Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

MAC Lipstick Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

MAC Lipstick Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

 

Colour plus texture for the lips. Stands out on the runway. Simmers on the street! What made M·A·C famous.

Available in 11 finishes (Matte, Retro Matte, Satin, Dazzle, Glaze, Lustre, Cremesheen, Cremesheen Pearl, Amplified, Amplified Creme, Frost)

Available in 170+ shades

RRP: $40

Availability: Available from M.A.C stores and selected Department stores.

Website: www.maccosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th February, 2018 at 5:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Absolutely love

As soon a second I got into makeup, I wished that one day I could own at least 1 Mac lipstick. Now that I have a few I see why everyone raves about them. They are very pigmented, they don’t bleed so you don’t even need a lip liner, and the formula is very beautiful and creamy! They last super long on the lips and apply evenly making it so easy to use. My fav colour is VELVET TEDDY.

Tips: They can be pretty pricey for people on a budget, buying them duty free or buying them in America on holiday would be best haha

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
29th January, 2018 at 6:26 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MAC

I have used so many lipsticks over the years but always come back to MAC. The texture, the container, the vast colour range, the staff ! and of course the way the lippy makes me feel and how it looks and how many compliments i get ESP with SNOB if you are blonde or a redhead go for it :-)

Tips: Duty free lols

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
30th December, 2017 at 2:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Worth the price

MAC lipsticks are one of those legendary beauty products and known for their staying power. After hearing so much about their durability, I decided to take advantage of some duty free buying when travelling, and purchased two of their most popular shades: Ruby Woo and Russian Red. Ruby Woo is from their Retro Matte range, and Russian Red is from their Matte range.

MAC lipsticks are all packaged in the same charcoal coloured, bullet-shaped tubes, with fine silver glitter in the plastic, and MAC written in silver on the outside. The insides of the tubes are silver with MAC written in black. Although the packaging is classy, it is very hard to tell the lipsticks apart. The shade is only written on the bottom of the case in black, so I stack my lipsticks upside-down in my lipstick holder.

The lipsticks are easy to apply, and the formula is consistent and goes on evenly. The colour does not bleed either, even without a lip-liner, which is wonderful. I find the staying power is exceptional, and it far outshines my other red lipsticks, which I no longer reach for when I want to wear red. The only drawback is that the lipsticks can be a bit drying, but they are no worse than any other matte formula.

The two red shades I have are so popular because they meant to be universally flattering shades that suit any skin tone. Russian Red is the darker of the two, and is more cool based, so suits cool complexions slightly more. Ruby Woo is a lighter red, and slightly warm based, so better for warm complexions. I am cool-toned and I look fine in both shades, so I think they are designed to suit all skin tones.

Although these lipsticks are expensive in New Zealand, I think they justify their cost. They are are definitely worth getting hold of if you can find them on sale.

Tips: Wear them over the top of a lip primer to help avoid your lips drying out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.0/5
14th December, 2017 at 3:01 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Unpopular opinion: MAC lipsticks are overrated

I own a couple of MAC lipsticks and they are just not my cup of tea. I know MAC is so popular for lipsticks but I just find Ruby Woo so incredibly drying, and while it has long staying power I just don't like how it feels on my lips.

My other lipstick is the lustre shade see sheer and while it's a nice shade and looks good, I just have other lipsticks that last longer and are similar in price.

Tips: I find Ruby Woo works/feels better when using pencil lipstick liner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th September, 2017 at 11:48 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MAC Modesty Cremesheen

This was my first MAC lipstick and I love it. This natural yet glam shade is pigmented well and stays on for a surprisingly long time. As well as being a smooth sleek finish I appreciate the vanilla scent that MAC put into their lipsticks - it is such a sweet wee touch. I suggest using a corresponding lip liner to get the most out of the gorgeous colour.

Tips: Pair with a smoky brown eye for daytime or a black for night time glam

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st July, 2017 at 6:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Velvet Teddy

My go to, holy grail lipstick. One of the only nudes that couldn't be any more perfect for my skin tone. Look good with any makeup look. This matte formula is great too, it's lasts a good amount of time and doesn't dry my lips out. It has good opacity without needing to build too much.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th July, 2017 at 3:19 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mac Velvet Teddy Non Drying Deep Toned Matte Beige

I'm not one to give into celebrity hype, especially the Kardashians. However, when I was getting into more nude and natural shades for lipsticks this was one really popular shade especially on tan skin. So when I was able to grab a bargain on this shade I did. Mac Velvet Teddy is described as a deep toned matte beige. I'm about a NC25 and it looks too brown on me to be a nude, it's more of neutral. I was a tad disappointed when it arrived although it was my fault for not trying out the shade in store first, although the tester was used up due to the popularity of the shade. It took a little while for me to warm up to the shade. One thing I really do like about this matte is that it doesn't feel really drying. It isn't moisturizing but I have applied this straight on my lips without a lip balm on underneath and my lips didn't feel dry, in fact I could rub my lips together and they were smooth and moist instead of that dry and flakey feeling that I would get with other matte lipsticks. Now I wouldn't say this is a moisturizing shade because apply this on without lipbalm and you'll notice a difference but for a matte this isn't drying. It feels light on my lips. I wouldn't say this is the highest quality lipstick I own but I do feel this is definitely one of the better quality lippies I own. One swipe gives a lot of color and coverage, which is great especially for mattes as I don't like to apply a lot of layers for matte lippies as the dry layers flake and feel worse as time goes on. I like that the Mac lipsticks tubes close firmly with that satisfying click but easily so that you don't have to worry but the tube opening up in your purse or makeup bag. I don't think I'll repurchase this shade just because I don't love it enough and lipsticks last a really long time. But I would consider purchasing more lipsticks from Mac especially the matte range of lipsticks.

Tips: If you are going to buy from Mac, if possible try to visit the counter they have numerous shades in a lot of different finishes. Ask a counter assistant to help you find your dream shade they are really good at that. I bought this shade online without trying it on because I gave into the hype and it was on sale. But if I had visited the Mac counter I probably would've walked away with a shade I would like and wear a lot more and I know that now because the following trip to the Mac counter I did.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st June, 2017 at 11:13 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mac Lipstick - Ruby Woo

Lurrrve my Ruby Woo. A perfect and versatile matte red which i wear both day and night. Non sticky and doesn't feel like it's glued to my lips (like many less expensive ranged lippies). This is my go to that i carry EVERYWHERE in case i need to add a pop of colour. Mostly wear at night :)

Tips: Great as a blush alternative on the cheeks too!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2017 at 10:51 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
MAC lipsticks

I have quite a lot of MAC lipsticks and I love all of them. They have such nice pigment and are long-lasting and all the shades look so good on every skin colour.

Tips: When applying a matte lipstick be sure to moisturise your lips with some lip balm because the lipstick may dry out your lips during the day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th June, 2017 at 1:04 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mac lipstick

I love a new Mac lippy, i have a large collection and seem to always get similar nude colours. Velvet teddy being my new fave. The satin range is great on the lip and has a soft texture, is still nice when re applied, dosent go clumpy!! I have also used the matte range in a few colours but always seem to return to my favourite

Tips: Pair with a matching liner for full affect, exfoliate lips first to prevent lipstick from showing lines or dry lips

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

YES! A million times YES!

view results

Review of the Day
Dii
Garnier BB Cream Nude
I am really pleased that I got the opportunity to put this BB cream to test thanks to the great people… more »