Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Vault December 2017
Vault December 2017

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

7 December, 2017 - 10:23pm by - First Lady | 30 Comments

Poll posted by BR Natalie

The early bird catches the worm.  This is especially true with shopping - first in, first served.

Which is why some people prefer to shop through the year, picking up bargains in sales months before the big day and helping to ease the financial pressure so often felt during the silly season.

Of course getting Christmas sorted months in advance isn't fool-proof.  What the kids were into three months a go might be a distant memory with the new fandangled must have toy released just before Christmas.  The clothes you bought in Winter might not be weather appropriate for a Summer Christmas.

Then you get the people who start shopping a month or so before Christmas, checking off the list, yet managing to avoid the high stress levels that come from shopping during the week preceeding Christmas. Maybe they were waiting to pick up bargains in the Black Friday or Cyber Monday sales, or just couldn't face the Christmas festivities too soon.

And then you get the last minute shoppers.  Heaving malls, the stress of coming up with the perfect present in record time. The financial dent the wallet is about to experience.  These people tell themselves next year they will be more organised...

With less than 3 weeks to go - have you started your Christmas shopping yet?  Are you a bargain hunter through the year, or do take the financial hit and tackle it closer to the time?  How many people do you have to buy for?

Get chatting below!

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?


View results

View previous polls

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

Yes I have, kind of had it all done back in September. I am one of those people.

I’m a teacher so I wait until school finishes and then the next day hit the shops by 9am and finish by midday - I have a vague list of what I’m getting for each person but it causes me stress that I cut it fine!

This year however, I’m online shopping as I am recovering from Post Concussion Syndrome and can't manage shops because of sensory overload. I’ve almost finished, oh what a feeling!

As usual I'm not nearly finished my Christmas shopping.

Finished today! Will prob get a few stocking fillers though...I do about half my shopping online, but I actually love gong into the shops in the heart of December and feeling the Christmas buzz. We do secret santas now as a family and just buy one big gift for someone. Quite fun. The kids still get the full shebang though.

The gift list was significantly shorter this year. The want list not so much. I have done the bargain hunting throughout the year many times before when the gift list was longer but in recent years I have discovered Black Friday and Cyber Monday and so I like to save up those international shopping holidays and grab a bargain.

Erm....I've bought myself a lot of things....

And so you should Maree ;-)

8th December, 2017 at 7:40 am

Haha love it!

8th December, 2017 at 9:24 am

Well deserved Maree, we must remember ourselves xx

8th December, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Indeed - and I'm easy to buy for teeheehee

8th December, 2017 at 6:31 pm

I haven’t started. I feel too tired after I finish work . I think everything will be purchased online this year.I have ten people to buy for.

I haven't started either Macs. Just cant be bothered to be honest lol.

8th December, 2017 at 8:16 am

Done all mine online. A couple things are still to arrive. But stoked i didn't have to go to town. Its hard to even get a park at this time of year.

Me too Lisa, in terms of online shopping. I use sites like AliExpress and Ebay though, so loooooong shipping times. Means I have to be a bit organized! haha

8th December, 2017 at 9:24 am

Town gets all silly this time of year, nice to be able to avoid it

8th December, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Jess shipping does take ages on Aliexpress I often forget about my purchase then it arrives weeks later lol. I do like 1 day it has great sales.

10th December, 2017 at 11:52 am

Can't say I've finished, but I feel like I've made a dent, which is nice. Lots of bits and bobs I got online which makes things a lot easier and cheaper.

Online makes things so much easier!

8th December, 2017 at 7:57 pm

Hahaha I'm a total Christmas shopping nerd and get it done around October most years!

em... kind of? I only have to purchase one more thing, but I know what it is, I just need to remember to get out & go buy it! but then, there is ALWAYS ONE more thing! and I still havent done my Christmas food shop yet. BUT there are several things still 'on their way' oh postal delivery people, I love you & really should find you a treat!

I normally start buying and September October because between myself and my partner we have a huge whanau! I work full time so I tend to do a lot of online shopping and I absolutely love the new online lay by system that a lot of shops are doing now. It has made it quite easy. We have four separate Christmas is every year due to a family spend so bad last weekend was my mum's Christmas and next weekend as my dad's Christmas full stop Christmas Eve we always go to my mother and father in-laws and then Christmas day is for me hubby and the kids. It seems like a lot but we have been doing this for over 10 years now and it works really well for all of our families is it means we can spend more quality time with eachother rather than driving all over the place on Christmas day.

You sound so organised and your Christmas’s sound wonderful. I too love the new laybuy options!

9th December, 2017 at 1:21 pm

I tend to make a couple gifts, and buy the rest. I don't have that many to shop for so it's basically sorted!

That sounds like a great idea.

8th December, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Started, but still got some to go. I try not to stress over Christmas. It's only one day of the year. My biggest issue isn't buying gifts, but working out what to buy!

That is a real struggle most years!

8th December, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Almost done and happy with the progress. So much less stress getting it sorted earlier rather than later.

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Have You Finished Your Christmas Shopping Yet?

Yo, yo, yo ... I have indeed!

view results

Review of the Day
Charmmy-Kitty
Great apart from smell
Before we start I must confess, I'm super lazy with toners. Most of the time since I'm using vitamin… more »