Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Maybelline Curvitude Angled Liquid Eyeliner Pen Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.7/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

Maybelline Curvitude Angled Liquid Eyeliner Pen Review

Overall rating:
4.7/5

Curvitude™ Liner tightly follows the curve of the eye contour, filling in between lashes for a visibly fuller lash line

RRP: $19.99

Availability: Farmers, selected Pharmacies, Countdown, Kmart, The Warehouse, New World and Pak N Save

Websitewww.maybelline.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
17th February, 2018 at 7:13 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Easy to use

I hate applying liquid eyeliner but I want it on my eyes. This Maybelline Curvitude Angled Liquid Eyeliner Pen made me apply eyeliner every day! This is very easy to use and makes a very thin line for an everyday look. The only thing I don't like about it(minor) is that it dries shiny and not matte. I love makeup products when it dries matte because I have oily/combination skin type. Overall, I like it and would definitely use it again because of its convenience.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
15th February, 2018 at 6:34 pm
4 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Super fine super black

This arrives in a blister pack but thanks to the addition of colour de jour, rose gold matching the branding on the pen it looks pretty stylish. The cap is a screw on rather than push on which for some reason bamboozles me every time! That said it gives a very tight seal which means this felt tip style liner should last for ages. I'm not convinced that the bent design makes it any easier to apply than a standard straight pen like my beloved Rimmel Precise Eyeliner. Where the Maybelline does score over the Rimmel is that the tip of the pen is incredibly fine and very controllable. So from subtle day lines to fuller evening looks the pen will deliver. It is also a very very black ink. It dries pretty quick though like all liquid liners it will smudge onto your eye lids before it is completely dry. I tested it both over primer and shadow and straight onto skin and it stayed put in the current Auckland humidity. Over primer, even at the end of a long hot day it still looks good. I suspect part of the wear is due to my reasonably deep set eyes and slightly hooded lids.Obviously having only had it a short time I don't know how long the pen will continue delivering the clean full black. This seems to be shared downside of all felt tip style eyeliners is that they dry and lose the intensity of colour.

Tips: Make sure you allow the line to dry before blinking. Probably best over primer.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Great review! Thanks for noting the Auckland humidity :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th February, 2018 at 10:00 pm
3 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Curvitude gives attitude

I have never been the best at applying liquid liner, one side would be thick and take up half my eyelid and the other would be a stretched out cat eye all the way to my...........eyebrow haha.

With Curvitude though it is literally the cutest packaging ever! Love love love the fact it self liquids (that makes sense right?!? Haha) there is no need to apply abit then put brush back in bottle and do another bit. This liner allows to draw your liner freely as if it were a marker. Love it!

The curve at the end of the liner has a fine tip point which is so easy to get near the corner of lash line, tilt the liner to the side to get a flatter/thicker line. Easy to wipe away if you make a mistake or extend the line more than you intended.

Nice and dark and simple to remove..NO MORE PANDA EYES ALLOWED.

A must have in your makeup kit x

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

YASSSS no panda eyes! #so2017 haha

I need a few attempts to get perfect line on my eyes, very excited to try this product! Definitely love that NO MOrE PANDA EYES!

Sounds like an excellent product to have a play with! Love the fact that you said it’s dark but still easy to remove. Yay for no panda eyes!

Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th February, 2018 at 9:24 pm
5 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Fear not!

Ok so I’m a convert! I love the look of perfect liquid eyeliner but I’ve tried many different ways (gel, pencil, liquid) to make it work for me and it’s always a shambles.

The difference with this product is that it clings to your lash line so you don’t get an awful gap that you have to attack over and over again. The angled applicator is also really useful for doing the curves of the eye by using the applicator on its side.

Don’t get me wrong - I tried to do a cat eye flick (after I’d gained some confidence) and that was still a disaster but I feel much more confident with this applicator and formula to give it another go and actually be able to walk out the door with it on some time!

I’d definitely recommend this for eyeliner first timers or people that have never quite got it like me!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Awesome! I have blonde roots on my lashes and I hate that awful gap thing (looks messy/weird). Might give this a go :)

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th February, 2018 at 5:14 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Curvitude Angled Liquid Eyeliner Pen

This is potentially one of the best liquid eyeliner pens I've used so far! The angle of the pen makes application so so easy, as well as having a really nice brush tip to go with it. The liquid formula went on easy and smoothly, it lasted really well, very resistant to water and smudging. It has a nice tapered top on it so you can easily do either a thin line or build for a more thick and dramatic look. All in all I would highly recommend this to anyone beginner or advanced.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
13th February, 2018 at 1:09 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Curvitude Angled Liquid Eyeliner Pen

It's been awhile since I have lined my eyelids with stark black liner (I'm 40 so tend to go with subtle browns & greens). However, in my twenties and early thirties I lined them every day so it was quite fun to reminisce an old makeup routine. The tip is great - the curve is very clever. Having the pen angled doesn't obscure your view when looking in the mirror! The liquid flows through the tip beautifully and I was pretty stoked that I was able to do my first application with no mistakes. After applying my mascara (which I apply by the ton) my eyes were poppin! My lashes looked full and defined. I will definitely use this pen again and have enjoyed trialling it.

Tips: No need to press hard. The liquid is very consistent when applying :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
13th February, 2018 at 8:12 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Good for liner newbies

It certainly looks different to any other eyeliner I've ever owned. A liquid pen with an angled tip to that you can hold it with ease and ensure the pen is pointing down towards your lashes as close as you can get to your lid. I found it easy to use and the pen tip delivered plenty of ink, but not too much that it didn't leave a good thin line. I imagine you could build it up quite easily. Due to the angled down tip i found that my line stayed close to my lashes, however I wouldn't say it filled in between exactly but that could be the way i sued it and didn't pay close enough attention to what I was trying to do. The ink is a good solid black and long lasting and doesn't smudge once dry. It came off with my micellar water after a few swipes. Happy to use this again as I felt it was a quicker and easier alternative to pencil, however would not give a smudge looked if that's what you were going for. You would, however, be able to do good crisp lines and flicks with this pen.

Tips: Keep fingers away from the tip end, as ink can leak out.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th February, 2018 at 9:20 pm
8 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
You took the words right out of my mouth!

Someone else took the words right out of my mouth here when they said this is an ‘eyeliner for DUMMIES’.

In my view it is literally foolproof. Now, I’m not a big winged eyeliner girl but I like me a very fine line along the top of my lashes a technique I learnt from a certain Mr Wayne Goss. Pencils really annoy me as I find I can rarely get the line as fine as I would like and thus generally look like i’ve punched myself in the face.

I’ve tried eyeliner pens before with limited success which i’m in no way attributing to the products. In each and every case it was definitely a case of operator error.

This product however changes the game completely because…it is bent! Yes you heard right BENT. The head of the pen bends down which literally means you can see exactly what you are doing and you can control the pen super easily. I have been able to draw super fine lines which I love.

I find the product once on is smudge proof and with just a little bit more pressure you can make the line as thick as you like.

Small detail too, but it has a screw on cap. Now that may seem a bit strange as I can recall the last time I had a cosmetic with one of those, but it’s great as the likelihood of losing it and the product drying out is minimise.

Love, Love, Love!

Tips: Get one! You won't regret it.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Great informative review, I like how you mention it has a screw cap, itll be less likely lost in my clumsy hands :)

good review -I really want one now !

Sounds ideal to replace the Za one???

Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th February, 2018 at 9:44 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
What is this sorcery!?

I personally would rather eat hot tar than deal with putting liquid eyeliner on as part of my everyday makeup routine... this product however is set to change that. No more stretching my eye out to get them lashes out of the way and hoping for the best when I release the hold! This bad boy allows me to reach right over those lashes and create a masterpiece on an uninhibited canvas. I didn't even have to go back to the first eye to play the dreaded game of 'even it out roulette'. Great colour, long lasting, no mess or regret. No negative feedback, just love and light for this champion

Tips: Buy it

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
11th February, 2018 at 3:27 pm
8 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A liquid eyeliner that works for me

I love eyeliner but hate the struggle to master a simple line across the top of my lashes. I was excited to try this product and see if I could return to loving liquid eye liner

Opening the packet the shape of the pen was intriguing. Taking the cap off, the tip itself is different from most I've seen, in that it has a rounded part in the middle, almost as if it's there to help manoeuvre/flex the tip to how you'd like your line - be it thick or thin. The package promised me a refined and precise line - this I had to see.

First use of this pen, I started at my inner eye, using the very very end of the pen tip.. I was nervous about black liquid liner so I was trying hard, not to press hard, and it lined my inner eye as it promised, with a fine lash line, and the line seemed great - straight, not too many 'judder-bars' either. I continued over the rest of the lash line, with a slightly heavier but more confident hand, and again I was getting a relatively straight line, and not too heavy. It went on very smoothly and effortlessly

I'm only guessing, but in using this pen, the shape of the pen itself seems hook the pen tip over your lashes so you're not trying to work through your lashes with the eyeliner - it's a little bit genius in my amateur eye-lining opinion. My whole battle with a straight line is working around my eyelashes! This pen definitely overcomes that.

Removal later on, I found it washed off easily - but its not waterproof, so that probably helps with removal. I didn't have panda eyes the next day so must have removed quite well.

The next day I tried the eye liner again, and it was really great! I even strayed from my usual safe thin line and attempted a bit of a bolder line towards the outer edges, and it looked really great. Didn't look bumpy like my usual, and even the odd bump was very easily tidied up without lining half my lid to fix up the smallest bump.... Super impressed. I imagine if you loved winged eye-liner, this product would be amazing for it.

Wear through the day - better than the pencil I'd been using, but it definitely had some fade after about 5 or so hours. It fades to almost a gun metal grey on me, which in all honesty wasn't awful for me - I quite like that it eased off a little from the strong black line out to a blue/grey. My eyes still looked lined as they started out - and it was only a really close look in the mirror that I noticed the colour/tone change.

This pen gives you a bit of confidence if eye-liner has been your weaker part of your makeup routine. The black colour is lovely too - not too over-bearing, but not subtle either. This is definitely a great product for anyone that struggles with eyeliner - especially liquid eyeliner! I really love this product, and given I tend to keep my eyelid neutral and just use a liner and mascara, this product really works for me. I will keep it in my routine, and throw out all the other liners!!

Tips: Start with a lighter hand for a thin line, and build on it. A heavier hand will give a heavier line. With the fine tip - its relatively easy to go back and lightly tidy up any line.

Hold your skin with the other hand for a steadier canvas to work with.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

You've got me convinced, MissDilly - great review!

really good review

Great review, thanks.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

YES! A million times YES!

view results

Review of the Day
Dii
Garnier BB Cream Nude
I am really pleased that I got the opportunity to put this BB cream to test thanks to the great people… more »