Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Chi Chi Brow Pomade Review
Share with a friend
Would use it again? 4.6/5
Did it do what it said it would? 4.7/5
Would recommend it to a friend? 4.7/5

Chi Chi Brow Pomade Review

Overall rating:
4.7/5

Chi Chi Brow Pomade Review

for Blonde hair

Pack Size: 2g.

RRP: $15.99

Availability: Farmers, department stores and selected pharmacies

Website: www.chichicosmetics.com

back

Found in:

Write a review

To allow us record accurate reviews we require you to register.

Looking to rate this product?

Please sign in or register.

Overall rating:
4.0/5
3rd May, 2018 at 10:22 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Mind your colour choice!!

I needed a cheaper alternative to my Anastasia Beverly Hills brow pomade so decided to take the dip and try the Chi Chi pomade from my local Farmers store. I chose this particular brand after the retail assistant said she uses it and it's the best drug store pomade she's used.

We colour tested on the back of my hand to see which colour best suited. Although she suggested taupe I wasn't convinced because it looks like it would be more for a blonde or light brown eyebrow. I prefer a slightly darker shade as my eyebrows are naturally medium brown so I went with the obvious choice of medium brown. Oh how I do regret that now!! She warned that the colour pigments are darker than they appear and boy was she right! When I first tried it, it looked like I had drawn my brows on with a sharpie! It looked almost black urgh! After much practice of brush strokes I finally found I could work with it but by using gentle brush strokes

I do love the small round container it comes in. For the price it's actually quite big because you use the slightest amount on your brush, It is a clear bottom and black lid on top. The formula seems to be very thick but also has a creamy texture which means that very little product is needed. The colour pigment is too much in my opinion. It seems like a shade or two darker than it should be considering the name 'medium brown'.

I found that the pomade doesn't dry out after opening the container like I have found with other drug store pomades. It is easy to apply once you get the hang of it and makes achieving bold and even eyebrows a piece of cake, almost effortless.

The only thing I found a downfall whilst using this is that it dries your skin out around the brow area. I know it should be second nature to remove my eyebrow makeup before I go to bed but sometimes it's just not possible. If you remove it every night and moisturise afterwards then the likelihood is slim that you will dry out. Other than that I found it to be all day wearing and very convincing as a natural appearing brow. I am in love with it and may even go as far to say that I would use it instead of Anastasia because it's just so much more affordable. If you prefer brow pomade but not the high end prices, definitely give the Chi Chi one a whirl.

Tips: Moisturise in the brow area to avoid dry skin after brow pomade use

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
16th February, 2018 at 11:11 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
High end quality

Let me just say, I prefer this over most expensive pomades. A little bit of product goes a long way and when applied correctly it is absolute oerfection. The shade range is also very impressive and I've stocked my kit up with every single one!!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
2.7/5
8th February, 2018 at 3:00 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Not Great

I used this brow pomade for about two months or so and I was pretty happy with it. With the right brush it is super easy to apply and lasts all day, exactly what you want from a brow pomade.

After about two months or so, I noticed it started drying out, despite the fact I was taking care to ensure it was properly closed up. I had a friend who said her brow pomade from Chi Chi had dried out too.

It is still useable if I mix a bit of rose-hip oil into it, although this gets incredibly annoying to have to do every couple of days. This led to me replacing it with an entirely different product, but I still use it very occasionally.

Tips: Maybe take extra care to try stopping it from drying out, as this wasn't just an issue for me.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th November, 2017 at 2:02 am
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Creamy & pigmented!

This is a great alternative to the ABH brow pomade. It is pigmented, creamy and stays on, and you can use as little or as much as you like, depending on the brow look you're going for. I really like the texture, it is much easier to blend than the ABH pomade. Colour-wise, I got Soft Brown, which I was worried would be too warm and red. But it isn't, it is a neutral brown, which fits my skin tone perfectly. It also lasted the whole day.

Price-wise, I wouldn't say it is cheaper than the ABH pomade. True, the ABH is more expensive at 18USD. However, you can 4g of product rather than Chi Chi's 2g of product. That said, I much prefer Chi Chi as the ABH pomade dries out really fast and is hard to blend.

Tips: 1. Use a small, angled brush and a light hand. A little goes a long way.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.0/5
17th August, 2017 at 12:10 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Brow Pomade

This product is great for gals wanting to step their brow game up from using a pencil and to produce sleek sharp brows.

It gives brows a great sharp look if you use it right with a good brow brush.

It does dry out after a while, which I haven't learnt how to fix just as yet.

I used soft brown, which still look great with blonde hair, as my eyebrows are quite dark.

Tips: Use an angled brush, with minimal product to start then work your way up using more if needed.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
3.7/5
25th July, 2017 at 3:54 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chi Chi eye brows.

I tried a brow pomade from this range. I do not have many other pomades to compare it to the shade I tried was not for blonde hair it was a warm colour Auburn. It suited warm brown or red hair. It was not all hard to spread nice and creamy. Packaging was kind of pretty with the chi chi logo but pretty standard heavyish glass jar. It did not smell bad and it spread easily with a brush or spooly. It does not set all hard so if you do not use a powder over the top and itch your face you might smudge it even without a powder to set it may transfer. The price point it okay especially as it is a cruelty free product. I see this is a highly rated product I could not fault it except for the smudge factor it is easy to work with I have used it like a contouring cream too and it worked well. I am all for products that can have multiple purposes. Nice I do not think I would re buy any time soon though as I do not like that it transfers easily.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
21st July, 2017 at 3:52 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Amazing product

I really love this product, it’s creamy and goes on so well! Blends out nicely and it’s easy to fix up any mistakes you make!

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
2nd July, 2017 at 10:30 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
A little goes a long way

I use the Chi Chi Brow Pomade in the colour black brown. It comes in a 2g small screw pot. I have black hair, so I avoid using black eyebrow products as I've been often left with thick, bushy looking eyebrows. This colour was perfect for a natural look.

I use a small flat makeup brush to outline my eye brows with the pomade and lightly fill them in. I then use an eyebrow brush to comb the product through to give it a more natural, feathered look. I noticed I only need to use a very small amount to have fleeked eyebrows as the pomade is rather thick and opaque. I've been out in the rain with it on and it has never run down my face.

I would definitely recommend the Chi Chi Brow Pomade due to it's affordability and longevity.

Tips: Use an eyebrow brush to apply the pomade to give the eyebrows a natural look

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
4.7/5
20th June, 2017 at 7:14 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Brows on fleek

This is a great, cheap pomade that really gets the job done. Its pigmented and easy to use when you have the right tools. Make sure you use an angled brush and spoolie and you're set. This product lasts all day (my day starts at 7 and doesn't end until 9) and doesn't transfer.

Tips: Shades run a little dark so test it before you purchase. I do also recommend pairing it with the Chi Chi fibre brow product just to give some volume to the hair to make your brows look fluffy again.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No
Overall rating:
5.0/5
20th June, 2017 at 12:24 pm
0 members found this review useful
Report review
You must be logged in to report a review. Please log in first.
Chichi medium brown brow pomade

Fantastic product! Super pigmented. A little goes a long way, may be a little hard for beginners to use. Last a long time. Great dupe for the Anastasia Beverly Hills pomade.

Tips: Use a angled brush to apply and brush brows out with a spoolie to even out colour and make brows look tidy. Spray hairspray on spoolie to set brows and keep them in place all day.

Was this review useful to you? Yes No

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

erm...no. I know, I know. I'm bad. I know it.

view results

Review of the Day
petinar
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Regime
I was so excited to try all three of the components in the Revitalift regime at once to… more »