Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 5.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 5.0/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 5.0/5

Hourglass Cosmetics Ambient Lighting Powder Review

Overall rating:
5.0/5

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder A wardrobe of six universal finishing powders that recreate the most exquisitely flattering light—from ethereal moonlight to luminous candlelight. Each powder captures, diffuses and softens surrounding light with groundbreaking photoluminescent technology. Available in 6 shades.

• Powders mimic six universally flattering light sources, from morning light to candlelight, allowing clients to build a wardrobe of options—not unlike having a personal lighting technician at your disposal.
• By manipulating and filtering out harsh light, powders conceal skin imperfections, pores and wrinkles.
• State-of-the-art formula delivers a multi-dimensional luminescence to every skin tone, making it appear softer, younger and perfectly lit.
• Universal powders make them suitable for every skin tone, while each can be worn day and night.
• The finishing powders enhance skin in any type of light, including flash photography.

RRP: $50.00

Availability: Selected Online Retailers

Website: http://www.hourglasscosmetics.com/

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
23rd March, 2017 at 1:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing, natural finish powder

I have this in ethereal light and dim light and I love them both! Such a lightweight powder, that sets your base really well without looking powdery or heavy. It adds a subtle radiance to your skin, and doesn't make my skin feel dry and mask like as some powders can.

I also LOVE this as a touch up powder, as it doesn't cake or look heavy, even when applied over a full face which has been on all day! Takes down the excess shine and adds a slight boots of colour without being too much

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th October, 2016 at 8:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Yes yes YES yES YEs

I cannot rave about this product enough OH MY LIFE. I purchased the ambient lighting palette with the 3 powders first and just had to purchase the full size of dim light because it is BOMB.

I use this as an all over face powder over my base and serrrrriiiioooouuusly. You can't understand till you try it but it gives my skin such an air brushed, natural looking glow and evens out my complexion amazingly. I don't know, it's magical. So damm good.

It is pricey but it does last a LONG time. I used the one in my palette every day for a good few months and still haven't hit pan on it and so I'm sure the big one will last a decent amount of time.

There's also just something about the Hourglass packaging and everything that feels so luxurious. Ok I'm done. 10/10, 100% yes yes yessssss.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th September, 2016 at 8:28 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A must have

I was given the ambient lighting playlet for Christmas and I'm so glad I was given it. To begin with I only really used the blush but have since fallen in love with diffused light for setting my under eyes and dim light for setting my whole face.

These powders gives my skin a soft air brushed glow and it leaves me looking youthful and healthy even on the days I have struggled out of bed.

When ever I wear these powder I get so many compliments on my skin. I al looking forward to adding more of these to my collection in the future.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st August, 2016 at 6:20 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Cannot live without

I'd had the ambient lighting palette for a while and hadn't even considered getting any more Hourglass powders until I started seeing KirstyJ raving about her Diffused Light powder. A powder with a yellow tint that helps combat redness? Yes please!

So I picked it up. It certainly wasn't $50 - I'm assuming this is the American price? Mine was $76, and worth every penny. It's a good sized powder and is the same beautiful, silky formula that all ambient powders are.

I use this powder every single day to "finish" my makeup. I don't use this instead of a setting powder as I find it really does work best as a "finishing powder" once all your makeup, including setting powder, has been applied. The only thing I apply after this powder is my highlight.

This powder really is the perfect tone for my fair, redness prone skin. It helps combat the redness and gives it such a healthy finish. If I don't use this powder my makeup looks so much more cakey by the end of the day, it keeps my cake face looking more like skin. I love it and will definitely repurchase!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Glad to have been a good influence :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th August, 2015 at 10:02 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I don't need but I want

I have Radiant Light, Dim Light and Luminious Light and will probably be buying the rest in the near future. The effect of these $50 powders is so subtle that I really can't justify buying them. BUT I think it's a combination of the pretty packaging, pretty product and pretty shades that makes me go back for more.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
9th May, 2015 at 8:23 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Perfect glow

I watched people use thei I'm YouTube tutorials all the time and their skin went from dull to fresh and glowing and I was deeply jealous, I ordeded the dim lite and fell in love with the way my skin looked with this powder on. I gently blot it on my face especially in the areas I want that natural looking glow and my complexion immediately transforms ! I'm so happy with this setting powder !

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
4th May, 2015 at 8:51 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
In Love!

Ive owned Dim Light for about 5 months now and I must say it was so worth the splurge. I used this everyday and it doesn't even look like I made any dent in the pan since I need is a small amount. I use Dim Light as my finishing powder and apply it lightly with a tulip brush all over my face. I also use this on days that I have little to know makeup on. I always put a pore filling primer on with or with out makeup so applying this on top adds the extra touch to blurring my pores and fine lines. I dont ever want to go with out this powder.

Tips: Buy it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
19th March, 2015 at 8:48 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Obsessed!!!

I've been using Diffused Light for the past month, and I can safely say that this has made a huge difference to the look of my skin. It looks radiant and fresh and has a beautiful brightness about it that I've never achieved with a product before.

The Packaging: It comes packaged in a weighty case which is a bronzy colour. It's pretty and shiny and has the Hourglass logo on the bottom right hand corner. It has a mirror inside which is handy, and the powder looks absolutely stunning - like a soft pillow of delight! What I love the most about the packaging is how it has a 'tab' on the bottom right hand corner to make it so easy to open. Oh, and when you close it, I'm sure it whispers the words 'luxury'...

The Product: The powder to begin with has a slight curve to it, and looks oh so soft to touch. You get a lot of product for your money, and after the first use, it's obvious that it will last you a LONG time, even if you're like me and plan on using it every day. You get 10 grams of product, which again I think is very good value for the results it gives.

On The Skin: Diffused Light works perfectly on my light skin tone. It brightens my face and helps to smooth out the couple of patches of pigmentation I have on my cheeks. It doesn't settle into any lines which means that it works really well under the eyes if you need to set concealer or corrector. The pores around my nose area are maybe a bit larger than the norm? but I don't notice that this makes them look any more noticeable. I also have combination skin, and find that this powder - even though it is radiant, doesn't make me look shiny. Instead it leaves a beautiful soft radiance. It feels very light, and always amazes me when I put it on as my last step because it really is like adding a filter to your face!

I'm definitely going to be checking out the 'Wardrobe' next, then it'll be onto the blusher and concealer...

If you've been trying to decide on one of these powders, I seriously can't recommend it enough! Just do your research properly so that you pick the absolute best fit for your skin tone / type.

Tips: For Diffused Light: Use as your last step in your makeup routine, and apply with a light hand. A little goes a long way!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
1st February, 2015 at 12:34 pm
3 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
You'd understand if you tried this

My sister thinks I'm nuts. When I'd talk about how much I wanted the Hourglass Ambient Lighting palette she'd bring up the price and say 'it's just pressed powder', I felt one of us must have a problem and I couldn't accept that it was me. So I brought the palette. And I have to say, she's the one missing out.

The palette contains 3 shades, Dim Light, Incandescent and Radiant Light. I'm pretty sure Incandescent is the only shade limited to the palette, but the other 2 are sold in seperate compacts.

The palette packaging is very sleek but sturdy. It has a shiny bronze case with a simple gold Hourglass logo. It has a click closure and a mirror the goes the whole length of the compact. Inside sit the 3 beautiful powders, each being 3.3g.... I imagined they were bigger, let's be real, I wish they were as I'm going to cry when I hit pan.

From the left you have:

Dim Light, my mist used. I love it as a setting powder, under the eyes and everywhere! These powders give your skin the most amazing finish.

Incandescent is what I love to use as a highlighter, on top of the cheek bones, nose and Cupid's bow. It has the most beautiful subtle glow without any glitters.

Radiant Light Is the darkest shade, it's beautiful for adding very subtle warmth to the entire face.

I'm so happy I purchased this palette, it hasn't disappointed me at all!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

I want this sooo bad! It's a shame that they're not larger, but I guess it is a good way to try each of the colours out...They will probably last ages though!!! x

Agreed! I can't put my finger on what the effect is but I know I wouldn't be without it.

I'm sooo keen to try these, but the price always puts me off. But you've convinced me, this is going to the top of my wishlist (after no-buy Feb haha). :) Great review! x

Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th December, 2014 at 10:56 am
5 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Subtle but Stunning.

After reading many, many reviews about how amazing this is, I finally bit the bullet and purchased the Ambient Lighting Palette. It is one of the most expensive products I own and I was super hesitant about it, as I have dry skin and am very cautious about using a powder on my face.

The packaging of this is absolutely obscenely gorgeous. It is packaged in a kind of burned/blackened bronze compact and has a large mirror. The only thing I dislike about the packaging is that it collects fingerprints like crazy. Aside from that, it looks, and feels extremely high end.

The powder itself feels soft to the touch but isn't dusty. I like to press this all over my face to set my foundation and to add a little glow.

This powder is extremely subtle - there is no risk of looking like a glitterball when using it. When you first apply it, you may think that it hasn't done anything to your face. Step back and have a look - it adds the most natural, gorgeous glow to your skin. It really does look like you are glowing from the inside.

The first few times I used this, I had male coworkers ask me if something had changed, as my skin was glowing! For dudes to even see that my skin was glowing... I was amazed! Hahaha.

As mentioned above, I have dry skin and was concerned that this would make it look (and feel), worse. It doesn't. It is so finely milled that it doesn't make my skin look patchy.

This is a pricey product... but if you are looking for something to treat yourself then I highly recommend getting it. It really is worth every cent.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Hahaha you can be glad they didn't ask if you were pregnant because you're glowing!! I love your review! I'm definitely going to buy myself one in the new year xx

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
How Do You Apply Your Base?

How Do You Apply Your Base?

Nope, I use something else, I'll tell you...

view results

Review of the Day
Astariuss
Better than I was Expecting!
The first thing that grabbed my attention was the packaging it was pretty sleek for a drugstore… more »