Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017
Stila In the Light Palette
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 5.0/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.8/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

Stila In the Light Palette

Overall rating:
4.9/5

The In The Light palette is a beautiful collection of Stila's award-winning eye shadows in wearable, neutral shades for every skintone that can be worn wet or dry.

The palette also includes an exclusive Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in Damsel, a matte chocolate brown, and a 6-page lookbook with detailed how-to tips and tricks.

Shades include:

  • Bare - matte ivory shade
  • Kitten
  • Bliss - matte beige pink
  • Sunset - shimmery canyon pink
  • Sandstone - matte light coco
  • Bubbly - pale gold shimmer
  • Gilded Gold - golden brown with shimmer
  • Luster - dark aubergine with gold shimmer
  • Night Sky - blue with shimmer
  • Ebony - black

BONUS: Palette also includes an exclusive Smudge Stick shade in Damsel, a matte brown.

Pack Size: 14g

RRP: $81.00

Availability: Mecca Cosmetica stores, online

Website: www.stilacosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
20th April, 2016 at 7:18 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful nude palette

I bought this palette second hand so I don't have the lookbook it comes with and the eyeliner was pretty much done too. There was and still is plenty of shadow for me to play around with though!

This comes in pretty basic packaging. The whole palette is actually made of cardboard. It is quite thick though and doesn't feel flimsy at all. I do feel for the price, the packaging should be better. In saying that though, these in the... palettes are discontinued now. I think they have redone the colours slightly and put them in better packaging too so that's a bonus. This has a decent magnetised lid and when you open it up, you will see the beautiful shadows and also a small mirror.

The shadows in here are beautiful to just look at. You get some mattes and shimmers, neutrals and a bit of colour, darks and lights. I feel like you have a really good 10 colours to work with to make all kinds of different looks from very basic nude eyes to full on smokey clubbing eyes. I've really enjoyed playing around with this palette and have not been bored at all while using this every day for almost a month. My favourite colour in this is probably Bliss. It's just a light dusky, matte pink but it makes a beautiful transition shade for pretty much any look and I think I've used this every day. This palette also features a very highly talked about Stila shadow which is Kitten. It's a very shimmery, champagne colour. It is of course beautiful all over the lid. I also love sunset, which is a warm pinky shimmer that I use all over the lid as well.

You get a generous amount of each shadow, 1.4gms. I do have slight dips in a couple of shades but I'm no where near hitting pan yet. These are all quite powdery though so you need to tap off the excess before applying, I don't have any issue with fallout as long as I tap first. They all blend out really nicely and last well on my lid as long as I wear primer (I have slightly hooded lids so any shadow creases on me if I don't wear primer!). The colour in the pan is generally what you get on your lid too, with the exception of gilded gold. This colour looks like a glittery brown in the pan but I get a more red brown colour on my lid. I still like the colour, it just doesn't look the same as in the palette.

I do think this is a gorgeous palette, I would definitely recommend it especially if you don't have many neutral palettes. It can be found on special on some sites, you just might need to look around or google it to find a stockist.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
26th July, 2015 at 1:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Stila In the Light Palette

Super pretty shades. Amazing pigmentation and super creamy and easy to apply. Great variety of neutral shades perfect for everyday use. Pricy but totally worth the money. Cheaper alternative to the naked palettes and just as good in my opinion.

Tips: Buy it off asos.com for much cheaper.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
16th June, 2015 at 9:04 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing Everyday Palette

I had been tossing up on which palette to invest my money in. I wanted something easy to work with that was reasonably priced, and mostly neutrals because im no expert when i comes to eyemakeup.

Firstly, the packaging in underwhelming. I'll be honest. Its simple, and made out of cardboard which has a pretty coating, but still.. its cardboard. For spend around $50 on a palette, i would expect it to come in more durable packaging. This just means i don't want to take it travelling because i'm scared it will bend, or get damaged.

I won't go into description about the colours, because its already mentioned above, but i will say some colors have beautiful pigmentation, and a lovely buttery consistency. Other colors aren't as pigmented or buttery, but are still very usable. The colours blend really well, and so you can create a variety of looks with ease.

The colours are long-lasting. I do tend to use a primer with this eye shadow, just because its habit. When i come home at the end of the day, my eye shadow still looks the same as it did in the morning, so clearly it has some long-lasting staying power.

This palette also comes with a bonus, which is an eyeliner in Damsel. Its a great bonus because its a dark brown eyeliner, which is creamy and smooth to apply and it has long lasting power. Triple threat.

Overall, a great palette, and a great place to start out. I use this palette most days! I'm already seeing dents in some colours

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Thanks Amyxxoo! Such a lovely palette and affordable too. I think it has been discontinued now though :(

What a shame about the packaging. It sounds beautiful, I enjoyed your review :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
25th April, 2015 at 11:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I came into the light...

Kitten had called to me for a long time (a Stila eyeshadow colour) but I had tried to resist. Then a friend said that this palette would be discontinued, so I toddled off to have a nosey. And I fell in love. I thought once I had the Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette, I would forsake all others. But I'm so glad I didn't. This is my go to palette at the moment.

Kitten is definitely my favourite shade, but they are all amazingly pigmented and all colours that I would use. (Bubbly and Sunset up there with Kitten for me) The shadows blend really easily and don't have any fall out. I love having a palette that is simple and yet versatile. It also comes with a smudge stick in Damsel, which I now frequently use as well.

I thought the packaging might annoy me a little, it's a cardboard flip box. But I actually quite like it.

Would definitely recommend getting this before it disappears...and the other "In The..." ones too ;)

Tips: Try them foiled as well, gorgeous

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th April, 2015 at 5:15 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Hell yassssss <3

Wow! So I recently was kindly gifted this gorgeous palette over a month ago, and I have been wearing it on my eyeballs when I have been wearing make up everyday! I've been eyeing up this palette for so so long so once I was gifted it, it felt like my dreams had come true :') Every single one of the shadows that come in the palette are so stunning and can be easily dressed up or down for everyday or night time makeup looks! I tend to go for the matte cream, light and chocolate brown colours on my eyes for a more everyday look, but will add the amazing glittery shades 'kitten' or 'bubbly' on the lid with the matte black on the outer v for a more night time makeup look. these eyeshadows are so so so easy to apply and blend out, and are so so pigmented! The eyeliner that comes with the palette is so creamy and easy to apply, with an simple applicator and looks so nice when smudged out along the lower lash line. Overall this palette is flawless, and definitlely worth the money. I brought mine from Mecca Cosmetica for $62 :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
18th March, 2015 at 6:01 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Treat your eyes to a touch of luxury

I was "enabled" into buying this month's and months ago. I had no idea what the Stila brand was. Hadn't heard of it. Was just told I needed it. As I'm a good girl I said on and brought it!

Wow heck! It turned up perfectly wrapped and in perfect condition. The 1 and only thing that I don't love is the cardboard Packaging. It's not sexy! BUT it's ok cause as soon as you open it and use these shadows you will fall head over heels! So you flip the lid up and inside is a mirror on the top side with protective film. There is the plastic sheet protecting the shadows with the names on.

The shadows!! These are like rum to the coke, fish for the chips, chocolate to the cake for your eyes!! There are 10 colours. Light to black. Mattes and shimmers. Oh how I love the shimmers.ok now I no this is bad but they just make me need and want to dip my finger in and swatch them on the tip. They feel so creamy as your finger goes over the colour.

Anyway I'm not going to describe all the colours as they are listed above (and to keep my rambling down!) What I will describe is how amazing they are. So I apply with a brush and I don't need to use a primer or anything. These are so creamy they stick to my eye all day. They go on so easy, so smoothly and the important thing is they don't drop below my eye or flake off.

You can blend these so easy. You can apply so it's a light cover or foil them to a intense colour. (That's wetting the brush to apply to your skin) I like to use a angled brush and use these colours along my lash lines. Both top and bottom like a eyeliner. They last all day like this as well.

Kitten is a stunning shadow to use even as a highlight on your cheeks.

The pencil that comes with this is creamy Not a pencil pencil. It's easy to blend to use as a tool for smokey eyes.

You need this palette to make your eyes feel like they are amazing. Wee diamonds sparkling in the sky....

Tips: Find it and buy it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Great review, thanks :)

i just fall in love stila eyes palette....sure when i'll find it. i wll buy it

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th March, 2015 at 9:50 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
FAVE PALLETTE

I bought this gorgeous thing off beauty bay during their black friday sale and paid around $35 NZD for it and I have to say - this palette is my absolute fave, I dont know what I did before I had it!!

The packaging is slightly prone to damage around the sides of the cardboard but mirror is a good size. Inside are 10 beautiful, highly pigmented and buttery shades that work together so well to create so many different looks! They blend together nicely and the different shades would compliment every eye colour. You can easily create a simple day look, or go heavier for night time looks - seriously the possibilities are endless. Also, as the colours are highly pigmented, the eyeshadows would last a long time so you would be sure to get good use out of it.

However, the smudge stick that came with the palette unfortunately was faulty /: The part where you rotate to move the product up is stuck so I can't make use of it. One of the downsides of buying online I guess would be that it be a hassle to exchange the product.

Overall, I would def recommend this product! It was my first high end palette and worth every cent I paid for it!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
22nd December, 2014 at 12:39 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
My everyday eyeshadow palette.

I love this palette! The shades are smooth and pigmented (though the shade Bare is not so much) and has a good range of mattes and shimmers. I use all the colours in here regularly bar the blue grey one (just not my thing). I use the shade Kitten as a cheek highlight and it's beautiful. I think for a high end palette this is reasonably priced especially for the amount of shadows. The liner that comes with it is fantastic as well, super pigmented and long lasting, and a lovely chocolate brown.

Tips: I got mine off beautybay.com

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.3/5
14th December, 2014 at 5:41 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
LOVE

I have never met a more amazing piece of make up in my life!!!! the colours are all amazing (my favourites are the glitter ones especially kitten & bubbly). An overall great palette!!

Although why it is not gaining full marks is because of the eyeliner. I thought it would be totally worth the money as you got this as a bonus, but to my dismay the wind up bit on it immediately broke. No more smudge stick for Jenna *sigh*

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th October, 2014 at 9:36 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A must have palette

I love this palette. I decided to treat myself to it. To be honest I only brought this due to the fact that the shade "Kitten" is in this palette, never the less I was excited to try all of the other beautiful shades too.

The packaging is very basic. In the inside above the mirror is the quote: "Believe in the beauty of the future" -Sarah Lucero. On the other side is the eye shadows, 10 Gorgeous shades. I really like all of the orangy/brown shades the most. My 2 fave eye shadows are:

KITTEN is my absolute fave! I love kitten because it makes your eyes stand out and shimmer like no tomorrow! You can also use Kitten as a highlighter on your cheekbones for a Victoria's Secret glow!. Very versatile.

SUNSET: A gorgeous rusty orange/bronze color. It is such a gorgeous shade which makes my blue eyes pop!

I use this palette daily. It is worth the splurge and these eye shadows are long lasting and great quality.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »