out of all my eye shadow pallettes and individuals the Make Up Geek outshines the rest. It's the best I've ever used. I have no regrets. I'd love to expand my make up geek collection in the near future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
18th June, 2017 at 8:55 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good product

I purchased some MUG shadows a while ago (I brought the Manny Mua collar because I'm too lazy to buy singles and make my own palette). Eyeshadows we're really good. I've never really been into eyeshadow, so I was a beginner at the time. I found these very easy to blend and had great pigmentation. I just had to remind myself to tap off any excess on my brush so I didn't look to crazy. The palette I found was easy to create day and night looks so it was really good for me as a beginner (I only had a naked 2 palette prior to this which I find is not that great). So overall, I find these shadows great for a beginner as they are so easily blendable. These were my fav shadows until I recently done a colour pop haul - now the MUG shadows are probably my 2nd fav :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th April, 2017 at 10:14 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Favourite in all forms of shadow

I have used and owned almost all of MUG collection over the past 2-3 years, from their original shades to foils, duochrome, mattes and shimmers. Each pan owned has never disappointed.

The pan sizes are spot on with heaps of product to last you a very long time, they have a high quality feel and pigmentation pay off. Applying in a creamy state to allow you to blend and create the soft look or build up without dragging to create drama.

Not a day goes by without a MUG shadow being used be it a whole look, just a crease colour or an accent. They don't break down, or become blotchy, work well alongside other brands of eyeshadow and the bonus of being able to buy a z-palette and create your own custom palette means if you travel around you don't need to lug a heap of products but just that one palette.

Eyeshadow doesn't fall off the brush unless you give it a little tap, and there is no fall out when applying no matter how heavy you go you can always blend it. MUG is a favourite of my personal collection as well as in my makeup kit.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
22nd March, 2017 at 6:32 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great Pigmentation!

I just wish these were easier to get! They have such an amazing formula and pigmentation payoff - sometimes I forget and go heavy handed and get way too much shadow on my eye. Best idea is to save up and buy a whole lot at once - they are 100% worth the money!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th November, 2016 at 7:50 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love Love Love

I remember when all the beauty youtubers started to rave about Makeup Geek single shadows. After watching tutorial after tutorial I decided I needed some. I am so in love! There are soooo many shades to choose from and being able have so many different crease shade has made things so much easier.

The shaddows are buttery and easy to use. The only thing I dislike as that some of their shade have a bit of kick up and leave my pallet a little messy.

Tips: Make yourself a custom pallet with all your most loved shades. It's perfect to travel with and you can change things around depending on the seasons.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th October, 2016 at 11:41 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Makeup Geek Eyeshadow Pans

Each eye shadow is sold separately, you either need to purchase a large empty palette to put them in or I think you can pay a little extra and get them in a single case. Absolutely love them, the pigment pay off is amazing, and overall quite cheap for such good quality. There is a range of colours, my favorite is the cocobear which works with any eye look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
10th July, 2016 at 7:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Make up geek duo chrome eye shadows

I got a set of makeup geek duo chrome eye shadow pans and paid over $100 for shipping and postage. On the internet the swatches looked amazing and intense I fell in love and although the pigments looked better because I knew it was costing me alot I opted for the pan shadows. Well I have to say I am mixed about reviewing them because I was really excited to get them but when I tried them on my eye lid some of them did not show up and they are not as intense as they are portrayed to be. I actually had a very similar colour to"blacklight", "havoc" in pigment form already and also "voltage" in a pallet so I am selling those on. Had I not already had those colours I would have been very happy to keep them but "rockstar" doesn't really show up on my light skin tone or reflect another colour sadly. If some one with darker skin used this it would look great Today I used "mai time" and "secret garden" they ate okay but when I swatched on my finger they looked better meaning you could see the duo chrome aka the second colour these series are supposed to reflect better than when I put on my lid. Secret garden actually looked purple on my lid but when swatched it was a greeny black. "Karma" does not really seem like a true dup chrome meaning it barley reflects the other colour just looks more like a straight gold but it is still a nice colour just more of a foiled not duo chrome. "Phantom" also annoyingly looks stunning when swatched on my finger / hand it is a lilac light purple with beautiful pink pearl reflects /duo chrome colour through it. But on my eye lid it looked more purple the duo chrome and beautiful pearl didnt show up much I wonder what it would be like as a highlighter. Some I still have yet to try. The foiled collection looks very pretty all in all what I can say is they pigmentation is not bad but some are not that great and I had used primer. They do make some very good dupes for high end make up such as mac and urban decay and they last okay I am happy but I was expecting more from them. Just tried "im peachless" and "steam punk" again lovley swatched on the hand but on my lid under a bb cream peach looks patchy and steampunk is faded just like secret garden was and doesnt look intense or show the duo chrome much I am quite dissappointed now I see these are highly rated and I see they fade out to nothing in a few hours not sure if it was worth the amount I paid although these are not over expensive I feel they are over rated now sadly.

Tips: Consider your skin tone are they going to show up / suit? If you want strong pigmentation go for the pigments. Try primer as these do not last These come in individual pans so you will need a pallet or magnetic board to store them in place.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th May, 2016 at 12:42 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Best single shadows

Makeup geek shadows are literally the best single shadows out there, considering the pigmentation, price and the colour range, they're comparable to mac but they're so much cheaper, the only downsides are the fact that you need to buy them online and they're slightly powdery but those are things I can definitely look past. I bought a Z palette off BeautyBay and have gradually filled it with my favourite makeup geek shadows. I rarely buy palettes anymore because there are always one or two colours that I don't like and won't use, but with my palette; I added all the colours myself so I know I'm always going to use them

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
31st December, 2015 at 7:04 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great quality, some are better than others though

I got a whole heap of these eyeshadow back in June for my birthday. I'd heard so much about how amazing these were that I had to try them. These are made by a youtuber, so I feel like she has the advantage in knowing what the consumer wants out of an eyeshadow. I watch her channel and she seems like a pretty decent, down to earth person who genuinely cares about putting out great products without hefty price tags.

Purchasing these is a little different then just buying a regular palette. Each eyeshadow is sold separately, you either need to purchase a large empty palette to put them in or I think you can pay a little extra and get them in a single case. I purchased a large z palette (which you can also buy off the makeup geek site). Apparently these are the same size as mac shadows so I guess you could put them in one of their palettes too. Shipping takes around 1-2 weeks and they are packaged well. I have 25 shadows which I've bought over a few orders and none have arrived broken.

Being able to pick and choose colors is perfect when you want specific colors and hate having palettes that have a few shades you won't use. It does get pricey though, these work out to be around $10 each so the price adds up quickly. I try not to think about how much my little palette is Worth!

Right onto the Shadows! In general, I'm pretty happy with the quality. These blend out really well, are pigmented and best of all, will still be on my lid at the end of the day. I do find quality varies a little bit between some shadows. My beaches & cream is super powdery. The shade cinderella is pigmented but not as buttery soft as some other shimmers. Some of the darker ones tend to fade a bit by the end of the day as well.

Overall, do I regret These? No way. There's a few shades I own that I don't really reach for but that's my fault for making the wrong color choices. I would recommend these to others absolutely. I'd just recommend searching YouTube for swatches and performance of each shadow. I'd also recommend writing down your shades somewhere for easy reference so you don't double up on Anything!

Tips: I have seen beauty bay now sells these too. They do free shipping over $35 I think. Otherwise keep an eye out for when makeup geek does free international shipping.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th October, 2015 at 8:48 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
What can I say?

About these little beauties? MUG caught my attention after watching Kathleenlights on YouTube. I had try to them for myself and boy was she right, I'm in love! Cocoa bear and Creme brûlée are favs as well as Corrupt for the blackest black shadow you've ever seen. I have recently purchased some of the foiled shadows too, AMAZING!

Tips: Tap your brush before applying due to fall out from some of these shadows. I made my own z palette to store these in, check out the easy DIYs on Pinterest

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

No...but now I want to!!

view results

Review of the Day
thirtywinks
The Perfect Balm for Dry Weather
I'd always been a petroleum jelly user but it could never save my lips from the dry weather… more »