Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

MAYBELLINE Tattoo Brow is a game-changing peel-off gel-tint that leaves brows perfectly defined and evenly filled for up to 3 days. Enriched with Royal Jelly & Aloe Vera, brows are left tinted and conditioned, gradually and evenly fading over time.

RRP: $24.99

Availability: Farmers, selected Pharmacies, Countdown, Kmart, The Warehouse, New World and Pak N Save

Website: www.farmers.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th February, 2018 at 7:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Stays for days!!

I have used brow tattoos before but I can say that Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint is very amazing! I love that I chose the color that matches my skin tone and hair. Not all brow tattoo stays after taking a bath, but this brow tattoo does.

I love that I can easily glide it on my brows and after peeling it, it looks so nice. It really stays for 3 days but it is very lighter at 3rd day and you might want to touch it up already.

Overall, I really love it and I have been using it for days now. I touch up after 2 days because I like my brows to look fuller but you might like it when it's lighter.

Tips: Make it thick while applying so it would last for 3 days

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
15th February, 2018 at 6:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
An interesting idea

Arriving in an elegantly metallic bronze lidded mascara type tube with a nail polish style brush, the Brow Tattoo Gel Tint will not look out of place on the dresser. Opening the lid there is a slightly chemically smell that made me initially hesitant but my sensitive skin appears to be fine with the product. The product goes on easily but does need to be applied more thickly than you might think to be able to peel it as shown on the exterior sleeve. I found the Light Brown colour slightly too light for my taste and a touch on the orange side. That said, for a casual beach-y situation I would be able to go without eyebrow pencil and not look like I had no eyebrows! The having to remember not to use cleanser on the eyebrows for 24 hours is a complete pain and I keep forgetting meaning I have no good idea on how long the product really last. The fade is gentle and even so it doesn't really matter. I could see this being handy to pop for travel when trying to find somewhere to get tints done could be a problem. At home, I found it just messy and annoying enough that I probably wouldn't bother.

Tips: Make sure to apply thickly so it is easy to remove. For best colour leave on for at least 20 minutes and remember not to cleanse your eyebrows!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
14th February, 2018 at 9:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A tattoo I wouldn't get

This little brow babe is not for me. The packaging is pretty and good size to put in your handbag/travel with.

The first time I applied this I had no idea how much to use. (instructions should be more in depth) I applied a thin amount in the shape I wanted and left for 20mins as it says. As I go to just 'pull' it off and have 'fantastic' brows! I was instead left with little bits that im trying to lightly scrap out of my brows. Really seemed like that annoying skin peel after getting burnt haha. Only to have the lightest faded brow outline. So I reapplied and this time used alot more product, (only after seeing the ad that shows how this is applied in a thick layer.) again left for 20mins and the same thing happend. I could see how this product would be perfect had it worked on me, Because the outline was nice but I did need to still fill them in because it didnt do this.

Are my brows not worthy enough? haha

I will say though it does last a couple of days even with washing my face etc.

For me this is a no go and I will continue to do them myself.

Tips: Apply a thick layer

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th February, 2018 at 9:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I can see this being a lifesaver!

I was so nervous to use this product actually because it says that it can stay on for days - so what if I mess it up and my face looks ridiculous for days right?? My fears were quickly eased when I just gave it a go. It’s very very easy to use. The applicator gives you a slightly runny paste texture and you just basically paint it along your natural brow line in the shape that you’d like. I didn’t do it in one swipe because I was being quite careful but once you’re used to it you could definitely do that.

You leave the product on for about 20 minutes while it dries. I think in future I will leave it on for longer because the product didn’t peel off as easily as I thought it would - it didn’t stick or pull which was great but it just came off in little bits.

The result was really great. I usually fill my brows in with a medium brown powder and the dark brown wasn’t too dark for me!

The results definitely fade after you wash your face and shower, which is expected, so for me it didn’t last the full 3 days with complete brows that I was expecting. However there was definitely colour in them for the whole time and I didn’t feel as though I needed to fill in my brows with brow powder during that time. For me, that’s the best thing. I usually fill in my brows everyday and if I can save myself one step in my mornings then that’s a definite win for me! I would recommend giving this a go if you like to fill in your brows daily as a replacement or if you’re in between brow appointments.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th February, 2018 at 5:23 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint

I was a bit dubious when I first received this product, because of past experiences with brow products in general. I have Light brown eyebrows that also have blonde mixed in along with blonde hair so I've found that the lightest colours in a lot of brow products look way too dark for me and not in the least natural (which is something that is important for me). I got the light brown colour which I was worried would be too dark so when I applied this, I only put just enough on to make sure I didn't end up with slug brows. This meant it didn't exactly peel off like the instructions suggest, but I put that down to me not layering it on. I ended up with the PERFECT coloured brows! the blondes blended in seamlessly with the light brown hairs and they look so natural! This product is uber easy to use and produces a really nice result - my brows looked tidy for a few days afterwards which is such a win because it's a low maintenance and affordable product but it gives off a high end finish. All in all I will definitely keep using this regularly, it's so nice waking up with good brows.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

It sounds good, but are you sure it's easy to use? does it matter if you don't get it exactly in the right place? This kind of stuff makes me nervous but is the type of product I'd like to try? if you can wipe it off and start again it might be ok...

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th February, 2018 at 12:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint - Dark Brown

Next to teeth eyebrows are the most important feature we have on our face. They are so important that we should frame them for display purposes! I have sported multiple shades of blonde hair over my years, opted for different colour glasses frames and now & then gone all out with a season hot colour on my eyelids - but never ever have I messed with the colour of my dark brown almost black eyebrows. They are my presentation frames. OK I will admit I have over waxed and over tweezed my eyebrows more than I can count and sadly they no longer rival Brooke Shields, but I'm not at the stage that I need to draw them on daily... phew! (not yet anyway). So every 4 to 6 weeks my beautician tints my eyebrows. The first couple of weeks the colour is bold & I love it. But as with most things it starts to fade so i then add a bit of brow shade into my morning makeup routine. Admittedly I was very hesitant in applying this to my eyebrows but after talking my 16 year old daughter into giving it a go with me (and who prides her being on her eyebrows) I was happy to give it a whirl. The packaging is quite luxe, it's always nice when something looks expensive but really isn't. The instructions for application were simple to understand and applying the product was quite fun! We took out time putting a good thick coating on our eyebrows and wiping any excess off with a handy cotton tip. The instructions state to leave on for at least 20 minutes so we decided to leave it on for 45. We then got to the exciting part which was peeling off the dried gel (which didn't hurt in the slightest). WOW - totally impressed! The tint was perfect - we were both smiling from ear to ear with the results. It stayed dark for probably 2 to 3 days then started to fade but having the convenience of being able to tint your own eyebrows so simply and effectively far outweighs the tint endurance. This is now a staple product for us both.

Tips: Have a cotton tip handy to wipe away any excess after application :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th February, 2018 at 9:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
If I had to choose one product to use like ever

I think this would be it.

To set the scene I have blonde eyebrows! The irony of it is I spend hundreds, THOUSANDS probably getting my hair blonde and yet…I have to colour my eyebrows the exact opposite.

Long story short if I don’t colour my eyebrows I look like i’m mentally challenged. Thus i’ve been tinting them since well, whenever.

Usually I do it myself at home with a professionally sourced product, but there’s more than a bit of faffing around by the time you do the mixing, developing, applying and cleaning up, and my eyebrows bleach out really quickly too so I really need to do it every week to keep the depth of colour that I like.

This product has changed my life! You read it correctly. CHANGED MY LIFE.

It looks kind like a mascara but the brush is more like a nail colour brush. You paint it on your eyebrows (beware it looks quite alarming when it’s on) leave for 20-30 minutes, peel them off and Voila!! Just like that!

I love this product as it’s quick and easy to apply. I’ve got better at it as I go along and have managed to adjust the thickness and length of the application to suit me. I find it lasts a good 3-4 days so slightly shorter than tinting them the traditional way for me but the ease of application negates that small point BIG TIME.

Why hasn’t someone thought of this before? I wish they’d come up with an eyelash one! If I could give it 10/5 I would !

Tips: Yes a few. 1. Don't be alarmed at the colour when it goes on. I had the dark brown and it goes on like a black tar.

2. Be generous, with your application. If you make it too thin then you won't be able to peel it off.

3. Use a clean spoolie or old mascara brush to brush out any excess.

4. If you make a boo boo just clean it up with the tip of your nail while it's still wet or use a q tip with some Micellar Water or similar.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
12th February, 2018 at 12:38 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Impressive but can be a hassle

When I heard about an amazing new product that stains your brows for THREE days, I rushed out to buy it. I've used this Brow Tattoo Gel Tint a few times now. I have the grey brown which is perfect - I love that they offer a grey shade because not all eyebrows are brown! Application can be a bit messy because the product is thick and applicator isn't too precise. I managed to make it work but I worry about the product becoming too thick after a few more uses. The product lasts almost three days for me. The only issue is that I can't wash my face for 24 hours after to ensure it sets. This means I have to carefully plan when I'll stain my brows and when I'll wash my face next. The one time I didn't wait 24 hours, the stain came off super easily. For the price, I feel like the tube is a bit small.

Tips: Leave the front of your eyebrows until last and don't paint as thick of a layer at the start of your brows. This creates a sort of gradient effect for natural-looking brows (unless you want the harsh rectangle look!).

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
11th February, 2018 at 4:32 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A bit different

I am fairly impressed with this product but not sure if I am completely won over; so will review as follows. I really like the plain and simple packaging; minimalistic but smart. The box has step by step instructions on it, showing you how to apply and remove. The wand pulls out easily and you've got quite a thick brush on which the brow gel clings too, so you can brush it on. Putting the gel on will take a bit of practice. i found it easy enough but will have to practice how to get it precisely on my brows and not on my skin, as I found, it does dye your skin as well. After the 20 mins I removed the gel. I'm not sure if I didn't put enough on as it didn't pull off as shown on the picture on the box, but it came off easily when I scrapped it off with my nail, and left nothing behind. You can definitely see colour on my brows and it's lasted well, throughout make up removal and showers. I think I would buy again for trips so I didn't have to worry about applying so much makeup everyday. Definitely an easy product to use.

Tips: Ensure you don't cover the skin above or below your brows to avoid dying them, or put some Vaseline on the skin to provide a barrier.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.3/5
11th February, 2018 at 4:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Tattoo brow gel

When I first heard about this product as someone who has only recently started including eyebrows into my daily routine I thought tattoo brow sounded scary. But I bit the bullet and bought it.

The steps are super simple 3 easy to follow steps. The gel is quite thick and I found the applicator abit thick. I opted to use an angled brush on the tail of my brows to get a more precise application.

You can definitely notice a difference once removed after 20 minutes but I do on occasions still feel the need to fill them in. I use the shade medium brown and its a pretty good match

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

Wanna win the eyeliner that's WOWING NZ?

YES! A million times YES!

view results

Review of the Day
Dii
Garnier BB Cream Nude
I am really pleased that I got the opportunity to put this BB cream to test thanks to the great people… more »