Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.3/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.2/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.2/5

Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint Review

Overall rating:
4.2/5

MAYBELLINE Tattoo Brow is a game-changing peel-off gel-tint that leaves brows perfectly defined and evenly filled for up to 3 days. Enriched with Royal Jelly & Aloe Vera, brows are left tinted and conditioned, gradually and evenly fading over time.

RRP: $24.99

Availability: Farmers, selected Pharmacies, Countdown, Kmart, The Warehouse, New World and Pak N Save

Website: www.farmers.co.nz

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
21st February, 2018 at 7:42 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Nice eye brow tint

I was lucky to be selected for this product. I had heard a lot about this product, so was interested to give it a try.

First impressions is that I liked the container, black with a brown/gold metallic lid. It comes with a brush like tip. To be honest, I was not really sure how this would turn out, wondering if it would be too dark as i chose the darkest colour! The instructions said to apply the gel to my natural eye brow shape and leave on for a minimum of 20 mins. The finally peel off.

I found this really easy to apply to the shape of my eyebrow. It looked really dark, but apparently it would be lighter once I peeled it off. I was really surprised how easy this was to take off, I think this is due to the Royal Jelly and Aloe Vera ingredients. And it did not pull out any of my hairs! I was a little disappointed that my brows weren't as dark as I would have liked, but I think next time I will leave it on for longer. It looked natural, but not defined.

Over a few days, the tint began to fade. And I did the same process, but left it on for 30mins this time. That made a differce and my brows seemed darker, and the tint lasted a little longer.

I did this on my friends and they liked it, I think it is good for a temporary tint and natural look and I still filled my eyebrows with powder. To define them a bit more :)

Tips: Leave the gel on longer if u wish to have darker brows

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th February, 2018 at 11:21 pm
3 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Beautiful brows on a budget

I have black hair and a cool toned complexion, so I chose to receive the shade "grey brown". When I first went to try this product, I was worried that the brush would be too thick and I wouldn't get a precise line. I even kept a thin eyebrow brush next to me in case I needed something thinner to apply the product, but I never needed it! I could do the ends of my brows easily without making them too thick.

I wasn't sure exactly how much product to apply at first, so I coated my brows in as much product as possible and hoped for the best! In hindsight this could have ended very badly (but luckily it didn't). The consistency of this product is quite thick, but it's still easy to work with. There's no noticeable scent. Definitely don't make plans to leave the house while it's on because you look a bit ridiculous while it's drying!

The packet suggests leaving it on for 20 mins to 3 hours. I trialled a few different times. I found that it lasted longer and looked better when left on for at least two hours. Though I am a fan of bolder brows, so keep this in mind if you try it for yourself.

So after waiting for a couple of hours, it's time to remove the product. The packet says to start removing from the tail of the brow, which I agree is the best way. Generally I can get it all off in one go with no problems, but if some product remains use a spoolie brush to comb it out. It is way easier to remove than I imagined it would be which is great!

I found the tint lasted well for two days. By day three it was still visible, but it had faded quite a bit. I like to reapply the product every two to three days to keep my brows looking nice.

This product is such a time saver! I used to spend ages doing my brows in the morning, but now all I do is sweep some tinted gel through them so they stay in place. I've always wanted to get my brows microbladed, but that's not feasible on a student budget. This product gives you the microbladed look, while also being budget friendly. I was skeptical at first, but I'd absolutely repurchase this again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Awesome review and really helpful. Thank You

Overall rating:
3.3/5
19th February, 2018 at 7:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Brow gel

Ok so what i liked was the ease of application. Unlike using standard brow tint if you don't have the right brush we can end up with tint everywhere else but out eye brows.

The consistency of the gel was of medium thickness and was cool feeling when applied to my brows . That cooling feeling was nice as id just waxed my brows in preparation of trailing this product.

I was given the darkest shade which suited me as my eyebrows are naturally dark. I am a platinum blonde and like my brows to stand out.

I left the product on for the advised 20 minutes and found the consistency changed and was tacky and sticky upon removal. Little bit gross but it did come off in one peel.

It tinted my skin so you would definitely wash your face and apply before a shower. The colour lasted around two days maybe next time i will leave the product on longer.

Good product for those wanting to try a less permanent version of a brow tint

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
17th February, 2018 at 7:08 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Stays for days!!

I have used brow tattoos before but I can say that Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint is very amazing! I love that I chose the color that matches my skin tone and hair. Not all brow tattoo stays after taking a bath, but this brow tattoo does.

I love that I can easily glide it on my brows and after peeling it, it looks so nice. It really stays for 3 days but it is very lighter at 3rd day and you might want to touch it up already.

Overall, I really love it and I have been using it for days now. I touch up after 2 days because I like my brows to look fuller but you might like it when it's lighter.

Tips: Make it thick while applying so it would last for 3 days

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
3.3/5
15th February, 2018 at 6:21 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
An interesting idea

Arriving in an elegantly metallic bronze lidded mascara type tube with a nail polish style brush, the Brow Tattoo Gel Tint will not look out of place on the dresser. Opening the lid there is a slightly chemically smell that made me initially hesitant but my sensitive skin appears to be fine with the product. The product goes on easily but does need to be applied more thickly than you might think to be able to peel it as shown on the exterior sleeve. I found the Light Brown colour slightly too light for my taste and a touch on the orange side. That said, for a casual beach-y situation I would be able to go without eyebrow pencil and not look like I had no eyebrows! The having to remember not to use cleanser on the eyebrows for 24 hours is a complete pain and I keep forgetting meaning I have no good idea on how long the product really last. The fade is gentle and even so it doesn't really matter. I could see this being handy to pop for travel when trying to find somewhere to get tints done could be a problem. At home, I found it just messy and annoying enough that I probably wouldn't bother.

Tips: Make sure to apply thickly so it is easy to remove. For best colour leave on for at least 20 minutes and remember not to cleanse your eyebrows!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
2.3/5
14th February, 2018 at 9:58 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A tattoo I wouldn't get

This little brow babe is not for me. The packaging is pretty and good size to put in your handbag/travel with.

The first time I applied this I had no idea how much to use. (instructions should be more in depth) I applied a thin amount in the shape I wanted and left for 20mins as it says. As I go to just 'pull' it off and have 'fantastic' brows! I was instead left with little bits that im trying to lightly scrap out of my brows. Really seemed like that annoying skin peel after getting burnt haha. Only to have the lightest faded brow outline. So I reapplied and this time used alot more product, (only after seeing the ad that shows how this is applied in a thick layer.) again left for 20mins and the same thing happend. I could see how this product would be perfect had it worked on me, Because the outline was nice but I did need to still fill them in because it didnt do this.

Are my brows not worthy enough? haha

I will say though it does last a couple of days even with washing my face etc.

For me this is a no go and I will continue to do them myself.

Tips: Apply a thick layer

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.7/5
14th February, 2018 at 9:16 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
I can see this being a lifesaver!

I was so nervous to use this product actually because it says that it can stay on for days - so what if I mess it up and my face looks ridiculous for days right?? My fears were quickly eased when I just gave it a go. It’s very very easy to use. The applicator gives you a slightly runny paste texture and you just basically paint it along your natural brow line in the shape that you’d like. I didn’t do it in one swipe because I was being quite careful but once you’re used to it you could definitely do that.

You leave the product on for about 20 minutes while it dries. I think in future I will leave it on for longer because the product didn’t peel off as easily as I thought it would - it didn’t stick or pull which was great but it just came off in little bits.

The result was really great. I usually fill my brows in with a medium brown powder and the dark brown wasn’t too dark for me!

The results definitely fade after you wash your face and shower, which is expected, so for me it didn’t last the full 3 days with complete brows that I was expecting. However there was definitely colour in them for the whole time and I didn’t feel as though I needed to fill in my brows with brow powder during that time. For me, that’s the best thing. I usually fill in my brows everyday and if I can save myself one step in my mornings then that’s a definite win for me! I would recommend giving this a go if you like to fill in your brows daily as a replacement or if you’re in between brow appointments.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
13th February, 2018 at 5:23 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint

I was a bit dubious when I first received this product, because of past experiences with brow products in general. I have Light brown eyebrows that also have blonde mixed in along with blonde hair so I've found that the lightest colours in a lot of brow products look way too dark for me and not in the least natural (which is something that is important for me). I got the light brown colour which I was worried would be too dark so when I applied this, I only put just enough on to make sure I didn't end up with slug brows. This meant it didn't exactly peel off like the instructions suggest, but I put that down to me not layering it on. I ended up with the PERFECT coloured brows! the blondes blended in seamlessly with the light brown hairs and they look so natural! This product is uber easy to use and produces a really nice result - my brows looked tidy for a few days afterwards which is such a win because it's a low maintenance and affordable product but it gives off a high end finish. All in all I will definitely keep using this regularly, it's so nice waking up with good brows.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

It sounds good, but are you sure it's easy to use? does it matter if you don't get it exactly in the right place? This kind of stuff makes me nervous but is the type of product I'd like to try? if you can wipe it off and start again it might be ok...

Overall rating:
5.0/5
13th February, 2018 at 12:53 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Maybelline Brow Tattoo Gel Tint - Dark Brown

Next to teeth eyebrows are the most important feature we have on our face. They are so important that we should frame them for display purposes! I have sported multiple shades of blonde hair over my years, opted for different colour glasses frames and now & then gone all out with a season hot colour on my eyelids - but never ever have I messed with the colour of my dark brown almost black eyebrows. They are my presentation frames. OK I will admit I have over waxed and over tweezed my eyebrows more than I can count and sadly they no longer rival Brooke Shields, but I'm not at the stage that I need to draw them on daily... phew! (not yet anyway). So every 4 to 6 weeks my beautician tints my eyebrows. The first couple of weeks the colour is bold & I love it. But as with most things it starts to fade so i then add a bit of brow shade into my morning makeup routine. Admittedly I was very hesitant in applying this to my eyebrows but after talking my 16 year old daughter into giving it a go with me (and who prides her being on her eyebrows) I was happy to give it a whirl. The packaging is quite luxe, it's always nice when something looks expensive but really isn't. The instructions for application were simple to understand and applying the product was quite fun! We took out time putting a good thick coating on our eyebrows and wiping any excess off with a handy cotton tip. The instructions state to leave on for at least 20 minutes so we decided to leave it on for 45. We then got to the exciting part which was peeling off the dried gel (which didn't hurt in the slightest). WOW - totally impressed! The tint was perfect - we were both smiling from ear to ear with the results. It stayed dark for probably 2 to 3 days then started to fade but having the convenience of being able to tint your own eyebrows so simply and effectively far outweighs the tint endurance. This is now a staple product for us both.

Tips: Have a cotton tip handy to wipe away any excess after application :)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
12th February, 2018 at 9:07 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
If I had to choose one product to use like ever

I think this would be it.

To set the scene I have blonde eyebrows! The irony of it is I spend hundreds, THOUSANDS probably getting my hair blonde and yet…I have to colour my eyebrows the exact opposite.

Long story short if I don’t colour my eyebrows I look like i’m mentally challenged. Thus i’ve been tinting them since well, whenever.

Usually I do it myself at home with a professionally sourced product, but there’s more than a bit of faffing around by the time you do the mixing, developing, applying and cleaning up, and my eyebrows bleach out really quickly too so I really need to do it every week to keep the depth of colour that I like.

This product has changed my life! You read it correctly. CHANGED MY LIFE.

It looks kind like a mascara but the brush is more like a nail colour brush. You paint it on your eyebrows (beware it looks quite alarming when it’s on) leave for 20-30 minutes, peel them off and Voila!! Just like that!

I love this product as it’s quick and easy to apply. I’ve got better at it as I go along and have managed to adjust the thickness and length of the application to suit me. I find it lasts a good 3-4 days so slightly shorter than tinting them the traditional way for me but the ease of application negates that small point BIG TIME.

Why hasn’t someone thought of this before? I wish they’d come up with an eyelash one! If I could give it 10/5 I would !

Tips: Yes a few. 1. Don't be alarmed at the colour when it goes on. I had the dark brown and it goes on like a black tar.

2. Be generous, with your application. If you make it too thin then you won't be able to peel it off.

3. Use a clean spoolie or old mascara brush to brush out any excess.

4. If you make a boo boo just clean it up with the tip of your nail while it's still wet or use a q tip with some Micellar Water or similar.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

This review was placed by a Trial Team member who was randomly selected to receive and review the product by Beauty Review. This review accurately reflects the individual's experience of the product and is not influenced by Beauty Review in any way.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

erm...no. I know, I know. I'm bad. I know it.

view results

Review of the Day
petinar
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Regime
I was so excited to try all three of the components in the Revitalift regime at once to… more »