Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Maybelline Superstay Matte Lip Ink Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.5/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.4/5

Maybelline Superstay Matte Lip Ink Review

Overall rating:
4.4/5

Ink your lips with a flawless matte finish. Matte Ink lip colour features a unique arrow applicator for precise application and is available in a range of super saturated shades. Available in 9 shades.

Apply liquid lipstick to the centre of your upper lip and follow the contours of your top lip. Then, Glide the liquid lipstick across the entire bottom lip. Ensure you allow the product to dry. The arrow applicator gives you precise application. The product is so pigmented, a thin layer is needed to ensure a super saturated colour.

Pack Size: 5ml

RRP: $22.99

Availability: Farmers, Pharmacies, The Warehouse, Kmart & supermarkets nationwide.

Website: www.Maybelline.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th May, 2018 at 11:00 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Super Stay Power

I was lucky enough to win one of these from BR, I also got to pick the shade I wanted to try. Me being me picked Escapist. I deep dark plum purple shade. Absolutely perfect for moody winter vibes.

The packaging, a sleek matte tube with what I think is mean't to resemble the shade inside the tube, however for the shade I chose it was definitely a miss conception. The shade was alot darker than the colour on the tube.

The wand, weird. Not the doe foot you see with most liquid lips. I really like it though! It makes it so easy to apply the lipstick.

I wore this for a 7 hour stretch! And I was so surprised by the lasting power. When you initially apply it it feels really sticky but dries matte making it comfortable on the lips. I only had to touch up once I had finished my coffee as it wore off a little in the corners.

The only downfall I found with this was taking it off! It stained my lips and it was really difficult to remove. It was extremely stubborn.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
30th April, 2018 at 2:03 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Should I stay or should I go...

This lipstick is so appealing for staying power and it does last, but it starts to break down in the middle after drinks or meals and needs to be re-applied. I purchased this in Pioneer, which is the perfect blue based red. It can be applied very sparingly as it is super pigmented. It does have very good staying power, if your on a smoothie diet with a straw it'll last the whole 16 hours... It felt slightly sticky when I applied it, and it also made my lips feel very dry and like they were coated in something unnatural.

Tips: A little goes a long way

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
14th April, 2018 at 11:26 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Matte Lip Ink

Wow this stuff really lasts all day. I have been using this for work. I do find it feels a bit dry so I start with a lip balm then apply the lip ink and finish with a clear gloss.I wanted to see what this was like and love the staying power of the colour but prefer the shiny look. I only need to touch up with the gloss and that is with eating and drinking for the whole day.

Tips: If you have too much colour on the edge of your lip just use a cotton bud to blend or remove excess lip ink.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
12th March, 2018 at 12:17 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Solid Stain Satin Wonder

I received the colour Believer - 40 and although it appears to suit women with lighter skin, i was pleasantly surprised when i applied the first layer, it appears darker than it looks on the applicator. Maybe because i have darker skin.

The lipstick packaging is plastic and the the colour of the packaging is solid. I wondered if the actual colour will be the same. It appears like an expensive high end product for a brand that makes reasonably priced products. The applicator had an eye shaped end and a gap in the center which picks up more product when you dip it into the container.

I applied the first layer the appeared to carry and therefore transfer enough product to cover my entire lips, however they were places on the lip that the product appeared very thin and sheer. I proceeded to apply another layer. On the second layer the product is thick and takes a while to dry up. When dry it is transfer proof and lasts a good 8 hours. I landed up eating an oily meal and it appeared to break down after that.

On the darker skin the colour appears a deep purple, you do not feel like your lips are dry at all. It feels like you are wearing nothing. A great buy, for the product it is a good price because it is a good quality product and I am happy to pay more. Will recommend this to friends and family.

Tips: If you want to remove the lip stain, you can apply olive oil and massage your lips. the product can then be removed by a cotton ball

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.7/5
5th March, 2018 at 10:12 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
HOW IS IT NOT STAYING ON ME?

I bought mine from the Philippines for just $6 each, when I was on my holiday last month. Surprised it is being sold here thrice that price!

I looooooveee the shades! I have "Lover" and "Voyager". Both are easy to work with, glides on easily and great colour pay-off.

However, for some reason, it doesn't stay on me longer than 3 hours! I exfoliate and applies some lip balm before application but it just still wouldn't stay long at all. :(

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Could the lipbalm be the culprit? Sometimes matte lipsticks/stains like that need to be applied onto very clean, dry lips to stay on properly.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
2nd March, 2018 at 10:40 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Pros and Cons

I received this as part of a BR trial review. Thank you BR team. The shade I received was Escapist, a dark grape purple colour. It's very eye catching. The packaging is quite simple but smart looking. The shade colour is clearly coloured in matte with a white top lid. The shade on the packaging is also a lot lighter than the actual shade of the lip ink colour which was actually very dark.

There is a sweet but faint smell before application, but no lingering scent once applied. Applicatior is a unique arrow shape with a hole in the centre. Not really sure what the hole is for.

I found the application of the product far from ideal. It's not fast, it's one of those you need to concentrate and take time to apply. I couldn't get super clean lines like I do with a classic doe foot shape. The shade is very pigmented though I found it a bit patchy. I had to fill in some gaps with a bit of extra product.

It's also very long lasting. I would apply this in the morning at 7am and it would still be there after dinner. No touch ups were necessary. Easily removed at night with a beauty balm.

There are really only two negatives about this product. The formula is very sticky throughout the day which I found annoying, though I assume that is what gives it the staying power. Also this lip ink would not stay on my inner lip and I would have a lip line through it. It ruined the perfect lip look and I felt really self conscious about it. Maybe this would not happen with a lighter shade. Both points are really the reason why I won't be wearing it again, I can't get past it.

Tips: The applicator is a unique shape so extra time during application is needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
1st March, 2018 at 10:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Super pigmented and stays put

The Matte Lip Ink did what it said on the pack! It's super pigmented and stays put. The consistency was thin and smooth, and it dried quickly unlike some similar products I've tried, so no issues with smudging. The colour was far lighter than the swatch indicated, and if I was purchasing again I'd go for a more vibrant shade to make the most of the pigment.

Tips: I found the easiest way to remove it was with oil - my normal routine of warm water and a cotton pad didn't budge it at all.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st March, 2018 at 8:48 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
It actually really does stay on...

I've tried several stay on lipsticks and to be honest this is possibly one of the best in terms of staying power.

So the smell when you you it on is yuck - like a cheap vanilla candle but that goes away when it dries which is really fast. The brush thing to put it on is quite pointy which is good as you want to make sure you get your lines right. I have a dark shade and did clown mouth by accident and had to correct it with eye mark up remover as it was firmly a lip stain. God forbid you get it on the carpet!

People noticed it and I got compliments at work which I don't with my usual lipsticks - perhaps as it's so matt and quite dark it really does stand out.

The best thing for me was simply the staying power without going all crackly which is what I've had before from stay on lipsticks or very matt lipsticks.

By about 10 hours wear my lips did feel dry but certainly not cracking. After 2 meals, loads of drinks and 10 hours wear it was starting to wear off but not completely so I'd say that's a very good innings.

I'd certainly buy other shades but maybe not the lighter ones as I think they may look a bit weird with it being so very matt.

Tips: You're going to need eye makeup remover to get this off if you make a mistake.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st March, 2018 at 8:17 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Superstay Matte Lip Ink

So excited to trial this! Im desperate to find a good long wearing lippy that doesn't come off the minute I have my first latte.

This lip ink comes in a nice matte style container that is easy to pop in your handbag. I chose the colour ‘15 Lover’ as I thought it would be a good versatile day to day type colour that I could wear to work, and I was right. This soft pink colour would suit a wide variety of looks/outfits. The wand is a arrow shape with a nice sharp end which is great for getting those nice cupids bows on point, love it! I only had to dip the wand once and that had enough product on it to do my entire lip surface. After application, it is sticky for quite a while which is a little off-putting as I felt I needed a gloss or something to set it. As the day went on, I had my latte, my morning tea, drank water and no lip prints, yay I’m really liking this and can probably over-look the stickiness. I did find that it started to wear later in the day but, it was pretty subtle and not too noticeable so if you were in a meeting you wouldn't feel the need for a quick trip to the ladies to re-apply.

Over all, I really love this product and now want to buy the other colour and at $22.99 that is not too bad but I may wait till it comes on special (so I can buy more he he).

Tips: Go slow to start with till you get used to the applicator.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
28th February, 2018 at 9:44 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fabulous bold lips

Thank you for the opportunity to try Maybelline's Superstay Matte Lip Ink. In the past I've always worn a lip gloss or stain, and had never tried a matte before. "Pioneer" is a fabulous colour. I loved the bold look, but struggled with the application. I found it hard to get the right edge/shape, and it was hard to correct my mistakes. On my 1st attempt I didn't use a lip liner, and ended up with feathering/bleeding at the edges. uch better day 2, so maybe I just need more practise. The texture felt rather tacky, but that's probably because I'm use to a gloss. I loved the colour. It lasted well (great when you're out as you don't have to keep reapplying), but unfortunately it did transfer easily (cups, glasses, water bottle...) I will continue to use it, as I love the look.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

erm...no. I know, I know. I'm bad. I know it.

view results

Review of the Day
petinar
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Regime
I was so excited to try all three of the components in the Revitalift regime at once to… more »