Vault

Max value reached

Adding this item would put you over your total vault limit of $250. please review your cart to stay under the limit.

Welcome to

Beauty Review

Want to be advised of trial teams we’re running, giveaways, great beauty offers and competitions? Sign up to receive our newsletter now, it’s easy.

Back Away From The Brushes!

7 August, 2017 - 08:36pm by - Head Pixie | 29 Comments

By BR Tabatha

It's easy to get too excited by makeup. To go overboard. To indulge over and over until you have a moment, like BR Kellie did recently, where you realise there's a whole lot sitting on your vanity that you don't use. 

My 'woah' moment came when I spent a good few minutes sorting through by makeup brush collection to find the same Anastasia Bevery Hills double ended eyeshadow brush that I use every single day. Despite having a handful of eyeshadow brushes that could do the very same job. So it got me thinking... do I really need four different highlighting brushes? Five different powder brushes? About a million eyeshadow brushes. What do we makeup-lovers or just makeup-once-in-a-whilers actually need in order to do our face?

I compiled a wee list - and then I hit up YOUR reviews to find out which on my list were the must-haves.

A good foundation brush. Now some people prefer the paddle style of brush, others a good stippler. But do you really need both? Actually, perhaps. (I know, I'm doing SUCH a great job of whittling down the collection right now...) I find different foundations need different methods of application. What won't work with a paddle will work with a flat top, what won't work with a flat top will work with a dampened beauty sponge. So here's three styles of brush that get the seal of approval from Beauty Review members (and in the first case, me).

The Original Beauty Blender (with a rating of 4.7/5) is my ride or die. I love it. I've tried others and enjoyed them, but none so much as this. Not only does it do a beautiful job of blending out foundation but it can be used for concealer too (meaning no concealer brush!) as well as liquid or cream highlights and bronzers.

The xoBeauty Flat Top Synthetic Face Brush (with a rating of 4.8/5) will stipple and buff its way to foundation perfection.

And the Bobbi Brown Foundation Brush's (with a rating of 4.7/5) paddle apparently will paint your skin to its most beautiful version of itself. 

A good powder brush is a must and with a rating of 4.7/5 and 40 reviews you'd have to check out the budget-friendly e.l.f Complexion Brush. Not only does it work for setting powders, but it can be used for blush and bronzer. Now, at this point we could say 'that's it, we're done, let's move onto highlight, then eyes'... but I'm a bit finnicky about my powder brushes. I like one for setting, one for blush, one for bronzer. So... come on down...

... The Real Techniques Your Finish/Perfected Blush Brush! Rated a stunning 4.8/5 this brush makes blush a breeze! The shape just allows the product to be applied and blended out with no hassle whatsoever. And those bristles - super soft. Swoon. Yes, I have this one in my collection and it's the only one I reach for - rendering the rest useless to me.

As for the bronzer brush... I love a good Kabuki... and e.l.f's Kabuki with its 4.8/5 rating makes for a budget-friendly option.

And if you're not fussy about using one brush per powder product you can use a kabuki for the lot.

Are you all about the glow? Then a highlighting brush is a must for your stash.

Zoeva's Luxe Highlight brush reviews at 4.2/5 and is beloved for its softness, precision and for it's lack of shedding!

Right, so that's your face sorted. How about those peepers? Well Carousel Cosmetics have got you sorted with this two-pack of brushes.

The Perfect Eyes Brush Duo rates an excellent 4.5/5 and provides a shaper brush and a blending brush, so you can pack the colour on and then blend it out. Beautiful!

So there you have it - eight brushes and one sponge you need in your kit if you're extra pedantic like me, or five brushes if you're not. 

So do tell... what are your must-have makeup brushes? Is there anything not there that you feel is an absolute must? Is there anything I've added you think could be done away with? And how many brushes are in your stash? Do you have it under control? Or do you need to move some along? Get chatting!

Please sign in or register to add a comment.

Always looking for decent brushes so I think its one of those never ending quests for the perfect set

I have a obsession with brushes. I gave two sisters lots when I realised how many I had but now I find myself wanting to purchase more...i neeeeeed to have 1 of every style if brush hahaha

I did the same thing. I gave my Bossy Brush Set to my sister. I've got too many planning to cull my brushes and put them on trade me.

8th August, 2017 at 7:33 am

Ooh what's your TM name hun haha xx

8th August, 2017 at 8:12 am

I did too. I don't remember if it was earlier this year or the end of last year. I justify it by the fact that I use a good handful per application and need spares plus the fact that brushes don't expire. I still have my eye on more brushes mostly

8th August, 2017 at 4:23 pm

Real Technique Powder Bleu collection and some Zoeva ones. I bought my first Sigma ones earlier this year.

8th August, 2017 at 4:24 pm

Tannygirl....you're not helping hahaha off I go to look at brushes haha

8th August, 2017 at 6:02 pm

I love my beauty blender. I use lots of brushes too, but a variety of different brands.

A fluffy powder brush (I have the real techniques one) and a flat top foundation brush (I use the E.L.F one) are my must haves! I can make basically anything work as long as I have these two brushes. I used to just apply my foundation and BB cream with my fingers but the flat top brush has really stepped up my game. Also using a fluffy powder brush makes my setting powder and foundation look sooooooooo much better (I just used to use the sponge it came with eek!) My eyeshadow game is subpar so I can make it work with just my fingers. recently I've been getting into my blush and contouring and an angled blush brush is really helping.

I am not a brush person at all and never use them. In fact I use my foundation brush to apply my face masks.

Haha that's what I use mine for too. Works perfectly.

8th August, 2017 at 7:50 pm

I've gone away from Beauty Blenders. I used to love them. Now I love brushes more because my product goes further than the blender does. I don't think I'll ever go back to one.

I just can't get it right with the blenders...addicted to brushes though

8th August, 2017 at 8:13 am

Brushes are one of the things I don't have an obsession over. I think it's just the thought of them all sitting there collecting dust and germs that puts me off buying a heap.

No I am not a brush person - I don't think I am skilled enough at applying make up to need brushes.

It's not so much that I have an obsession - but rather the mission is finding one's that work well. I have a million eyeshadow brushes but some are just too stiff, shape doesn't work for me, they don't hold product well, they don't clean well, they moult ... the list goes on for all the other brushes too like powder and foundation etc. I think I only use about 5 of the 5 million brushes I have, the search is constant.

I'm with you on this one! I refuse to spend $50+ on a branded brush only to find out that it sheds. I recently purchased a heap from Morphe and the one I'm using for hightlighter sheds like crazy ... must replace!

8th August, 2017 at 8:41 am

I have a couple of Zoeva brushes and they are just beautiful but kinda pricey if you buy them individually.

I have stayed away from Real Techniques because the brushes doesn't seem to offer what I'm looking for but watching some of their videos it really looks like I have been missing out. I think I will have to go out of my way to pick some up.

I have my collection under control, in fact I'm realizing more and more the holes in my tool set. When I was younger I got a cheap pack of brushes and quickly realized my mistake, so I've been slowly purchasing the must-haves. Next on my list is a powder brush. I do have the elf kabuki brush and that's what I use for a range of things.

Though to the list on this article I'd probably add an angled eyeshadow brush - mine is part of a double sided brush with a small shaper on the other side.

Can someone explain for me what difference using one of those thinly fanned out brushes makes?

They are mostly used for either applying brush or to sweep off eye shadow fall out.

8th August, 2017 at 9:51 am

Applying blush not brush. Must have more coffee ....

8th August, 2017 at 9:52 am

Thanks Imoshen! They always look so professional and kinda pointless haha.

8th August, 2017 at 10:33 am

And yes, always need more coffee.

8th August, 2017 at 10:33 am

I need new brushes. Most of mine are from when I first started my beauty studies, 16 years ago!! But they are still in excellent condition and really good quality brushes. I want a beauty blender sponge but my foundation came with a great shaped (although flat) sponge which is brilliant (Revlon) and blends so smoothly when dampened. I'm a big fan of the dampened sponge and a nice kabuki with setting powder. I have two for eyeshadows and a lip brush. But I do want more and sometimes I don't have time for washing the brushes in between colours or powders.

Has anyone tried the Wet n' Wild brush range? They are super cheap, I'm tempted to give them a go.

Yes I have, while I can't speak for the face brushes (I have heard they are lovely though), the eye brushes are amazing! They blend so well, and are just so cheap. I have a few of their crease brushes and a flat eyeshadow brush. :)

8th August, 2017 at 11:33 am

Thanks eringracem!

8th August, 2017 at 11:44 am

I love brushes - in my opinion it's better to have more if you're lazy about cleaning because you'll always have some that are clean! No way I could live on only 5 brushes (confession, the other day I picked up 6 wet n wild brushes on sale, they were only $2.24 each ok!) haha

Haha just saw your post right before mine! That's an awesome price.

8th August, 2017 at 11:45 am

Yay for wet n wild and what a score I hear their good quality too

9th August, 2017 at 7:24 pm

New?

to find out why you
should join New Zealand's largest beauty website

Click here

Beauty Poll

See all
What is the main reason you use a body lotion?

What is the main reason you use a body lotion?

I use my body lotion for other reasons

view results

Review of the Day
SandieNZ
My new fave
I received the serum as part of a review panel for the entire range. I have a crazy amount of hair - it's not… more »