Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Brands We Want In NZ NOW!

21 January, 2018 - 10:23pm by - Head Pixie | 33 Comments

By BR Kellie

It's such a first world problem, (but, as my husband is prone to saying, 'a first world problem is still a problem') but nothing niggles at me quite like the way the internet exposes us to amazing beauty brands that we can't easily get our hands on here in New Zealand. We've been lucky recently with the opening of Mecca that some previously untouchable brands are now in our hands - but there are more out there that we feel we need to be able to swatch and play and touch before we commit to buying. 

So what brands are on the crew's most want to get our actual physical hands on list? Check these out!

If I see Tati rave about another lipstick from Flower Beauty (the brand created by the fabulous Drew Barrymore) I'll cry. Flower lipsticks look drenched in colour, super creamy, and the shade range is gobsmackingly beautiful. Then there are the Flower Pots Powder Blushes, which look divinely blendable, and the packaging is super cute. That Flower needs to stretch its petals all the way around the globe!

Beauty Bakerie, bless them, do ship internationally - but - there's no distributor or stockist in New Zealand, so we can't sweep their stunning products over our hands to imagine how they'd look on our face. Also, the packaging is just so darn cute we'd love to see the range displayed on a stand. It would brighten up even the bluest of days.
Viseart is not cheap. Heck, you wouldn't even call it sort of affordable. It's 'spensive. But it's raved about in the beauty community. We love a good eyeshadow at BRHQ. Palette's give us life. But sometimes hearing how great a product is isn't enough for us to commit the cash. Sometimes you just need to run your finger through the formulation before buying. 
Shape Tape. Shape Tape. Shape Tape. If you watch YouTube beauty gurus then you'll know Tarte Shape Tape is beloved by the online beauty community. Revered for its ability to cover and not crease. Heck, Tarte on the whole is adored - but they're on the pricey side, and the shipping is $$$. Last year they had a free shipping day and I coughed up sixty odd dollars for a holiday set - and, well, I was left disappointed. The lipstick was nice. The blush, bronzer and highlighter were okay, and the eyeshadows had a couple of shades I liked, but on the whole the pigmentation and creaminess wasn't there, and had I been able to swatch it first I'd have passed. Further investigation saw many people who'd bought it saying it wasn't the usual formula and was substandard. Another reason why we wish more brands would come to New Zealand so that we don't waste our money buying something that isn't up to scratch (also - segue alert! - Why do brands do this with holiday sets? I've often read reviews saying the product isn't as good as their usual offerings. And further investigation sees that the product has been made in a different country. First, why do this to a customer? Second, why do this to your brand?) Either way, it's safe to say I won't be buying Tarte again unless I can swatch it first.
How gobsmackingly beautiful is the above eyeshadow palette? Don't you just want to smear that top middle shade on your eyes? Well, first we want to smear it on our hand to see if it's as pigmented as we hope. Whle Makeup Geek's range of eyeshadows, face powders, lip products and brushes look beautiful, we're not game enough to go there. But if they were in New Zealand? You bet we'd give them a go! 
J Cat Beauty is another product YouTuber Tati raves on about. She loved their Holo Eyetopper (on her top lids, not on the lower lid), their triple baked highlighters, and their holographic lip cream. She also enjoyed their HD Skincealer Foundation. Can we get it here in New Zealand? Not so much. There are a couple of online stores that sound like parallel importers, but that's about it. We still hold out hope though. I mean if Farmers can bring Wet n Wild our way, perhaps there's a chance for J Cat!

Yes, Sephora NZ sells Huda Beauty and Fenty Beauty online - but what really needs to happen is for Sephora to open physical stores in New Zealand so we can get in there and ogle and play to our heart's content! 

So fellow beauties... are any of our wish-list beauty brands on your radar. Are there other beauty brands you'd love to see hit our fair shores? Tell us about it and we'll keep our fingers crossed that someone, somewhere, with all the beauty-bringing power can put things in motion! 

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

Hi Ladies

Just some insights from over 20 years working in the beauty industry that in my experience it would be very rare for any global brand to compromise quality by putting second rate products in a gift set. Gift sets are generally very low margin as the extra packaging needs to be factored in and often they are smaller sizes than you would be able to buy in isolation. But it would be unusual to change a formulation of a standard product specifically for a gift set. If anyone has experienced inferior quality of products in a gift set compared to an original they've bought i'd encourage you to take it back to where you purchased it from. It is more likely to be a isolated batch issue rather than a deliberate ploy. Hope this helps . x

Omg Sephora is my number one! I stumbled upon it entirely by accident a couple of years ago in Hawaii and was like... what's this store? Walked into Heaven!! The ultimate would be having a Sephora store here with the amazing prices they have in the U.S!! Until then, I'm hanging out til May when I'm on holiday there and going on a massive spending spree!

Make Up For Ever. Lipstick Queen. The Ordinary. Glossier! *weeps gently into keyboard* And these are the ones I know I like. It isn't that these brands are unobtainable, it is that to make the fantastic cost of international postage (both in $$ and plastic packaging) worthwhile, you really can't just buy one lipstick. Or one eyeliner. Or a $5 bottle of serum. And sometimes, one thing is all you need. Yes, really.

That Makeup Geek eyeshadow palette looks to die for!! Another brand I'd love to have better access to (even though you can have it shipped here - for a price) is ColourPop. Gimme, gimme, gimme!

I agree about Flower Beauty. I have been wanting to try it since I saw Tati recommend it!

Flower has my vote, they also have perfume too. Catrice & Physician's formula would be good additions. Could they also bring the American prices too?

I totally agree on the American price thing too. A lot of these brands are so cheap overseas but end up being mid-range or higher in NZ.

22nd January, 2018 at 10:52 am

I think Mecca's prices compare favourably to American prices. I only saved about $5 buying my Too Faced palette in the States. I wished they stocked Mac here as I refuse to pay NZ prices for it lol.

22nd January, 2018 at 1:26 pm

So yes about American prices. I have an American workmate whose mother posts her beauty products because it's about 1/10 of the cost of buying in NZ!

22nd January, 2018 at 3:50 pm

This is a great list - I've never heard of Flower Beauty but I've just checked their website and would love to have them in NZ!!

Viseart and Sephora are at the top for me and I would hope that Sephora had the entire range of Natasha Denona, Fenty Beauty and Makeup Forever.

I'm glad we have Sephora NZ online but most of the time stuff remains out of stock for months. Atleast with a store we'd get a timeframe for a restock.

Check out Beautylish.com as they stock Viseart and Nastasha Denona. Free shipping if you spend over $35 too which is super easy to do.

22nd January, 2018 at 9:20 am

Exactly I go on Sephora NZ and put myself on the waitlist for months and never find out if it's being restocked. I check the official website for the brand of the item I want and it's still a current product. Sometimes I later check and find the item

22nd January, 2018 at 10:56 am

is nowhere on Sephora NZ and no, it's not a limited edition item. Why do they do this to us when they could be making good money off our orders?

22nd January, 2018 at 10:57 am

Yeah Beautylish has really good service and fast free shipping. Who would have guessed that the site that sells expensive luxury brands has the cheapest prices on brands like the Ordinary.

22nd January, 2018 at 10:59 am

Yes I was very impressed with Beautylish's service when I ordered The Ordinary from them.

22nd January, 2018 at 1:27 pm

Thank you for the feedback ladies :-) I buy Natasha Denona from Beautylish but would love the opportunity to swatch the products first before purchasing the same with Viseart. It took me 2 weeks of watching YT videos to "confidently" purchase my

22nd January, 2018 at 8:34 pm

Fenty Beauty foundation shade - it would have taken 10mins if Sephora was in NZ. Tannygirl it's frustrasting isn't it?! I don't bother with the wishlist anymore - I've been waiting since Sephora NZ launched for one item and low and behold still out

22nd January, 2018 at 8:35 pm

of stock (AND it's the Sephora brand). One day ladies we'll get to enjoy the luxury of walking into a store and swatching these brands before buying :-)

22nd January, 2018 at 8:39 pm

Beauty Bakerie appeals to me -so cute, Za was good but no longer in NZ -I think we are lucky with so many NZ products to chose from and I would prefer to try before I buy so would prefer to go without than purchase an expensive product on line and be disappointed. Totally agree companies should not produce second rate products as a special as it waters down their image.

I've not heard of some of these brands. I don't bother with Sephora online as it's nothing like the stores esp the ones in the States. Mecca covers most of my needs right now. I just need them to start stocking Pixi and The Ordinary.

It seems crazy that brands would not put the same quality in their holiday gift sets. I often use them as an introduction to a brand as they can be an affordable way of trying new things out.

I think in theory they want to make the same big bucks off the holiday sets but since they're giving away more colors or product for a lower price by comparison to their regular lines and products, they cut corners and have the products produced

22nd January, 2018 at 11:01 am

as cheaply as possible. Still not a good excuse. Another thing that applies to holiday palettes and this is trying to give them the benefit of the doubt, is that some holiday sets are very compact and ideal for travel. If the fullsized permanent

22nd January, 2018 at 11:05 am

product is really soft and breaks easily if it's banged then the company may hard press the product to make it a bit more firm in the pan and less likely to break since they know people might travel with them. And they don't want to deal with

22nd January, 2018 at 11:08 am

complaints from a powder breaking in the compact and have to deal with returns. So the product will be firmer and more durable in the holiday edition but consequently less buttery and soft and probably won't swatch as good.

22nd January, 2018 at 11:11 am

It is soooo frustrating that quality decreases in holiday sets! Especially if you want to give someone a genuinely nice gift but it turns out to be disappointing.

22nd January, 2018 at 11:53 am

Interesting insights from Tannygirl!

22nd January, 2018 at 11:54 am

That's true soozie. I love buying miniatures of things for the same reason.

22nd January, 2018 at 12:35 pm

If they can't make the same quality product in miniature then why bother? I've not actually had this issue (at least I don't think so). I just hope the sets I've given as gifts have been ok.

22nd January, 2018 at 1:29 pm

Be cool if they sold Fenty in NZ

I’d love to see Huda beauty and Kat Von D in Nz and of course an actual Sephora store would be great.

I would love to see brands that produce a raved about foundation or concealer like Tarte, Kat Von D, Fenty, Charlotte Tilbury, Cover Fx, etc sold in a physical store. Since it's not easy to be sure you got the right shade for you looking online. A lot of brands with their online foundation finder might possibly match you up to the shade that would be the best match based on the information entered but it still might be too pink or orange or light or dark on you.

Yeah I got it totally wrong when I ordered The Ordinary serum foundation online. I was able to sell on Trade Me easily enough though.

22nd January, 2018 at 1:31 pm

I haven't bought a full-sized foundation or concealer online because of that. At least with the Ordinary the product isn't so expensive. But I wouldn't take the risk with a more expensive product.

22nd January, 2018 at 5:10 pm

Yes, it was cheap enough to take the risk and I was able to recover my costs through Trade Me. I'd still like to try it properly in the right colour sometime.

22nd January, 2018 at 5:22 pm

I so love this article, especially the references to my fave Youtuber Tati. It is definitely my dream to try Tarte products, and I'm curious about Makeup Geek too which sometimes pops up on NZ Sale (not that I buy from them anymore because of the BR article which talked about expiry dates and batch codes).

Mmmm there's some lovely products there! I'd love to try the illuminator, and the shape tape. Even having Za move out of NZ is pretty frustrating.

I thought ZA closed for good? Did they move to somewhere else?

23rd January, 2018 at 7:22 pm

I thought they only closed the NZ branch? yikes, did they close everywhere?

23rd January, 2018 at 7:55 pm

Just checked - there's still Zacosmetics.com. I don't buy things from overseas websites but presumably it would be easy enough??

23rd January, 2018 at 7:57 pm

I.wanted to try the kat von d everlasting lipstick and tattoo foundation the only place I could find it was on sephora, it was so hard to choose the right shades as well online I needed testers! Sephora could definitely open a real store in the main cities

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

Do You Use a Protectant When Heat Styling?

erm...no. I know, I know. I'm bad. I know it.

view results

Review of the Day
petinar
L'Oréal Paris Revitalift Regime
I was so excited to try all three of the components in the Revitalift regime at once to… more »