Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

105,411reviews
7,680products

Trial and review NZ's best beauty products for free.

Register Now
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Sally Hansen Colour Therapy
Chi Chi Gel Eyeliner Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.8/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.6/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.8/5

Chi Chi Gel Eyeliner Review

Overall rating:
4.8/5

Chi Chi Gel Eyeliner Review

10 Gel Eyeliners in a rainbow of essential colours including Black, Brown and White.

RRP: $39.99

Availability: Farmers, selected pharmacies and online

Website: www.chichicosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
5.0/5
27th January, 2017 at 12:27 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great Value

I picked these up when Farmers was doing a sale because I love coloured eyeliners and I love Chi Chi.

They go on nice and smooth and last all day. And of course you get a great choice of colours. I love how they give you both everyday colours like black and fun colours like pink, because more options makes the box more usable and justifyable.

I personally love the pink, purple, blue, green, black and white the best, so it was easy for me to get lots of use out of this selection.

Such great value for lots of eyeliners and I love Chi Chi products because I don't believe they test on animals and they don't have some of the not so good ingredients.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th September, 2016 at 2:16 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Easy to use, pigmented, long wear

I was stoked to get these on clearance for 10 dollars, so it worked at a dollar for each eyeliner, but even at the RRP price, these are a bargain for how well they perform.The set comes with a great range of colours, and I loved that fun shades such as green and pink were included, as those kind of shades are hard to find. There is definitely something in here to suit everyone. Buying this set has definitely made more adventurous in my make up routine and I have had so many compliments on the colours.The eyeliners each have a colour lid and are black on the outside, with silver font bearing the shade names. I found the shade names quite cute and humorous, but the font does wear off quickly, making these look a little cheap. The eyeliners have a little coloured cap on the wooden end, which falls off easily, leaving the eyeliners sharp and ugly at the bottom, but this is just a minor peeve.Generally, most of these shades are super pigmented and have great colour payoff on the eyelid and waterline. They are incredibly long-wearing and I find wings last all day. These even last in my waterline all day, which I've never found an eyeliner be able to do. Because these are gel pencils, these are incredibly easy to use. I have never found it so easy to do winged eyeliner. The only negative thing about these is that the lead is soft, and this doesn't come with a sharpener. The gel lead is so difficult to sharpen and I often end up wasting product whilst the lead breaks during sharpening. Black is Black is the classic black eyeliner shade in the set. It has a decent amount of pigmentation and definitely does the trick. Beauty School Dropout is a royal purple shade that is really pigmented and one of the shades in the set that lasts a particularly long time. Midas Touch is a gold shimmer shade that unfortunately is really pigmented when swatched, but barely shows up on the waterline or lid. Lo Cal Chocolate is a rich chocolate brown, that is quite pigmented. It looks great for more subtle winged eyeliner and I've had a lot of compliments on this shade. Dream Love is a sapphire blue shimmer that I want to love, but it just lacks pigmentation on the eyelid.Matte White as the name suggest, is a matte white shade with RIDICULOUS pigmentation and is incredibly long-wearing. I love using this to brighten up my waterline and I get compliments every time I wear it. Boys Boys Boys is a matte pastel blue that is crazy pigmented and long-wearing.Diamonds in the Sky is a black shimmer shade that shows up grey on the lid unfortunately and just doesn't impress me like the other shades.Caribbean Queen is a stunning emerald green with great pigmentation.Hopelessly Devoted is a stunning neon pink that is quite pigmented and very long-wearing.Overall, I recommend these to anyone wanting to build a fun eyeliner collection and for those who are beginners with eyeliner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Yeah these are definitely fun to work with

Sounds great. Definately want these now

Overall rating:
4.7/5
3rd December, 2015 at 11:46 am
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Very pigmented and long staying

I bought these for only $20 at Farmers a while ago and have been using these so much! The pigmentation is amazing and one swipe gets a very bold, bright line. I've very oily eyelids so I usually have to use makeup remover wipes to get my lids a bit drier and prime my lids before using pencil form eyeliners. But these glide on really smooth and doesn't tug much at my lids. It stays on really well throughout the day considering how oily my lids are and only smudged slightly after a few hours. My favorite is the iridescent purple called Beauty School Dropout. It's a gorgeous blue tones purple with iridescent shimmers but no chunky glitter. These also blend amazingly but you do have to work fast before they 'set'. They remove relatively easily with eye makeup remover pads. The only thing I hate hate hate about these are the fact that they're pencils. Because the gel lead is quite soft, I'm finding it difficult to sharpen. Righg now I'm freezing them for about half an hour then using a very sharp craft knife to carefully cut away the tip but wish they could be sharpened by a normal sharpener. Really happy with these but wish they were the retractable kind.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
10th November, 2015 at 4:57 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Rainbow Eyes!

I was trawling the forums when I saw someone mention these were on special, and it was a bargain, so they said. 10 pencils for $20 or so dollars, rather than the $40 it usually went for. I went into my local Farmers and came out disappointed, they didn't have any. Thankfully a BR lovely said she had heaps at her local, and picked some up for me (I paid her back) and she posted them on.

I have to say, I was pretty impressed. They were my first colored liners, so of course I took off all their lids and swatched them on my hand. I forgot that I had done it and was surprised to see most of the colors still on my hand the next day. The colors are well pigmented and creamy, which again, surprised me.

My first "look" I did with them was purple and pink in my waterline. They blended seamlessly and it got my mother in law talking about colored mascara back when she was younger and dinosaurs ruled the earth*. One thing I was curious about was can they be sharpened? I asked Mother Google but the results weren't straight up, so I asked a few BR babes that I know have them (including the one that sent them to me) and they confirmed that YES THEY CAN!!! Which is wonderful. I do have problems sharpening them but I've read chucking them in the fridge before you do so helps harden them up a bit. I hope it doesn't affect the pencil in the long run, so I don't know if I'll try it.

These are long lasting, almost smudge proof, an amazing range of colors and for the price? Well they were worth it. If I ever ran out I'd definitely buy these again! *May be an exaggeration. ;-)

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Oh yes I want that eyeliner set for 20$ I am crazy for eyeliner

Overall rating:
5.0/5
26th October, 2015 at 2:16 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Long-lasting gel pencils

I found this eyeliner set at Farmers while they were having a 30% off sale, so I picked up 10 gel eyeliner pencils for $27.99! A real bargain considering that single eyeliners are about $15 each.

The consistency of these gel pencils is amazing; creamy and easy to apply with great pigmentation and colour pay-off. Plus, the plastic tube ensures that there's no hard wood to scratch the delicate eye area after sharpening. They glide on really easily with no drag on the eyelid and definitely live up to the expectation of being long-wearing, smudge-proof and waterproof!

After sampling the 10 colours on the back of my hand, I tried to smudge them and they didn't budge! I then tried washing them off with regular hand wash and again they didn't move an inch! To get them off, I had to use Maybelline Eye & Lip make-up remover (the blue and clear dual phase one) and they came off really easily without having to rub or scrub, just let the cotton pad soaked in make-up remover sit on the area for 30 seconds before gently wiping it off.

Colours include Lo-Cal Chocolate (a rich matte brown), Midas Touch, (a light metallic gold), Caribbean Queen (a turquoise green), Black is Black (the blackest matte black), Diamonds in the Sky (black with very fine silver glitter), Matte White, Boys Boys Boys (baby blue matte), Dream Lover (metallic cobalt blue), Beauty School Drop Out (shimmery purple) and Hopelessly Devoted (Hot Pink) which can also be used as a lip liner.

When the tip wears down, simply sharpen them with a cosmetic sharpener. The soft plastic outer coating will come off the same way as a wooden pencil does when sharpened.

Tips: If you're worried about the little coloured bases popping off, glue any loose ones back on and then paint a stripe of clear nail polish around the rim of each pencil where the coloured base meets the body of the pencil.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
14th October, 2015 at 4:01 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
What can I say...bargain!

What an amazing way to experiment with different colours. I mentioned to our wee farmers-wife what coloured eyeliners she recommended. She mentioned this pack which would allow me to try different colour options cost effectively. I got the box for $39.95 from farmers.

The selection of colours is amazballs. I've really had a ball trying them out. It glides on easily, stays on all day, and doesn't even smudge when I do my un-lady like eye rubs during the day. I've used it to line my top lid, to add a bit of colour under my bottom lashes, inside lasher below eye and have even pulled off a wing when sharp. I used the pink to line my lips to enhance my chi chi pastel pink lippy. Talk about versatile!

Tips: Because it stays on so well it is little harder to get off at night. I rub on my oil cleanser and gently wipe away. It takes a few more wipes than my old eyeliner.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
24th July, 2015 at 4:13 pm
5 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
First world problems!

First of all 10 gel liners for $40 is the best deal I have ever got when it comes to makeup and this set is quality and quantity rolled in to one. I love the array of colours in comes in and it allows me to match the colours to what I am wearing on the day. It can be a hard choice about the colour I want to wear hence the heading 'first world problems'. The struggle really is real when it comes to choosing which one to wear on which days.

When I first bought them, i thought I was limited to the nub at the end not thinking I could sharpen them. That is until a BR babe told me you could. My smile and happy dance could be heard from next door that day I am sure. The value for money just tripled in my books. I love how they each come with a lid unlike some eyeliners they are just pencils without anything to protect them. Also it allows me to see exactly which colour is which without effort.

The texture is quite soft and can be easily broken if you are too rough but it also means that it can be applied easier without too much pushing or roughness. I often apply to the lid of my eye which gives my eye look on that day a whole new depth and edge I love it. Most days when I am not feeling so adventurous I just run it along my lash line and I am good to go. They make my eyes look so much more defined and complete. I also find using the white one I can make my eyes appear much bigger than they are (BONUS).

The stay power of these is quite incredible. I have other more expensive eyeliners and the stay power of them is three hours tops before I am having to check myself in the mirror for panda eyes! This eyeliner stays put all day long and even after I have fallen asleep it is in place ready to go a second round. I think the only complaint I have is that I can never decide on which ones to take with me when I go away so I take them all which fills my makeup bag by a quarter meaning I have to go easier on the eyeshadows. That is when I just bought a bigger bag hehe problem solved.

Tips: Use the white liner to make your eyes appear bigger

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

Great Review too x

Wow these sound so good. I have been thinking about getting them, seems I might need to just bite the bullet and do it

Lol yeah felt kinda silly to not have known and with the stupid grin on my face BUT they are my fave! I hope you get the chance to own some :D

That I too cute with you being excited that they could be sharpened! These sound so good, I want so bad

Thanks Julieal. You won't be disappointed I assure you :)

After seeing the tutorials I would love to try these . Good review thank you

Thanks Fi :) Enjoy them as much as we all do obviously x

fab review I've looked at them now I'd better buy them x

Overall rating:
4.7/5
15th July, 2015 at 10:09 pm
2 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Value for money

I bought these Chi Chi gel eye liners at Farmers after seeing this in our forum saying they were $20.00 for the whole set of 10 colours. Such a bargin hunter I am, couldn't resist this deal. I didnt have a lot of experience using eye liners but I played around with these and it really was easy. They were easy to apply and glided on nicely. I found they stayed on all day, although I only did my top lid, and they looked great all day. It came off easily with my usual eye makeup remover. I love the ten colours, they are bright and happy colours and there is one for every occasion.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

they sounds so good x Great review

Overall rating:
4.0/5
1st July, 2015 at 6:30 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Great colour range !

I have this set of eyeliners and I think there is a great range of colours and are a fun way to jazz up any look! If I use this I will take it everywhere with my as my water doesn't hold the colours very well unfortunately, the outer corners don't hold pick up any product at all so I do have patchy areas sometimes ... For the price I think there a great investment to have in your makeup kit to brighten up any look. I love using this as winged eyeliner as something different, using it on my eyelids the product does hold a lot better then my water line

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
28th June, 2015 at 6:46 pm
1 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chi chi gel eyeliner

I purchased this kit for myself at the end of last year due to wanting to try out a gel pencil eyeliner due to thinking they would be amazing and waterproof.

This set of eyeliners is honestly one of the best buys I have ever bought myself. I haven't used a different black eyeliner for a while now because I cannot go without using it. I love how it comes with bright colors as I wouldn't usually buy them which has made me venture out a little.

The quality of of these gel eyeliner pencils are amazing. They are quite pigmented and creamy. It makes it easy to apply and the pencils slide on without much effort and they are also waterproof so you can use these pencils on your waterline.

I think these are an amazing buy and I wish chi chi did sell the colors separately.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No