Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

The Beauty Vault - April
The Beauty Vault - April

Seven Easy Ways To Stop Mascara Smudges!

22 March, 2018 - 07:51pm by - Head Pixie | 19 Comments

By BR Tabatha

Mascara transfer. Is there anything more annoying? Okay, there are a few things in life that are WAY more annoying than mascara transfer - like when you go to buy something and you've left your money card in your other bag, or when you're walking down the street and you hear a rip and realise your knicks are being bared to the world - BUT, in the beauty world mascara transfer is one of those things that can cause you to do a big shoulder-heaving sigh.

You know what I'm talking about. You've done your face, stormed out the door on your way to work or to meet friends, you eventually go to the loo, and while washing your hands you look up and the mirror reveals that you're sporting black dots around the perimeter of your eye. You love pandas, but you don't want your eyes to look like them!

So what can we do to help our mascara stick to our lashes and not our lids? 

1. Prime your lids. One of the causes of mascara transferring to your skin is good old oil. Yup, oily lids are a thing and they like to play havoc with your mascara as much as they do your eyeshadow. A simple fix to this is to prime your lids with a dedicated eyeshadow primer before popping on your makeup. 

2. Prime your lashes. While this may not help with the danger of blinking too quickly once you've applied your mascara, it will help your mascara stick to your lashes during the day. 

3. Powder pre-mascara. Wanting to avoid smudging below the lower lash line? After concealing your under eye area, dollop on a goodly amount of translucent powder - then while that bakes apply mascara to your upper and lower lashes. Let the mascara set, then brush away the powder and you're good to go! 

4. Waterproof is the way. If your non-waterproof mascara refuses to be nice and stay on your lashes, consider switching up to a waterproof version.

5. OR, try a tube! Another option is to give a tubing mascara a go. Tubing mascara's don't so much paint your lashes as they do create a tube around them, which is designed to be smudge and flake-free.

6. Spray, then apply. We are all for a good setting spray, but it can be the death of perfect makeup. Imagine:  Spritz, spritz, spritz. Blink, blink, blink. Hello panda eyes. Our trick? Spritz first, apply mascara second. 

7. See a professional. If it's all too much hard work worrying about the state of your mascara - make it so you don't have to and visit a beauty therapist for a lash tint! 

So there you have it, our tips and tricks to ensure your mascara sticks on your lashes and not your skin!

Now, do tell... are you cursed with a chronic case of mascara transfer? What tips do you have to keep your mascara in place? Have you tried any of the above with success? Or are you blessed with mascara that sticks to your lashes day in and day out? Chat away!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

I didn't know there was lash primer? smudging my eyeliner is my worst issue. I get my lashes dyed so I don't need mascara that often.

I didn't know either!

23rd March, 2018 at 10:42 am

Lash primer is so worth it, but not all are created equally, try one that is conditioning, and white, it makes your mascara last longer, and brings out the true colour of the mascara, being kind to your lashes at the same time

24th March, 2018 at 6:29 pm

Thank you golddiamond, I appreciate the advice :)

24th March, 2018 at 9:37 pm

I find it all depends on the mascara wand. I currently have two mascaras on the go, one waterproof and one non-waterproof. The waterproof one has a larger, rounder wand and it always ends up on my eyelids, no matter what I do.

Another tip for applying mascara (it works for me), is to use a hand-held or small standing mirror that can be angled. Look straight ahead, then hold or place the mirror with it facing upwards, near your chin, so that it’s angled toward your forehead. Keep your face looking forward and just using your eyes, look down into the mirror and apply the mascara. Looking down like this gives me more space between my lashes and eyelid, and I can easily see the roots of my lashes without accidentally sticking the wand in my eye (like I tend to do if I’m looking straight into a large fixed walk mirror).

Dusting your lashes with a bit of translucent powder, or even baby powder is an oldie but goodie.

I am interested in mascara tube as that sounds interesting. My last experience in salon tinting was embarrassing as I had them done and then went straight out to an appointment -When I got home I had these huge Panda eyes so since then I prefer mascara.

I usually get it when im in a hurry or if ive don't my eyeshadow perfectly, that murphy fella!! Its the last bit i do is the mascara and yeah its such a pain when it transfers but i do find it happens less with waterproof as that seems to set quicker. If im using the one that does it bad for me i usually walk around squinting for about 5 mins till i think its dry lol, eyelash primer might be worth a try thou!!

Yes who knew?

23rd March, 2018 at 11:55 am

My inner upper eye is where I always get a smidge of mascara it's annoying but I have come to accept it. I have heard of lash primer and that is probably something I should give a go. Any recommendations? Mascara tube? Never heard of it and can't quite picture it will need to do some research.

No I hadn't heard of mascara tube either

23rd March, 2018 at 11:55 am

Here are a few tubing mascara names for you to research: Blinc (I've tried this one), Model Co. Lash Extend, Revlon Mega Multiplier, Clinique Lash Power

23rd March, 2018 at 2:54 pm

Thank you -I have looked them us and sound worth a try

24th March, 2018 at 10:50 am

I've had a look at a couple of them and they just seem like normal mascara with a longer dry time? I'll have to try one for myself I suppose and see if that helps.

24th March, 2018 at 7:30 pm

Some great tips! I'm sans-Mascara today - I get so frustrated with Mascara, and struggle to find one I love, that I decided to get Eyelash extensions done ....I've never had them, so worth a shot!!

Eyelash extensions look stunning!

23rd March, 2018 at 7:35 pm

I'm a whole lot in love with my eyelashes with extensions..... I only got a half set to start as I wasn't sure, but love them already!!

23rd March, 2018 at 9:33 pm

Tubing mascara???? Never heard of it! Anyone tried it?

Yes, I've tried Blinc, and loved it

23rd March, 2018 at 2:55 pm

I've now looked them up and sound as though they would be worth trying -same application as mascara

24th March, 2018 at 10:52 am

I only use waterproof mascara as my eyes water heaps. I hate when I apply mascara then sneeze lol apart from that I am too with no transfer. Applying all those extra products does not appeal to me.

I've only ever used one tubing mascara and it was Blinc. I loved it after I got over the freakiness of removal ... when the little tubes wash off, it looks like your eyelashes are falling out, but they're not, the tubes just retain their shape when they release from your lashes. For those who are interested, here's a list of the tubing mascaras that I know of: - Blinc - Model Co. Lash Extend - Revlon Mega Multiplier - Clinique Lash Power

Thank you .you have been so helpful.

24th March, 2018 at 10:52 am

None unfortunately. I have problems with flakes and smudges. And I always need to take a cotton bud to my undereyes after applying mascara to my lower lashes.

Never heard of these tips before. I normally conceal mistakes with concealer

I'm lucky that I don't have mascara smudges on the top of my lids, but I do get them on the bottom. I just swipe it away with cotton pads or tissue

yeah at times my mascara a but gets on my eye lid I put more eye shadow over the top of it which some times works if it is not a big smudge otherwise just do a winged eye liner to cover the smudge I am not a fan of water proof mascara

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

Have You Used Rosehip Oil...On Your Hair?!

No...but now I want to!!

view results

Review of the Day
thirtywinks
The Perfect Balm for Dry Weather
I'd always been a petroleum jelly user but it could never save my lips from the dry weather… more »