Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017

Is there a right way to file your feet?

3 December, 2017 - 09:45pm by - First Lady | 24 Comments

by BR Amelia

Destined to be dry.

Here's a foot fact for you - the skin on our feet has no oil glands.  This means the skin is naturally dry.  Ever wonder why your feet seem sweatier than the rest of your body?  Your feet rely on the thousands of sweat glands to keep them cool and moisturised.

This fun tidbit means if you don't moisturise your feet on a regular basis you're going to end up with very dry feet.  And very dry feet lead to 3 things - cracked skin, flaky skin and thick skin.   Mmm sexy.  It's amazing people don't like feet.  Cough.

Now prevention is better than cure, regular moisturising and gentle exfoliation should keep the unholy trinity at bay, but if you've let things fall by the wayside beneath your ankles do not fear.  It just means its time to file those feet.

Gross Satisfaction.

We all have those 'cringe' beauty habits that are incredibly satisfying.  From popping a pimple to biting your nails, to filing your feet.  There's something to be said about the almost instantaneous shift from hard, rough heels to smooth, sandal-ready feet, especially if you do it dry and create a cloud of skin-dust as you file!

When it comes to our beauty routines we all have slightly different habits - different methods and techniques work better for some than others.  Foot filing is no different.  Some of us swear by metal files, others by glass.  Some of us will only file thoroughly soaked feet, others like to do it on completely dry feet.  So is there a right way?

Well no, not really.  Some people believe that by filing on wet feet you run the risk of removing too much skin, and by filing dry feet you might cause cracking or pain.  It really seems to be a case of experimentation - different files will work on different feet in different ways.  The rougher/more grater-like the file you're probably going to want to use on wet feet.

What file is best for me?


Foot files really come down to personal preference.  Now my ultimate is the Scholl Velvet Smooth Express Pedi, and the 131 Kiwis who've rated it 4.7/5 in their reviews agree with me.  But it does come with a bit of a price tag, so lets look a little more closely at manual files.

  • Sandpaper Files. Essentially a sandpaper file is a small  wood or plastic paddle with 'sandpaer' glued on.  Usually these have a fine grit, they're The grit is fine, making these good for feet that are rough, but not hard/thick skinned.  These are generally more effective on dry feet, plus depending on the quality, exposure to water can loosen the glue.
  • Metal Files. are usually made from stainless steel which is hard wearing durable and resistant to rusting. Great for those who like to file wet feet.  Metal files are more durable than wooden or plastic but they can err on the 'sharp' side, as the rasping properties come from the metal itself, much like a cheese grater.  These are great for when you need to pull out the big guns and tackle some super rough, heavily built-up skin.

Talk Gritty to Me.

Generally speaking the other decision you need to make, whatever type of file you go for is simply - coarse or fine?  Coarse files are great for feet that have built up areas of hard skin or really, really tough thick areas.  A fine grit file will neatly buff and polish your skin from mildly-rough to super smooth.  Do not try to tackle winter feet with a fine file - it'll be dull and useless by the time you've done one heel!



Do you file your feet regularly? What do you use? Get chatting below!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

I’m a neglectful foot person and wait until they start to crack and then remember I should look after them. I’m a sandpaper all the way girl!

I use a Cameo foot file from the Warehouse. It works very well.

I use everything I can get my hands on, the metal greater type file the sandpaper file oh yes and the express pedi, I even have a thing that resembles a potato peeler lol I love to file my feet at least one a week more in summer nothing like a good foot filing to keep the cracks and dry skin at bay I follow with a good moisturiser:)

You're soo funny Fi - your foot files sound like kitchen utensils!

3rd December, 2017 at 11:22 pm

He he I have a whole box of them

4th December, 2017 at 6:43 am

I use the scholl pedi and I love it. I wear steel cap boots everyday for work so my poor feet need a bit of loving at the end of the week. They are lovely and soft right now. P.s I hate feet lol

I use a sand paper file. I only get cracked heels. I make sure to moisturise my feed after filing

I use pumice every second day while nine the shower. But what really seems to give me that sandal ready look is an amazing foot cream.

I don't really file regularly but I pumice daily in the shower and it's kept my heels in decent condition.

On this note... what do people think is the best foot cream? I think filing and moisturising go hand in hand, (unintentional pun).

Soap and glory heal balm is the best one I've found x

4th December, 2017 at 5:58 pm

I really liked Dedicated to Nature's Refresh Foot Balm (I've reviewed it in the Brand Directory if you're wanting more product info).

5th December, 2017 at 3:24 pm

I really need to up my game but the cost of the scholl files out me off. My feet are terrible. I spend most of my working live barefoot since I’m a dance teacher and that plus Christchurch winters have left my feel cracked and flakey. I try my best with a moisturiser and manual rasping with a pumis stone but i just can’t get rid of the cracks.

Nightly foot balm should get rid of the cracking if you keep it up over summer. Then hopefully just maintenance after that.

4th December, 2017 at 8:48 pm

I have a scholl express pedi which I love. Currently I am using Dermaveen to moisturize, it is doing a great job

I have 3 foot files! A chinese version of the Scholl fancy electric one, which I use to buff or smooth off small problem hard bits, and generally smooth the skin if I haven't buffed fior a while. Bought it online in NZ. Its not exactly the same as the Scholl one but same principle. Also have a plastic spatula with sandpaper type covering, which I use as a gentle bufter from time to time. And lastly a small thing that looks like a grater, which I use in the same areas as the electronic buffer. I prefer to buff the electronic or sandpaper way as dry so I can feel what I'm doing. The grater gets used in the shower only. To keep my feet from cracking I use a spray on foot balm that soaks in while I'm watching TV. I kept it up over winter (less often) and my feet haven't cracked at all, even though I'm already in sandals.

I've never filed my feet and I moisturise my feet roughly a couple times a year...best I start doing this more regular!

I make good use of my Scholl pedi foot device. Thank you BR for that trial it was amazing and still is . Worth every cent .

I bought one but unfortunately mine broke so i have since purchased a ceramicmanual file with coarse one side and fine the other and is really good too.

8th December, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Oh so sorry to hears your broke. Mines still going strong. I haven’t changed batteries either.

9th December, 2017 at 12:13 am

This is a timely reminder that I need to get my tootsies summer ready!!!

I don’t file my feet regularly but I think I need to start!

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »