Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
MAC Lipstick Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

MAC Lipstick Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

 

Colour plus texture for the lips. Stands out on the runway. Simmers on the street! What made M·A·C famous.

Available in 11 finishes (Matte, Retro Matte, Satin, Dazzle, Glaze, Lustre, Cremesheen, Cremesheen Pearl, Amplified, Amplified Creme, Frost)

Available in 170+ shades

RRP: $40

Availability: Available from M.A.C stores and selected Department stores.

Website: www.maccosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th September, 2017 at 11:48 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MAC Modesty Cremesheen

This was my first MAC lipstick and I love it. This natural yet glam shade is pigmented well and stays on for a surprisingly long time. As well as being a smooth sleek finish I appreciate the vanilla scent that MAC put into their lipsticks - it is such a sweet wee touch. I suggest using a corresponding lip liner to get the most out of the gorgeous colour.

Tips: Pair with a smoky brown eye for daytime or a black for night time glam

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st July, 2017 at 6:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Velvet Teddy

My go to, holy grail lipstick. One of the only nudes that couldn't be any more perfect for my skin tone. Look good with any makeup look. This matte formula is great too, it's lasts a good amount of time and doesn't dry my lips out. It has good opacity without needing to build too much.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th July, 2017 at 3:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mac Velvet Teddy Non Drying Deep Toned Matte Beige

I'm not one to give into celebrity hype, especially the Kardashians. However, when I was getting into more nude and natural shades for lipsticks this was one really popular shade especially on tan skin. So when I was able to grab a bargain on this shade I did. Mac Velvet Teddy is described as a deep toned matte beige. I'm about a NC25 and it looks too brown on me to be a nude, it's more of neutral. I was a tad disappointed when it arrived although it was my fault for not trying out the shade in store first, although the tester was used up due to the popularity of the shade. It took a little while for me to warm up to the shade. One thing I really do like about this matte is that it doesn't feel really drying. It isn't moisturizing but I have applied this straight on my lips without a lip balm on underneath and my lips didn't feel dry, in fact I could rub my lips together and they were smooth and moist instead of that dry and flakey feeling that I would get with other matte lipsticks. Now I wouldn't say this is a moisturizing shade because apply this on without lipbalm and you'll notice a difference but for a matte this isn't drying. It feels light on my lips. I wouldn't say this is the highest quality lipstick I own but I do feel this is definitely one of the better quality lippies I own. One swipe gives a lot of color and coverage, which is great especially for mattes as I don't like to apply a lot of layers for matte lippies as the dry layers flake and feel worse as time goes on. I like that the Mac lipsticks tubes close firmly with that satisfying click but easily so that you don't have to worry but the tube opening up in your purse or makeup bag. I don't think I'll repurchase this shade just because I don't love it enough and lipsticks last a really long time. But I would consider purchasing more lipsticks from Mac especially the matte range of lipsticks.

Tips: If you are going to buy from Mac, if possible try to visit the counter they have numerous shades in a lot of different finishes. Ask a counter assistant to help you find your dream shade they are really good at that. I bought this shade online without trying it on because I gave into the hype and it was on sale. But if I had visited the Mac counter I probably would've walked away with a shade I would like and wear a lot more and I know that now because the following trip to the Mac counter I did.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st June, 2017 at 11:13 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mac Lipstick - Ruby Woo

Lurrrve my Ruby Woo. A perfect and versatile matte red which i wear both day and night. Non sticky and doesn't feel like it's glued to my lips (like many less expensive ranged lippies). This is my go to that i carry EVERYWHERE in case i need to add a pop of colour. Mostly wear at night :)

Tips: Great as a blush alternative on the cheeks too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2017 at 10:51 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MAC lipsticks

I have quite a lot of MAC lipsticks and I love all of them. They have such nice pigment and are long-lasting and all the shades look so good on every skin colour.

Tips: When applying a matte lipstick be sure to moisturise your lips with some lip balm because the lipstick may dry out your lips during the day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th June, 2017 at 1:04 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mac lipstick

I love a new Mac lippy, i have a large collection and seem to always get similar nude colours. Velvet teddy being my new fave. The satin range is great on the lip and has a soft texture, is still nice when re applied, dosent go clumpy!! I have also used the matte range in a few colours but always seem to return to my favourite

Tips: Pair with a matching liner for full affect, exfoliate lips first to prevent lipstick from showing lines or dry lips

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
16th June, 2017 at 6:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mega MAC fan

I love the range of colours and lustres that MAC have in their lipstick range, you would never struggle to find something to suit. The mattes are my favourite but can be very drying and don't have a huge amount of staying power. I always apply a good lip balm underneath before application. My absolute favourites are Real Redhead, Ruby Woo, Diva and Doe.

Tips: If you can, buy the matching the lip liner to help with staying power.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
8th June, 2017 at 9:27 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
my fave lippie!!

oh my gosh, I can't rave enough about these lipsticks. they go on silky smooth, the colour is amazing (whether a major pop of colour or a pretty soft pink). They last for ages on your lips and the colour is solid so you don't have to apply too much. I just love it!

Tips: I love a wee sweep of a matching MAC lipgloss on top for a super luscious look

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
5th June, 2017 at 4:25 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Love them

I only have a few MAC lipsticks and my favourite one is Velvet Teddy. I am wanting to grow my collection of MAC lipsticks because of how much I love them. They last all day and the colour choices are amazing.

Tips: I sometimes add a plain gloss over top of a matte lipstick to change the makeup look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th May, 2017 at 7:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Favourite lipstick

The MAC lipsticks are my all time favourite. Especially the matte finishes. They have a huge range of amazing colours, my favourite being 'velvet teddy.' The matte lipsticks take about 5-10 minutes after applying to become fully matte, but once they are on, they are amazing. They feel lightweight as if you aren't wearing anything at all. The colour lasts very well. However, if you eat or drink, the lipstick transfers very quickly. This is the only time you may need to re-apply. The packaging is also beautiful and the product itself smells really nice.

Tips: Use the mac lip liner which is equally amazing to line your lips before hand so that you don't go outside the lines of your lips.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »